My Steemit story - from crypto enthusiast to community minded member

in #steemit6 years ago

I recently read a post by @verhp11 about 'My Steemit Story', which was a challenge initiated by @whatsup. The idea is that we share a story about how we found out about Steem, and what were our thoughts about it all. If you want to read others stories then check out the tag #mystemitstory.

An introduction to the world of crypto


I became interested in the crypto world around September/October 2017 (yes just before the massive run up, and no I didn't invest!). As a poor student I didn't have any spare money to invest but became intrigued by this new world, and read all I could about Bitcoin, blockchain and the markets. With no money of my own to invest I started to look at alternative ways to enter the space, such as mining.

student-849825_1280.jpg

After reading and consuming alot of content about mining I realised that although I could mine if I wanted to do it without blowing up my laptop I would need to invest heavily in some hardware. SIGH

After a dejected couple of months I came across and interesting crypto project called Steem

Enter Steemit


After signing up for an account I didn't realise it would take nearly 2 weeks to process and open my account! Once I opened up my fresh account I was eager to give this thing a try! After a bit of reading I wrote my #introduceyourself post and after a few minutes I had upvotes and comments - and a $ value next to my post - amazing!

However, after that first initial post, I realised that this wouldn't be easy (as many of my posts were receiving 0 payouts!). So after ALOT of reading I learned from others that this isn't just about blogging but about getting to know people, and so I set off getting to know people, and slowly my account grew and I became more positive again. I stuck to what I think I know best (music, technology and life experiences), and this is where I found a great community of support from Steemians such as @verhp11, @calisay, @johngreenfield, @paradigm42 and many others!

entrepreneur-3404056_1280.jpg

Fast forward 6 months, and I am still here, slowly grinding away and building my account. In the last month or so I have really become intrigued by the many new Dapps available on the Steem blockchain and where these might lead us in the future.

Although Steem has its problems I have really enjoyed my time here and look forward to keeping on Steeming (and hopefully the price of Steeming rising!).

banner007.jpg

Sort:  

Great story @conradt and pleased to follow you and read your posts !!!

Thanks! Glad to be back here blogging again

I think I am following you for more than 3 months now. This is really no ass kissing but I genuinely think that if you keep on doing what you are doing and remain consistent here you will grow a lot.

So good luck and keep grinding that Steem Power.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the ongoing support - I appreciate it. See you at 500 SP :P

See you there, mate. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @conradt

Just bumped into your profile just to realize that we seem to share a number of interests :)

In particular that we both share a similar passion towards cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology :)

big fat upvote on the way! :)

I will follow you closely :)
Take care, Piotr

Yeah I write mainly about crypto, steem, technology and music :)

It's great to see how responsive you are @conradt
This platform definetly needs people like us :)

Sure does! We will be the ones who will benefite the most in the long run :)

I like to see how responsive you are @conradt :)

Steemit needs people like yourself.

Yours
Piotr


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by conradt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41