The Impact of Steemit On My Life.. . . Okay, so you have heard many of these stories but not from a funky chick like myself. (Featuring Author @thegoldencookie).

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

So, I am going to let you in on a secret . . . . Honestly, I really don't like most #Steemit posts. Sure some of them aren't bad, quite educational I must admit but too much of a good thing can be an over kill. I'm actually writing one right now. . . wink wink.

enter image description here

Anyway, I'm not going to tell you how much money you're going to make or how to catch whales (all against animal abuse haha get it) cough. This is just a story of how my life has changed and what I personally have learned thus far.

enter image description here

The Back Story
About a year ago I had a terrific job but a horrific boss. I ended up going home every night exhausted and crying. After 3 months of constantly being unhappy I left my job. Sometimes you just can't put up with something any more you know? I spent most of my days looking for work and going to interviews but never got the job. When Daniel told me that his company wanted to move him to Development (his dream job) I was ecstatic for him. Then he told me that we would need to relocate to Kwazulu-Natal. I thought that this was God's plan for me, the reason why I could never get the job I wanted. So we moved.

Only four days after the moved however, Daniel got into a serious car accident. The car was totaled and we did not have the insurance to get a new car. With me jobless we also did not have the money to replace the car we lost. This was a bit of a catch 22 situation as I needed a car to get to work and back and nobody would employ me without a car but I needed a job to get the car. Fortunately Daniel was not at fault in the accident and the other party had insurance. After 3 months of fighting with them they finally agreed to pay us. We could see a bit of light but we weren't quite out of the tunnel yet. I was then told about Steemit...

enter image description here

The Declaration
Dear Steemit

*I am so glad I found you. I have thrown away my diary and Facebook account. From now on I will only use you to share my thoughts and feelings... *

Okay so I didn't really get rid of Facebook or my diary. Some things I would like to keep to myself, however my life has improved a lot since I started using Steemit.

enter image description here

Makes me think of the song by Abba:
Money, money, money
Must be funny
In the rich man's world

To be honest I started writing on Steemit because I found out about the possibility of making money from writing (didn't we all and is that not why we're still here?). Making money from doing something you love? Well it's too good to be true... or so I thought.

The Way It Has Changed My Life: Old Life vs Steemit Life

Being unemployed means my life is an endless loop of the same things:

  • Get up with Daniel Vs Daniel now gets up alone while I make idea drafts for my next Steemit article
  • Make sure that he has breakfast before leaving for work Vs Instead of cereal I try wacky new recipes for my foody blog on Steemit
  • Clean the house Vs Well I still clean the house, only now I try to think of creative life hacks I could possibly post on... you guessed it STEEMIT
  • Search for jobs Vs browsing the internet for new fun topics
  • Start dinner just before he gets home from work Vs To be honest I still cook dinner for him before he gets home (I do still love him after all) however dinner is now cold when he gets home and instead of waiting for him at the door... I'm in front of the computer writing my latest article (that might or might not involve his dinner)

enter image description here

I can't tell you how bored I was. Also being the independent person I am it was slowly killing me that I had no financial contribution to our little household. After using Steemit I became less bored and actually started feeling like I am doing something productive with my day. I started writing again, something I always loved doing but stopped because it felt like I had nothing to say. Best of all I started making money. Not a lot but enough to contribute to the insurance should we get a car.

The Truth About Steemit

I thought that I would "make it rain" with my posts, that making money was easy.

enter image description here

I soon learned how wrong I was as I never really made anything on my posts until recently. Through reading other people's posts I found more meaning to the site than money, I really don't mind if you pay me though ;)

enter image description here

The Conclusion
Ending on a happy, cheerful note. Steemit is an amazing place. I am following my dream of becoming a writer. I am happier in life in general because I have something to do and I actively go out to look for stories to write about.
I realized that it is less the money and more the content that counts.

P.S Daniel and I are awaiting news from the dealers about our new car (happy dance).

xoxo
@thegoldencookie

@crazymymzysa features authors to promote new authors and a diversity of content. All STEEM Dollars for this post go to the featured author.

Sort:  

Great personal story with positve perspective to life. I like to read. Thanks.

Thank you. Being positive in today's time is not always easy there are days that i just I want to give up and crawl in a hole. I find that on those days it's a lot easier to write content like this.

You're not alone @crazymumzysa, since I started steemit I have not earn good rewards like many have in the community. I talked with lots of people and they all have the same advice, DON'T GIVE UP. And so, I did not give and try my best to at least one content a day. I was worried because first, I don't know how to write I'm not a writer but when I started writing the hardest way, I noticed that thought and ideas are started coming into my head and realized that I have so much to write but still only one content I can do everyday. Aside from posting, you also need to engage in interaction and build connection in the steemit community and let them know what you are and what capable of.

But the it turns out that your better than me, your content has rewards compared to mine which is almost none.

Hey @sisterholics. Thank you for all the support you have shown to my posts in the past.

I also found that the more I write the more Ideas I have. Thank you for your support. How have you found Steemit thus far?

I find it very interesting and fun.

:) the diversity of topics you can write about is probably one of the best things about Steemit

Thanks for sharing your video and the vote. Your puppies are so cute and highly intelligent.

AWWWWWW PUPPIES!!!!! They are really cute thank you for sharing. I look forward to seeing more posts about them.

It's great that Steemit was there for you to get you through such a trying time. It sounds like it was more helpful in maintaining your emotional well-being than financial, until recently. Good luck and I hope to see your around Steemit :)

Thank you. I'm really glad that Steemit came into my life at the time it did. It's a relieve to chart down my feeling and get almost no negative feedback unlike facebook. Feel free to contact me on the chat if you would like any advise.

The fancy gadgets on Facebook are nice. I think all of that will come in time here on Steemit. I think were getting started at a great time as Steemit's still in it's infancy.

I have to agree with you there. Everywhere I go now if someone asks me what it is I do I can't help but sing the praises of Steemit. It's really opening doors to people like me who enjoys the written word.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43