Steemit Basics: "Popular" Posts and "Quality" Posts aren't Necessarily the Same Thing

in #steemit7 years ago

With the large number of new members joining Steemit these days (often 1000+ new accounts per day!) I come across quite a few posts and comments asking what it takes to create posts that will make it to the "trending" page. What's the most popular things to write about. I also see a few questions about "quality" content, and what that means.

Shasta
Mt. Shasta, California

I guess we'd all like to make it to the trending page... but that's a pretty tall order, especially if you just started out.

"Quality" content isn't necessarily "Popular"

I've been creating web content for over 20 years, and I'll be the first to tell you that "quality" and "popularity" are often not the same. I'm not suggesting that popular content isn't good... merely that it often has little to distinguish itself, aside from broad appeal.

My own background is writing, and I come from the school of thought that "doing your best," and always creating the best quality content is the way to go. I like to write authentically, and most of what I write about tends to be somewhat specialized or "niche" related. 

But I also must confess that even though many have told me my content is "good," it has rarely won any "popularity contests," nor is it likely to make it to the trending page. 

In fact, some of my (in my opinion) best stuff here on Steemit didn't even make as much of lots of very mediocre posts I have seen.

Lavender
A bee enjoying some lavender nectar

The Authenticity "Trap"

When posing the question of how to create "high flying" content, you also have to ask yourself what your motivations are. 

Again, from a personal perspective, most of my writing relates back to my "personal branding." I have spent a lot of time and effort building a following around specific types of content (self-development, writing, psychology, certain hobbies, art), so I'm not interested in chasing the latest trends in order to gain a few bucks.

I guess you could call it an "Authenticity Trap:" Staying true to certain interests and ideals is more important to me than trying to second-guess a fickle market in terms of what's popular today. 

On the other hand, if you can sincerely say that you are writing "for the money" only and that "popularity" is your primary motivation, then you might be well served by checking trending keywords and twitter trends before writing... and then just "writing to order.

Squirrel
This squirrel has a short span of attention!

But be aware that writing to the "Popular Market" can be very competitive... so there's no guarantee that it's your article that's going to go viral!

Personally, I'd suggest building a reputation and following around topics you know a lot about, and feel passionate about. If you're enthusiastic and knowledgeable, it'll take you a long way towards also becoming popular.

What do YOU think? What's your approach to writing? Do you have a specific plan? Do you try to pick "popular" topics, or do you write what you like; what appeals to you? Are you a niche writer, building a personal brand and expertise around certain areas? Have you ever made it to the "trending" page? If so, was it the result of deliberate planning, or a pure accident? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- start the conversation!

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)

Sort:  

Respect, true words! But What if the best I can do is being sarcastic, willing to be funny and understood? I 100% agree with you but don't you think that sometimes "popular" topics (of course not all of that kind of posts) are just genuine? Correct me if I'm wrong please!
I'm here just to share my spirit, which I've gained by traveling and I hope I'll find someone to listen and enjoy it.
Sending smile! :)

There's nothing wrong with that... if you're authentically sarcastic and relevant, and make it a meaningful remark... that's still something worthy to contribute. Consider how many cartoonists and illustrators there are on Steemit who create "social commentary" posts that are meaningful... but also short and quite popular.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47