Why good Steemians leave the platform

in #steemit6 years ago

After having an extended holiday (and thus less time on Steem!) I have started to settle back in and have noticed some of my favorite Steemians have either left, or have become very inactive. Some of them are very good writers/content creators and it has been sad to see them move on from Steem. After doing some more reading it seems that there are some common themes as to why people leave this platform we call Steem.

chairs-2181916_1280.jpg

Rewards (or Lack of)


I bring this up first because it seems to be one of the things that alot of the newer accounts seem to struggle with and leads many to go off in search of greener pastures. I myself have found that it can be frustrating to produce quality content only for it to earn a few cents or dollars at best, while some others can manager to earn loads producing crappy content.

The big shift in mindset (for me) has been that earning Steem is a long term ‘investment’. So this mean that what you earn today could be worth a lot more in the future. Imagine in the future if Steem is worth $5, $10, $50 or even $100? Now the small amount of Steem we hold could become very valuable!

Lack of engagement


This is another factor I have had to fight with from time to time - I have over 1000 followers now, but when I create a post I am lucky to get a handful of upvotes and/or comments. This can be rather disheartening, as this is suppose to be a ‘social network’. It is also alot more encouraging to write posts when I know that there are actually people reading what I am writing.

picnic-1208229_1280.jpg

I find that the more you put into Steem the more you get out - this means if you want to engage with your posts then you need to go out and engage with others. Why should we expect people to read and engage with our posts if we don’t do the same on their posts? I am slowly starting to join back in discussions on Discord and steem.chat again and these are also great places to get to know new people and increase engagement.

A system ripe for manipulation

This is a sad fact that a system like Steem is ripe for manipulation and it sometimes really sours the experience for users (including myself!). The argument over upvote bots has been l=ongoing and I have sat on both sides of the fence, but I don’t agree with people using them to promote crap to trending! The increasing amount of bots they are useless isn’t helping with the user experience either.




The balance with a decentralised system like Steem can be hard to figure out. Freedom of speech and expression is one of the keys on here, but along with that comes people who want to abuse their stake. Yes there has been a few flag wars - I have seen some people get involved in discussions with Steemians and had their accounts flagged to the ground. It seems we leave the majority of the power in the hands of a few, and while lots of people on here do good things, some abuse their power.

Conclusion


Although Steem continues to attract many new users, there is still a problem with account retention, as many people leave for many different reasons, some of which I have outlined above.

I hope that those who produce quality content can see past the shortcomings of Steem and buckle up for the long term - I think we are in for great things in the future. Remember Steem is still in its infancy, and the problems are still being ironed out.

I would love your thoughts and comments as always!

banner007.jpg

Sort:  

Longterm engagement is key here. That's why I like SBI, which I see you have. Oh, and @steem-ua. Most people I see complaining about low engagement usually don't comment much themselves or their comments are not well thought out. Gotta build an community arpund you. SBI is great, have a few more.

Yeah ive been a big fan of sbi! Thanks for the heads up about steem-ua i havent heard of it so il check it out. Yeah engagement is the key to long term success!

Thanks for the extra sbi shares!!

Ain't that the truth, its a pity we have to focus so much attention on things like manipulation, why do people have to be such self centred assholes all the damn time. Oh well, I'm just going to continue to have fun with steemit, if people like it cool, if they don't then were they really people you wanted to engage with?

Your vibe attracts your tribe and i'm just looking for peeps to banter with and have a laugh

Yeah that sounds like a good plan to me! I guess when there is a system to manipulate then people will exploit that. I guess no matter the changes they make people will find ways to work the system.

Hope you are well 😃

Your vibe attracts your tribe

Dude this got me... Hot stuff :)

Lol thanks man holla at your boy! You know we africans are tribal! You have tribes in Nigeria?

Sure, there are super loads of tribes 😂

The creative vibes are strong today 🤗

Hi @conradt glad to See you are still around. Focus on your own riad through the steemisfere it Will All blow over. Personally I am annoid by the negativity. But I close it off to myself. Its a waste off time. I am staying oh and @pifc and the engagementleague by @abh12345 are good ones besides Steem-ua too.
GREETZ love Britt

I too feel the same, I’m still trying to stay as active as I can, posting what I feel is good content that I have seeked out through travels and adventures. Anyway, I’m noticing my account growing slowly, I’m looking more long term. But it sure is a bit annoying when you spend a while on a post and get $0.02 value, and strange posts getting hundreds.
I took don’t understand my followers, I don’t have as many as you but about half, and lucky to get 10-15 upvotes at best, out of 500 followers...
either way, I’ll keep supporting your posts, you’ve been following/commenting with me since I joined steemit about 8 months ago :)

Your doing well mate - looks like you have all sorts of adventures! Keep it up. Yeah I think alot of my followers are either inactive or bots to be honest.

Thanks for the support! I will continue to support you also :)

All of your points are valid i must say. I don't even know what to add again to your points. Well the truth is simple but hard to put in action.

For this community to stand strong, we need to have each other's backs especially in such flagging scenarios where it is uncalled for. The power is in the hands of a few yes, but the authority still lies with the community. Together we could stop all these if united.

I believe people will come back once they hear prices are rising again. The users still posting now are the true community if i must say.

Truly we must engage with others on their posts before expecting anyone to engage with ours. Nice post amigo!

For this community to stand strong, we need to have each other's backs especially in such flagging scenarios where it is uncalled for
Sometimes this happens, but not enough. As I said I have seen people flagged to the gorund just because someone with high SP disagrees with them. I tend to steer clear of certain Steemians who I know are flaggers. I dont wanna go there.

Anyway we know now that the rep score doesn't mean much (well to me anyway!) So being flagged probably aint the worst that can happen to us :P

Yeah I am hoping the price will bounce back in the long run, in the mean time I dont really have anything to lose!

Lolz yes i tend to avoid accounts known for flagging or getting flagged. Wisdom is profitable to the wise.

Yeah i agree. I just see the flag wars as rather negative and unnecessary

Hey, I agree on most of your points. However, I think that it's not manipulation. If someone has enough dedication to put $1m to Steem, they have the right to claim some profit out of that money. I think that Steem is still in development and there's a long way ahead. What I'm trying to do is to accumulate as many Steem as possible, to prepare for the future!

Thats true and thats the agrument others also bring up.

Steem is still very much in development and i agree that now is the time to accumulate 😃

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by conradt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74