Even Busy Parents CAN Steemit! - More ways to Fit it ALL in!

in #steemit6 years ago

55F0777C-90B9-48FD-A1B9-B0916A9CF528.png

I published a post about a month ago sharing my schedule as a busy stay at home mom and homeschool teacher. I shared some of the things that helped me stay sane and how I fit in time for blogging. If you missed that post you can read it HERE!

I had such a great response and feedback that I wanted to extend that post with more ideas and ways that busy parents can keep up with their Steemit blogs.

F9C29FF4-293F-4EEB-B083-AE7D3580522F.jpeg

Choose Your Blog Topics

1FECE805-02FD-4D6A-8A92-4272F7C11A04.jpeg

One thing I have found to be very helpful is picking the topics I want to blog about ahead of time. Actually, when I first joined Steemit I wrote down the parts of my life I wanted to share with the world. What do I want my blog to be based on? What message do I want to share? What topics am I knowledgeable in? What topics am I passionate about? You should answer these questions to figure out the basis of your blog content. This step will save you a lot of time!

Once I know the topics I will blog about I jot down ideas and thoughts whenever they come to me about those topics. If I’m out and about with my family and I see an opportunity to take a photo that relates to one of my topics, I take advantage of that. For instance if I will be blogging about nature and I see a beautiful plant, I’m getting that shot! I may not use that photo in my very next nature blog but I’ll have it on file to use when I need it. If you gather up things like this early on, before you know it you’ll have a full post ready to write up when you have the time.

EECE3F3D-A782-45B5-832A-1CDBC0468A84.jpeg

Create A Blog Schedule

8B4C0223-55B4-47D4-93FF-B397B92420BE.jpeg

Some people have the luxury of creating a blog post everyday. In the beginning I tried doing just that and got burnt out pretty quickly. I couldn’t look at what everyone else was doing but I had to plan a realistic schedule that I could stick by. So I took that list of topics and spread them out throughout the week.

I went from blogging everyday to every other day. Currently my goal is to blog at least three times a week. I set goals to blog on certain days but the way my life runs it’s very unpredictable. So if I planned to write on Tuesday but have a fussy and needy toddler all day, I will move my writing to Wednesday. Either way I already have my topics planned out so I just write and publish them on the next available day.

Some days when I don’t have time to create a post, I’ll just curate other’s posts and comment on them! I really enjoy doing this because I get to relax as I read my fellow Steemians posts and show them some love by giving them encouragement and positive feedback. This is the time where I can get to know new Steemians and welcome them to the community as well.

92483809-6C8D-43FD-B417-0ACC42FC1743.jpeg

Take Advantage of Free Moments

73E9D2E2-24D0-4E6D-A8D2-0EA29E3F26EB.jpeg

One things for sure as a busy parent there are not a lot of free moments in my day. When I do find them I take full advantage and use some of that time to work on my posts. For example when I’m in the kitchen preparing a meal there are several times where I am waiting for a component to finish cooking. As I wait I grab my phone and work on my posts. Or when I know I’ll be in the restroom for awhile, I make progress on my posts. When my chores are done and the kids are engaged in their own activities I sneak away and work.

If you can write bit by bit and prepare your photos here and there before long you’ll have enough pieces put together to publish a finished article. You don’t have to wait until you have an hour or two to blog, but you can do it in intervals. When you have growing children, so many tasks and responsibilities you have to find other ways to make time to blog. Some people find it too difficult to fit the time in and they decide to give it up. I work hard at fitting it all in because this is what I love to do and this is one of my go to outlets that helps me relax and unwind.

12048BC6-323D-4E94-84AB-D9709603B3E0.jpeg

What are some ways you fit it all in?

All photos are from pixabay.

9857245E-4AD9-4B29-8B75-7E60098C91BD.png

F3027244-0B1D-408D-AED1-657B15E67E0D.png

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

This is called a content strategy and a must if you want to get anywhere on social media. Thanks for sharing yours. It definitely helps you to stay on track when you know what you’re writing about.

Ahhhhh, there’s a name for it!! Thank you for sharing that with me :D

Yes it really does help you stay on track! Thanks so much for visiting and commenting~

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #149 (5/29/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you!!!

Very helpful insights!! Thanks so much @crosheille!!

I’m so glad you found them helpful! Thanks so much~ 😊

Planning your work, and executing is the mantra for success....Writing good post is the demand that everyone is trying and many doing their best. good advice @crosheille

Absolutely! Thanks so much for chiming in @steemflow!

Good advice @crosheille, especially scheduling activities.

I tend to base a lot of my posts on photographs because I can refer to them and as I'm always photographing things to me it's a question of finding a specific angle...

Thank you!! If I didn’t schedule my activities they wouldn’t get done :D

That’s awesome! I tend to do the same thing with my photos!!! Thanks for your input!

I'm a parent too and I used to blog everyday when I first got started in steemit, but like you said, I got burnt out pretty quickly.

Nowadays I only blog when I have something to share, but thanks for the tip. I guess I need to get organized and shoot for something more realistic like 3 posts a week.

This seems to be what a lot of parents go through. I’m glad you changed your approach so you wouldn’t keep getting burnt out.

When I run out of post ideas I too only share when something comes to me. It’s always good to make those goals even if you don’t get to them. At least you’ll have something to shoot for ;) Thanks for reading and for your input~

Thanks for sharing @crosheille. It does take a lot of discipline to keep to a writing/posting schedule. Really like the last tip. Is there a certain app you use on your phone when writing your post in between household tasks?

It’s my pleasure! Thanks you for reading! Yes it really does take discipline to keep up a posting schedule.

I just use the Notes application that was already installed on my iPhone! Once the post is completed I just copy and past directly here and make changes as necessary.

Ah nice. Thanks for sharing. Notes is great. Personally I use Evernote. Really helps if you want to categorize your posts. And I like to edit my notes on multiple devices, which makes it quite handy.

Oh yes I love Evernote too! I haven’t used it in quite sometime but I’m sure it’s good for post writing :D. Good point about being able to edit your notes on multiple devices...I just might have to revisit it :) Thanks ~

Hey @crosheille I like the day just for curating and commenting. Something for me to think about. Yes really tough with small children and working full time!

And running a discord. You ladies are amazing ;)

Haaa!! Oh yes!!!! Can’t forget about that fact! You are just as amazing Mama!!! 💕

@metzli You are too!! Thanks for being such a wonderful blessing to the team!

Hey @khimgoh!!! Awesome! You really should give it a try. It helps you keep up with others better and stress less on trying to cram in posts when you don’t have the time :D

Thanks for visiting~

Great ideas. I used to write daily as well. Now I am hopeful to get in about 3-4 posts a week and try to spread it out. I found that when I was writing daily, I would sometimes get 20 comments on a post and then I would have to figure out a time to respond and power to upvote. So now if I respond multiple days and only post a few, it works out better. :)

The community building aspect does become more difficult when you are posting more. It’s almost like you have to have a higher SP to be able to blog more.

I soooo totally understand that point. It’s so true because not only do you have to comment back to the comments on your post but you may have other responses from comments you left on others posts! Taking time to respond needs it’s own schedule lol!! I like that you take multiple days to respond. That’s my problem, I try to do it all at once but it’s starting to get to the point where I have no choice but to spread that out too.

Thanks so much for your input and feedback...I needed that ;)

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote. Be sure to share the news of @theluvbug with your blogging buddies - and remember to keep a look out for our daily posts where you can share your links for upvotes and resteems :)

I AM

header.jpg

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58615.18
ETH 2559.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52