Steemit got me a new camera!?!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Nearly a month into steemit and I got a new camera and it all started with one blog!


I remember writing about my trip to Japan and finishing the article in the airport while I was waiting for my flight to board. Merely hoping for it to be seen and earn maybe 3 SBDs. At this point I didn’t realize the potential of Steemit. I remember not checking it ‘til noon the next day and it had blown up to 100 SBDs and counting. I was shocked by the positive responses. At this time I didn’t really understand the concept of steemit or the value of SBDs until @adevaesparrago told me that 1SBD=8 USD. My mind was blown. When payout came I got 178SBD!!!

An article I had written not even fully constructed had been worth way more than I ever thought my words would ever be. That there is an audience willing to listen and give feedback to your writing. It was not only the money that had peaked my interest but the potential of this platform, the potential to tell stories and build your community. A potential I was not gonna waste.

Among other social media platforms I consider myself a pretty serious instagrammer. I use instagram’s algorithm to showcase my art and travels. Other travelers have visited and left comments on my feed yet I got nothing out of it other than the buzz of being appreciated by those you look up too. In steemit its different, their appreciation is materialized.

Steemit addresses most of my issues with other social media platforms, like in steemit one is encouraged to express ideas instead of limiting the experience to a one-line witty caption. Or the value of your like or upvote becomes more meaningful and sincere. Comments are not limited to the typical facebook “HAHAHAH”.

Now why did I get a camera? Well I treat steemtit like how I treat my Instagram feed. Each post must be worth reading, I can work on my writing to be a better writer and storyteller but I can’t do it with a crappy phone camera. Buying a camera instead of going on a luxury trip to Thailand (which if I may say is very feasible) is me committing to quality content. To write better, to take better photos and experience the world. Through quality content you get to build a community excited to see what stories you have to share.

Its not always a success either. Sometimes a story you worked hard on will get snubbed and you get burnt out but as a friend of mine reminded me “Write for yourself.”. Quality writing comes from inside you and committing to quality content means writing even with only 5 upvotes on your last post. Just keep on writing. Personally, I am happy to be writing again. I am thankful for those who have come to appreciate my work, friends on steemit I may or may not have met yet. Friends who really support and express enthusiasm into the articles I’ve written, it means the world to me.

To everyone following my blog, thanks for being here. I hope you continue to read the stuff I post and photos I upload. Each post a way to improve as a writer artist and photographer ( I have a long way to go in this area.). To more adventures, travel guides and tips, art works, and photos.

P.S I apologize for the click bait. Stay Awesome :)
Sort:  

Congratulations @david-tales! Hoping to have one for myself too. A year from now, maybe? Haha. Congrats again!

Maybe sooner!! We just have to keep writing 😁 Thank you 😊

Cross fingers! 😄

Hey, Glenna! You'll have your own soon, hehehe. Keep steeming raah, I'll support you all the way.
Lovelove
@gerel

Oh! There you are again with your thoughtful words! Iiyak na talaga ako! Hahahah. Anyhow, thank you ge! You're such a blessing to everyone! 😘 lovelove too hahahahah

Hehehe.. your so jolly .. I like you a lot!. It's nice knowing you.

I like you more.

nyahahahhahha. But I'm really a shy type in person. hehehe

@davids-tales- wala talaga kaming planong gawing chat box yung reply section mo. last na po to. nyahahah

Keep commenting lang hahaha para ma improve din yung reputation!! 😂😂

Ganun ba yun? Sige apply ko sakin. Hahahah

You have loyal followers because of your personality and your branding as a visual storyteller. You have already created your brand here and Im glad you find solace im steemit as much as I do.

I believe your potential in steemit has just began. You will be a sensation here and I just know it. It will only take a couple of time for whales to see what you can offer to the community.

Hope to see the works of your camera soon bai. Stay awesome

Thank you bai! Since I started out you're one of the best supporters a fellow steemian can ask for! We shall grow together and be whales ourselves!! 😁

Proud of you. Keep it up, my fellow artist.

HJ.

Wow! Congratulations to you @davis-tales. Yeah I've read you first blog that was an amazing travel indeed, so happy for you.
Keep Steeming! Steemit is the best!
Xoxo
@gerel

Thanks!! First of many good things from steemit im sure!!

This is really motivating. Thank you for sharing. :)

Just keep writing! Glad to have motivated you 😊

hi @david-tales I am happy for you. keep motivated. I love your works. Congratulations you deserve it. yey! more beautiful photos!

Thank you! @bellatravelph!! I wont let you down! 😊

Yaaaay~!!! Congrats!! Will you be in the meetup this Feb 4? Let's make use of your camera! LOL.. See you around! ^^

Thank you!! I cant go to the next meet up tho cuz I have a diving trip in leyte to help promote the tourism in the area. You'll surely hear about it soon 😊 see you around!!

Wow! That sounds awesome! ^^ You're doing wonders anywhere jud. Keep it up! Amping... :)

Wow, that's great to hear @davids-tales. I bought an Asus laptop, Kodak cam and paid all my siblings' tuition fee all because of Steemit. But I didn't buy a brand new laptop and cam haha. I convinced myself that I better start with these second-hand and work my ass out to really buy a new one. I'm looking up to your quality posts @davids-tales :) Hope to be like you real soon. And of course, congrats to your new cam!

Cheers to your abundance in steemit! :)

Lovelots,
@nikkabomb

Wow cheers to your success as well! I just noticed I havent followed you yet so I'm following you now fellow CE! Your post have been very educational! 😁

Thanks @davids-tales! Read you around fellow CE! 😊

I am so happy to hear that you got what you deserve! I love reading you blog and I am especially a huge fan of your artwork! I know the feeling when you put so much effort in writing an article and you don't get the attention you expect. When you sit there for hours just writing and than you barely get 5 upvots. Just like you said we shouldn't be discouraged but keep on writing until we get noticed. That's was steemit is about writing great content and you will be rewarded! I am looking forward for your pictures with you new camera 😍 And some new artwork hehe

Thank you @m1r1 that means a lot!! Having supporters like you also challenge me to improve mu writing and art with each post!!

Indeed we must be patient with oursevlves we don't get to be whales over night! We just have to keep on writing and hopefully our blogs will grow and whales will take notice 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68221.63
ETH 3277.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66