Why Do I See Many High Reputation Members With Almost No Steem Power?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Lately I've been seeing a lot of semi high-reputation Steemians upvote my posts while they only have around 15 SP. I'm talking about members who have a reputation of at least 40, so you would think that they've already earned enough to start powering up a bit more.



Image created using Gimp, Steemit logo found on Wikipedia


Initial Thoughts

I've always found it to be a little bit weird to see someone with a reputation of 40 or even 50 to upvote one of my posts, while they have 15 Steem Power or less even. When I first started writing on Steemit, I couldn't wait to start powering up with the first couple of dollars I made on the platform. I would have thought that most people would think the same, apparently not. There are quite a few people who spend all of their earned SBD purely on bots or cash everything out immediately. It's their right to do so of course, but my gut instinct tells me that they're probably only hear to reap the rewards and do not intend to give anything back to the community.

Comparison to Majority Self-Voters

Whales who almost exclusively self-vote get a lot of flack here, rightly so in my opinion, while people who never invest anything back into the platform usually get a free pass. I do not see them being mentioned, yet they are also just taking from the community without ever being able to give a significant upvote. I'm not going to call anyone out here, but it's not too hard to find these people. If you monitor your upvoters for a while, you'll start noticing them eventually.

On The Other Hand

This post might come across as being entitled, I get that. I should be happy to get an upvote from someone, even if he just has 15 SP. It just kind of rubs me the wrong way to see that they've earned quite a bit of money through Steemit, yet they do not find it important to extend the same support to other members.

I will personally keep investing as much as I can into Steem Power, just so I can eventually give back the support others have given me. I'm hoping to get at least 1000 SP in the next couple of months.


Questions

  • Do you know of any additional reasons why someone would not power up?
  • Why do you power up, or not?
  • Do you think it's fair that some high reputation members never invest anything in buying Steem Power?

Sort:  

The ones that crack me up are the ones that go around flagging people for silly stuff like Using the wrong header or centering a paragraph wrong, or mad cause you upvoted your own post. I'm against it generally now but there is a checkbox there. They could easily hide it with a snippet of css. So they don't really care. The problem is that these same do gooders then when left un attended like grupcat and others. Will spam their own posts with comments or others then later on come back and self upvoe their own comments and rape the rewards pool. In all fairness they take 50 plus in rewards for every comment and I seen one time they gave 0.05 to another person that commented. Hypocrisy is so blatant and these shills are not helping anyone but themselves Such scammers. Makes Me Mad.

Yeah I agree that some of the flagging goes way too far, I'm also not really against self-upvotes. As long as you still upvote other people's posts and don't exaggerate with it.

I think it's very important that more minnows start gaining more SP themselves. Now almost all SP is in the hands of a select few, that gives way too much power to a small group of people. Once there are more whales, the system will somewhat correct itself, I think.

I ran across this post

  • and noticed a guy comment then give himself a $0.38 upvote
    • while giving the poster a $0.02
      • That's a bit crazy...

You are spot on, unfortunately.

I have a reputation of 60 and I do a 50% power up. I only have 185 sp, but I always upvote even if it is with 2 or 3 cents, the minnows. I try to encourage them to not give up on the platform. I have been on Steemit since 2016 and I would like to think I do post regularly but have only managed to get 185 sp. So sometimes it is not about the REP that makes the vote. But I do understand what you mean. I do also self vote, but really its only with a couple of cents. I know some whales with 74 rep who post approx 11 posts a day and he also self votes and rarely votes on anyone else, it is sad and I understand your frustration. I want to be a whale one day who does support many many minnows.

Yeah, I've already put some nuance in my views here in the comment section. I think might have been a bit too harsh in my post and underestimated how difficult it is to power up without additional investments.

Same sentiment here that I also want to be a whale and give out as much support as possible. Glad you also think this way! And I'm more than happy with a 1 cent upvote ;)

I have been on Steemit now for about 2 to 3 weeks and have a reputation of 40. I can guarantee you however that I have not earned nearly enough to really be able to power up properly. It is however not my intention to cash out at all.

I might have been a bit off with the reputations that I mentioned. You're absolutely correct that, in your case, you've not really earned enough to power up. It definitely wasn't my intention to upset anyone.

I also noticed that you started with +12 delegated SP; How is that? Did you get it by registering through another service?

To be honest, I have no idea what the +12 delegated SP actually means. I did not register through any service.

Vander Photography
I bought most of my SP for ether, felt good to have a vote worth something! However, curation did not generate much Steem and took up too much time, so delegated most to JerryBanfield and minnowhelper, which gets me passive income😁

People, that boost their posts and keep in SP only that comes to SP from reward, and use sbd for boost again, has big upvotes on their posts, which are good or reputation. But little real income.

@remind.bot 2 months Let's see how much SP I have in 2 months

Thanks @daan 😎 that's pretty cool.

  • I can see using this in the future...

Yeah, I knew that reddit had a similar bot and found this for Steemit. Very handy!

I even threw together a short post to help promote it...

Mentioning and replying to you here on Sun, 06 May 2018 18:34:34 GMT to remind you of this post.
Please consider upvoting this comment to keep this service running.

Reminding @daan of this post as requested!
Please consider upvoting this comment to keep this service running.

So it’s been three months and you’ve done well so-wise (about 700). Mind telling this newbie how you did it?

Well, I have 40 reputation, but only8 SP! (and I did upvote you)

Steem Power seems quite expensive for even a small upvote value, and I have never really thought about buying any. I do convert almost all of my earnings into SP, but haven't earned enough on my posts to do so.

I don't really know much about reputation, is 40 very high? I don't feel like I'm doing enough to be a high reputation member. I am active in the community, but am still very small, about 1/3 your size.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64