When I was a Minnow--steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

and I still am--

I was so excited to be able to use Steemit for two huge reasons!

It is the seamless convergence of Social Media and Bitcoin using two huge technologies.
1 Blockchain, and 2 Hypertext.

Google uses an algorithm to sort and search all the web pages that their bots can find through Hypertext LINKS.

The more links that lead to a particular web page the higher it can be rated and in the early days, banner ads were placed on web pages manually by coders or a banner add exchange would give you a short url. These still exist everywhere you go online, but the most common ad system today is Google. There are others out there if you are brave enough to go beyond Google's search results.

This is the power of a LINK <---

Blockchain Technology is already changing the world.

and Steemit was a chance to get in on something really early on. At first I was discouraged because I saw the price decline, I had cautiously bought ten cents worth of Steem Power to get going, but after I did it successfully I bought a few dollars more. The price declined for a long time, but I love the way I can write in HTML and also paste images right into my posts. I can compose not just posts about my day but I can create significant interactive... STEEM POSTS. That is the only thing to call it because there is nothing like it. Every post can earn STEEMPOWER, SBD or BOTH. Steem and SBD are liquid because you can move them around, immediately on the Market or in your wallet using a Transfer. Some of these basics most of you understand.

steemcashsavings.jpg

But when I started I had no idea about any of this.

Steemit was just another experiment and between October and November many users seemed to be Powering down and giving up.

yQzeo7c.jpg

But I kept on posting.

bitcoinmoments.jpg

I was thinking a lot then about how Steemit can go everywhere.

In the 2017 Roadmap Steem is described as a "Censorship resistant data layer for the entire internet". Anyone can Steem and share their Estee-Worthy content on every social media platform there is. By doing this, we will bring the next wave of Steemians to the platform and we will reach a Million users in the blink of an eye.

socialmedialandscape.jpg

Don't just share your own Steem posts on Social Media,

share every piece of content that you Esteem. Upvote the best ideas, and take time to compose your best ideas.

2234e75e03.jpg

Use Steemit as a platform to fund your ideas,

and to raise support and followers for everything that you Esteem, and as Steemit grows promote it as a platform for worthy efforts where you can earn significant rewards. We need to continue to celebrate the achievements of Steemit and what has been eccomplished. There are so many stories, and you get to create your own story here.

Steemit_Thumb.jpg

https://steemit.com/money/@darkflame/acquire-steem-power-for-more-rewards

Invest in Steem Power

6 months ago

My Steem Power is Over 800

https://steemit.com/steemit/@darkflame/time-to-buy-steem-201729t2265913z

https://steemit.com/steemit/@darkflame/what-is-your-steem-power-right-now

1673 Followers!

If it is wrong to thank you all, then I don't want to be right! Thank you!!

Thank you so much for Esteeming my work!

Early adopter advantage

If you had a chance to be part of Facebook when there was only 250,000 users, and knew that every business would be on there within five years, and that over a Billion people would be using it in Ten-- you would take it much more seriously than you did before.

Micropayment.jpg




Sort:  

'Steem is your cash, steempower your savings',

I'm a newbie/ minnow, and to be this sounds like a useful analogy for distinguishing between the two, or is the matrix pic behind the quote warning me that it ain't quite that simple?

When you Power Up Steem it is vested or invested in your account, and in Steemit. You hold Steem and SBD in your wallet. You can power down to get liquid Steem but I've never done it and don't intend to until Steem is much higher in Price! You can use Steem and SBD as digital cash and It's free to send transfers on Steem! That beats a $5 bitcoin transaction fee right now.

Oh - so THAT's what this 'vest' business is all about... duh! Bit slow I am. Thanks so much.

What would you say is the biggest tip to growing from minnow-status?

Increase your Steem Power!!

the more influence your vote has. Some users have over 5000 SP and they are called Dolphins. It is as simple as acquiring SteemPower!

Very nice post @darkflame.
Steemit is a wonderful platform and i hope
it will conquer over all the other platforms.

Would be even much nicer is Crypto takes
over the whole fiat money system.

Maby that day is sooner then ever :D

Sooner than we expected for sure. Just post on Steemit and share on twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram snapchat etc. Onboard your friends and family and show them how easy it is. Send them some free steem to power up! Experiment and try new things. Post about it on Steemit!

I love the way it is so vibrant, with some of the brightest people in the world attracted to it and wanting to make it even better. Very impressed.

Everyone is here because they want to get something out of it, many have already invested in Steemit, and everyone wants to contribute something to help make it more successful! This is the best kind of environment. Thanks for the excellent comment! Facebook is no fun when your upvote isn't money!

My thoughts exactly.

Here is one of my earliest posts. Imagine if we had another 2000% increase in the Steem price?

https://steemit.com/buy/@darkflame/steem-price-increase-in-2016-brings-in-new-users

Ten whole cents?

So glad you decided to buy more! I have been turning my sbd into steem power!

Excellent strategy with the SBD to SP! If you can acquire sbd low and then sell when it's high, a few months ago sbd was 1.80 so it was a good deal to sell for steem!

https://steemit.com/steem/@darkflame/buying-steam-power-is-so-easy-i-did-it-in-seconds-by-sending-ten-cents-from-my-bitcoin-wallet

I am a new user, and after reading your post there are more questions inside my head.

Please ask as many questions as you need to. Steemit is here to help! I suggest posting every day, at least once, ideally around 4 well written stories. Set your rewards to 100% steem power, below your compose box, when you write your post. Do this for a year and enjoy what you are sharing! You may do even better than me!

Oh, that's a new information for me, thatnks.
I've been posting about a lot of things, but it seems only 2 or 3 people read what i've posted. So I start wondering what kind of writing will make people want to read our post, or is there any special hour to post, b/c sometimes I can see there are more vote I got in some specific times.
And I also wonder, who are curator (since I see in my last post, some cent of my money go to curator)

Thanks man, first time on your blog and you're right up my alley. 2 months in myself and building momentum. Aiming to be a leader on steemit in RVing and Nomading. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59410.96
ETH 2658.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43