What you DON'T like about Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

If you don't ask, you don't get. What...am I a mind reader? So what's your pet peeve about this beta platform called Steemit?

What a thing to ask! I know eh? ~smiles~ but seeing as you're here now, I really would like some feedback from the community at large. I'm trying to find some common problems that we find difficult, frustrating and just so irritating that we've actually contemplated scaling back on our efforts here, or perhaps even leaving.

So please, let's make this about you, and us. So together we might just make a few breakthroughs that will help make all of our journeys here more enriching.

quintheartlets.JPG
"quintheartlets" welcome to my pics...first time ever shown to anyone...right click to enlarge

I promise not to ignore your comments. Nor will I belittle them. I'll likely upvote most...but any of you reading, this who already knows me, already knows these things to be true about me. So let's see where this can take us...shall we? Don't make me beg. I've never made you do so have I? Well...have I? Ever?

I'll start with one of my pet peeves. The learning curve! I'm really interested in getting the best I can out of Steemit...I really, really am. Aren't you? But I find it hard to find definitive answers I can digest and remember for the times I need them. This why I have been using resteem as my personal bookmark of sorts.

I would hope that others who visit my blog and notice all those resteems might find some value in some of them. Anyway...if you have any better suggestions/solutions to my pet peeve about Steemit...to which I'm most certainly not alone...you would be doing yourself and the community a service in sharing what works for you.

Also, in full disclosure, I have entered a contest, and a very challenging contest it is. A very difficult challenge by merej99...a wonderful and well loved Steemian I've already resteemed it and yes I will leave a link here. Part of the challenge is replying to comments over a 10 day period. 500 comments minimum (quality ones) so come now...say your piece I'm doing everything I possibly can to make it easy for you.

I've been told by a few here that I should begin making an attempt at posting my own content. So this contest is as good a reason to start as any...not to mention the 5000 SP delegated to the winner for one week (Vagabond City here I come! :-)...among other great benefits.

full_frontal.JPG
full_frontal ...you do know these are all copyrighted...right?

K...something tells me to keep this short and sweet. ~smiles fer miles~ Here's the link...but don't rush off all in a ruffle...haha. Do leave a comment on the post here. I assure you you won't have to respond to my reply...unless of course you want to.

side_profile.JPG
side_profile...on the steem blockchain...I think. Correct me if I'm wrong :-)

Oh and at least one image citing the source...and seeing as I have much to learn about formatting and hidden links in text. I'll just use a couple few of my own taken either with my phone (BBZ10...yes I love it) or an HP Photosmart 945 with 5.3 MP and 56X Zoom. Feel free to comment on the photo(s) If you don't really have any gripe with Steemit.

It's truly a wonderful place and I honestly don't see myself going anywhere else. Ask for more photo's and you shall receive. Just take the time to comment if you can. I've likely commented on your own posts as I've gone about my strategy of surfing the feeds and meeting so many interesting people from all over the world.

Lol...maybe you have a beef with my comments...well I'm harmless, quite a friendly and accommodating sort. So g'head...bring it...I give as good as I get. Maybe you like the pictures? I'll be posting my own on all upcoming 10 posts I make during the course of this contest...so make a point to come have a look of the scenes around Victoria, British Columbia.

Scratch 'n Sniff.JPG
I call this one "scratch 'n sniff" ...hey ya run outta ideas before pics ;-p

That last one is worth looking at close up...right click...so soft...I could sleep on that for a week!

There see? I've gone and said too much...or not enough...I just don't know. First the link to the contest I spoke of (open to minnows and whales alike) Feel like taking on some whales? I do...hahaha...but I'm gonna need some help from my friends, and the kindness of strangers. yeah yeah...I babble...to the link...'scuse my lack of HTML skills.

I have to do something about this. link to contest

Thank you for looking and participating in helping me become the best Steemian I can possibly be. Have patience, this is likely going to take a year or two to accomplish. Oh...did I already mention how hard this is going to be? Please come back each day...when/if you can find the time, just to see what I come up with next. I'll do my best not to disappoint. I'm open to requests too...tell me what you'd like me to write about. No, I won't be burying myself in resteems so no worries there. Unless of course you'd like me to. Just comment below and I will see if I can't accommodate, to both our satisfaction. ~smiles fer miles~

        ~may all hatred cease...let there be peace~
Sort:  

Funny you should ask; it just so happens that I created a post of 3 things I think Steemit needs to improve before mass adoption will happen. #1 is Wallet Privacy. Everyone's wallet is out in the open! That's not cool. #2 is Feed Curation. We need more ways to organize and find content we're interested in. #3 is Search. The search function can be a lot more sophisticated than the Google widget. What do you think? Here's my original post: https://steemit.com/steemit/@musicsteem/three-things-steemit-needs-to-fix-before-the-masses-will-adopt-it-a-non-scientific-opinion-of-a-typical-user

Hi @musicsteem I was more than happy to have a look at your post and comment. I think it goes without saying that we all want security as well as improved functionality here at Steemit. Some, such as yourself, more so than others...such as me. ~smiles~

Thank you so much for helping me with this challenge! And I'm glad to have met you...virtually speaking. ;-)

Nice to meet you too! There's a lot of creative energy flowing on Steemit!

I can't disagree with that statement...and why should I? I believe it will only get better...with the unforeseeable crashes along the road...c'est la vie...yes/no?

@musicsteem The reason why wallets are public is because steemit is transparent...which is what makes steemit great! You can't hide anything. I do however agree with the search tool should be much better. I was going to mention it in a post but you beat me to it!

so I guess the only way you can hide what's in your wallet is to take some out...which just makes people have to dig deeper into the chain to find out more I suppose...I do like the open ledger aspect of it all myself.

People either power down or take it out to buy other cryptocurrencies. Or keep it in there for savings. That is what I do :)

Yes well that does make sense of course...it's bearish out there so a good time to buy.

Savings is a good choice too. That's what I'm doing. Still trying to figure out when and how to sell my SBDs for Steem to power up but the amount is still insignificant so...lotsa time to deal with that. :)

We all learn more with time. There is no wrong answer when learning! :)

Haha I am new here so nothing yet. I will have to update, but hopefully little to nothing!

Quite alright @cashcat951 I'm here all next week(contest ends in aprox 9 days)so feel free to drop by again. You may just find something out that others would like to see changes on. Check my resteems...there's much information to be found to help us minnows out with the learning curve here. Best of luck to you...and welcome!

I agree with the learning curve being the hardest part so far. I am not at all a "computer" person and formatting and stylization are sorely missing from my posts because I definitely don't know how to even being doing those things! Only recently learned how to bold, italicizes, and insert links. Also the other part is the financial (steel, steel power, all those posts on those sorts of things) is completely lost on me. I really try hard to read those posts to understand and I just don't understand! Good luck on your journey here as you hit your stride.

I'm right there with you @thesimplelife I do find I'm the kind that needs to osmosisify lol...silly word...but as I keep reading bits and pieces fall into place. Like a jig-saw puzzle...don't give up...it'll start making sense eventually.

I just noticed my phone autocorrected steem to steel and I didn't catch it so late at night! Thanks for the encouragement! I will keep chugging along. Good luck to you on your journey!

We need a much better search, hahaha.

It's not so bad...what are you looking for? I bet I can find it ;-)

The thing that annoys me about steemit the most is that everything is denominated in US Dollars, most of the world exists outside the USA (I know that may be shocking to some Americans, I can only apologise).

Explaining to new users that their reward and wallet balances vary not only on the STEEM/BTC/fiat price, but on the USD/STEEM/BTC/fiat price just makes the whole experience overly complex. Witnesses should be able to supply price feeds in their local fiat currency as well, and this should be in the witness voting tabulation so we can get pricing, and hopefully direct exchange pairs back to multiple fiat in the longer run.

STEEM DOLLARS is fine though, pegging to the USD makes sense, just not expressing every value in the UI in one currency that many people in the space hope to replace anyway.

Followed, upvoted, resteemed.

Interesting comment...I expect the banks will eventually accept the fact that cryptocurrencies aren't going anywhere and adopt in an effort to both service their customers and...of course...service themselves.

Sorry about the delay in responding...not sure my feed isn't working properly for the past week. Not getting the little red alert button beside my avatar anymore. Unsure if it's a systemic thing or my computer.

Thanks for contributing ~smiles~

No worries :)

I don't like all the memes and spam stuff, the huge amount of self voting (a self vote should be maybe 50% payout instead) and being able to flag in last 12 hours and not counter it with upvotes. :<

Aside from that it's pretty cool.

lol...guess you don't like ~smiles fer miles~ either huh? I know some folks thinks it's kinda smarmy but a piece of my <3 goes out with each one...whether the recipient accepts it or not.

I'm more than a little concerned about flag wars breaking out and have said so in a few posts in my feed. Not sure what to do to chastise someone without blow back...perhaps incognito in the last 12 hrs? Naaaa that just give's the raging sphincters <<<<cool band name } :-)> more reason to cause havoc...just because they can..

Thanks for dropping by... @sammosk ...all good points tbh ~smiles~ ;)

Holy crap I lost it when I saw the "scratch and sniff" photo! I love you already. HAHAHA!!!

Your pet peeve - the learning curve. It's a terrible, terrible thing! I had a couple months when I nearly cried because there was (and still is) so much to learn. So, the best thing you can do is go with what works, learn as you go. And don't be afraid to ask for help. LOL Oh, and don't quit... EVER. ;)

Just in case you're not using the editor...
https://steemit.com/news/@merej99/what-we-ve-now-got-an-easy-to-use-post-editor
I made a right fool of myself because when I wrote that I had no idea the editor had been around for MONTHS. LOL Hopefully that helps you with some formatting. I do encourage learning markdown. You get more options but still - editor works. :)

LOfrig'nL...and here I was thinking that the lead up to that pic was pushing the boundaries...just a tad. ~smiles~ You do know I loved you before I ever heard of Steemit...or you right? You're the kind of person I simply admire and respect.

Yes I think I'm being realistic when I admit to myself and others that it may take a year or two before I'm comfortable with the format. Then they'll go and change things...not that that's a bad thing...but if you keep your ear to the wind you just might hear me howl from the top of the Malahat. That's the portion of the #1 highway that starts from MILE 0 at the water's edge on the...oh never mind...it's not important...google it if you must ~smiles fer miles~

What IS important is figuring out how to get people here to read and comment so I can reply...per the rules of the contest. 500 is a big obstacle for us obscure back eddy guppies. And nope...not gonna quit...I'm committed to this challenge. It's just what the doctor ordered. Another doctor might think I should be committed by the time I'm through though. Just another first in my life...nuth'n wrong with firsts either.

Enjoy your part in all of this, I'm sure you're going to have a love/hate thing going on by the end of the week. I may adore you...but I sure don't envy you or the task you've set for yourself. If there's anything I can find the time to help you with just let me know.

EDIT: I'm really going to have to trim some verbage from my babble if I actually do get slammed with comments. Just another part of the challenge I hadn't figured into this mix ;-)

~be~

I was just thinking that this comment could probably be another post! hahaha!
There are a few people who push the boundaries of dark humor and obscenity but I love them so much too! LOL I don't know you well enough to see how raucous you can get but @klye's art and @nonameslefttouse's art and humor launch me in a whole new atmosphere. Be warned, if you haven't already followed them, you may take a trip to the dark side. tee hee

Oh yes... The response to this challenge was A LOT bigger than I expected! I've spent the day responding, plus working, plus writing letters to my sons in bootcamp! There is something I forgot to do... I think it was a shower.

~smiles~ if that could be a post...then I've been posting on other's posts for the past 3 weeks. I wouldn't change a thing! No regrets...it's all part of the process yes/no?

As to raucous...naaa I'm pretty tame...for the most part. Now...where in the hell am I gonna find the time to check out these interesting name drops of yours? What with this contest, RL and the added pressure of getting eyes on my posts let alone tweak a comment out of them so I can reply in kind...man my plate is a groaning board of it's own.

I'll be sure to look back to this and check them out in a week or two. I'm interested in peering at the dark side from time to time...and if there's talent to be found there...all the better. I'm glad this challenge is turning into a challenge for yourself. Lol...you'll be more careful what you wish for next time...won'tcha ;-)

So your son(s) are in bootcamp? Try not to be too much a worry for them..they're in good hands. Perhaps I will do a post on my experience with bootcamp on the east coast back in '78 I really have no idea what I'm going to come up with that's going to get me a shot at winning this thing. However it's the journey that matters most...not the end of the road. Comes pretty damn quickly the closer you get to it.

Now go take your shower, put something warm in yer belly, drink some more ink...have a good 20-30 minute power nap and yer good to go for another 4-6 hrs. I'll see you on the other side of the star shine. oxo

I love bootcamp stories!
My husband cracks me up with his stories and my sons have already gone through the gas chamber so I'm waiting to hear about that! LOL

I'm surrounded by veterans too, and we've got a growing number of vets on Steemit! I'd definitely do more name dropping but don't want to overwhelm you. Take a look at the https://steemit.com/trending/veterans tag You might find some cool people to connect with. Building community isn't anything that can be rushed or forced. Keep a steady pace, stop looking at the ticker and just be yourself! You can do this no problem!

Yes, I have two boys on Parris Island! My middle boy graduates at the end of this month. My youngest one graduates in the middle of August.

Now, I need to work on that post or I won't make it to the finish line. ha!

lol...you are a fun one! Li'l name dropper you...I'll be sure to check that link out once I get past this...thank you.

Steady pace...iggy the tickie...got it teach...yer a peach!

                     ~smiles fer miles~

I like peaches. LOL

lol...that reminds me...I've got to get my peach seedlings into larger pots :)

Upvote! Nice post:) By the way did you know, that there are over 100,000 different species of butterfliesO_O

Hello @ergoproxy and thank you ~smiles~

Actually that's way more than I thought there were. I do know that the Monarch is in trouble because the milkweed plant is becoming harder and harder for them to find.

I believe they're plant specific as to where they get their food source. I've bought some seeds just this past week and will be sewing some around the island and in my yard for next year. I hope I'm not too late...it's been years since I've noticed one. O_O

Thank you for stopping by...enjoy your week!

Best of luck! I too resteem posts I like to use for reference, but I mostly bookmark them because I don't like to get my personal posts lost in a sea of resteems since there's so much good info on here :)

Lovely weekend to you!

Hi, so nice to see you @artdellavita ...I get what you're saying and of course I'm a little biased in my thinking that others may find some of them useful. Mind you I haven't really been active posting my own content, and what's buried is likely best buried haha.

Lovely weekend to you to!

Enjoy your weekend!

Things I don't like about steemit?

It has interface usability issues out the wazoo! When it needs to be as simple to use as a kazoo!

There are balance of power issues, and beggars and wanna bes and fakers in our midst.

It isn't always fair. The best and brightest are sometimes buried under the droll and darkest.

Everyone has an equal opportunity but not every opportunity is equal.

I think I was hoping steemit would be less like real life.

It's all my fault...just shoot me now. Please! Hahaha...jk my friend...what does beta mean again...exactly? Your points are well pointed and I'm hoping some others that come along might help ease some of your angst.

"It isn't always fair. The best and brightest are sometimes buried under the droll and darkest." Well observed...always it has been thus. I honestly don't think Steemit is going to change this. I do think it does bring some small amount of equilibrium to the table for some of the talent out there. At least I've seen evidence of much gratitude in my surfing of the feeds here.

Look at it this way...we are the generation of 2017. Things move fast and then slow down...oscillation is natural. Let's hope we can make help make each generational leap a forward one rather than the backward ones we've been experiencing in the walking world these past five generations.

Everyone needs a refuge from time to time. Let's keep the doors open on this one...and do our best to make it workable as well..shall we?

Thank you for stopping by @sircork...you are most welcome any time. <3

                       **~be~**

Can I buck the trend, and reverse the request and add something I think is positive about steemit?

"I honestly don't think Steemit is going to change this."

I think things like steemit, and block chains and cryptocurrency CAN change the way the world works!

But to stay on topic about it's negatives and stay in context...

I just don't think it can change the way life works.

Sure you can buck the trend, might cost you some big bucks though.

"I just don't think it can change the way life works." I'm almost certain there's people working on this as we type. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 59589.10
ETH 3257.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40