The Simple No Hassle Bot Setup Guide to Upvote the Same Posts as Any Top Curator.

in #steemit7 years ago

There has been a lot of requests ( @smysullivan ) for a tutorial on how to easily implement a bot using @personz new curation bot.

Going to make this quick and simple.

Step 1. Setup an account with http://heroku.com

This will require adding a credit card (I used my bitpay) to authorize your account, the card will not be charged at any point. Only authorized accounts can run the Heroku Scheduler, this will be needed later to run the bot every 10 minutes.

Step 2. Click this link to deploy the bot.

Step 3. Initial Configuration

  • STEEM_USER (you user name)

  • POSTING_KEY_PRV (your posting private key, located in wallet permissions at the top. Click show private key. This key only allows posting and no access to funds, super safe.)

  • BOT_API_KEY (this is your password to log into your bot, it can be whatever)

  • EMAIL_ADDRESS_TO (ignore)

  • EMAIL_ADDRESS_SENDER (ignore)

  • SENDGRID_API_KEY (ignore)

  • COOKIE_SECRET (ignore)

Step 4. Click Deploy

Be patient here, can take a few minutes to get going.

Step 5. Click View App and login with your password.

Step 6. Navigate to Edit Algorithm.

Step 7. Add the Algo

Key: post_up_voted_any_whitelisted
Weight: 100

Step 7. Add Steemit Curator to Whitelist.

Step 8. Navigate to https://dashboard.heroku.com/

Step 9. Select your bot

Step 10. Navigate to the resources tab and select Heroku Scheduler

Step 11. Add node bot.js as the job and set it to run every 10 minutes, in theory you could add a second one five minutes later to have the bot run every five minutes.

Step 12. Wait, may take a while but you should start seeing votes come in on http://steemd.com/@username that you did not make. There is also a view log on the bot page if you want to check that.

Hope you enjoyed the tutorial, this feature will eventually be built into this site or a spin off of some kind. This is just getting it early, enjoy! If you run into any snags reach out to me or @personz in http://steemit.chat

steemitsignature

Sort:  

So if everyone plays follow the leader, the new user who signs up after these bots have been set doesn't stand a chance. If new users don't stand a chance, eventually, those precious curation rewards become worthless. Please vote responsibly.

I would agree with this a bit but it is very short term small picture. We have yet to see even a tenth of the potential of this platform, there is a long way to go. The average person does not have the time to curate properly and naturally there will be those that make a hobby out of it. The goal is to get the best content trending, this is a part of that system. Your new user concept is kind of irrelevant as they could buy the SP to get them the curation rewards I do. This also assumes that gains are the only incentive to join this platform and that is just one of many. I recently was able to create an immutable blog with my steemit content, that is huge and has nothing to do with curation or rewards.

Please vote responsibly. That's all.

Please review my upvoted posts and let me know if there is any irresponsible upvotes in there. I tend to love the articles that the individual I am bot'ing upvotes.

http://steemd.com/@codydeeds

I'm not accusing you of voting irresponsibly.

All good, was just trying to stress that the top curators are at the top for upvoting the best content on the site.

To each their own. I don't mind bot votes on my stuff. I'm a curators dream, most days... but I guess if I'm not on a list up there, this article encouraging others to vote for everyone else won't benefit me very much. I'd say the majority of users here could relate to that. Maybe even, yourself. No stress though. I'm not knocking down your efforts. I'm not using a bot to vote. I usually just vote for the authors I enjoy, especially if they've supported me, that helps. When spring rolls around and I'm putting in more hours working, I might consider a bot... but even then, it won't be for easy curation rewards.

What @codydeeds has described in terms of algorithm is just the tip of the iceberg, really. The bot can do sooooo much more than follow the leader. There's currently 65 different bits of information you can get to decide on whether or not to vote on a post.

In fact the stated purpose of the bot is to go much deeper and look at the content of posts, keywords, whether or not there's only images / video, and the network of the poster, including votes on the post, etc. There's a little bit of NLP that I'd like to expand.

I think if you truly wanted to support your supporters you would bot. This bot can do that for you, rather easily. Just add the supporters to the white list and use: author_is_whitelisted

The sooner you upvote their post the more of the rewards they get versus you in curation. Instant bot voting your supporters would be the more selfless thing to do.

Ya the curation system is a bit of a design flaw

Not really. It's up to the individual. If they want to set up a bot to farm the highest amount of curation rewards they can possibly get, they'll place their votes where the money is. Then the next person comes along and does the same thing. Then the next... and the next and so on. Then those articles trend, not because they are good, but because that's what everyone is automatically voting for while they are away doing other things. Then they fine tune, drop a few accounts, add in a few more that might boost their earnings. If they are allowed 40 votes per day to be safe, and if enough people follow the same pattern, there will eventually be 40 people here who make money, while everyone else gets ignored. Then, everyone leaves. Then, the value of those curation rewards drops. Then, everyone loses.

The curation system is fine. It's the bots and encouraging people to set those bots to the same list of authors that is a flaw. That's why I say, please, vote responsibly.

Yes in the short term, no in the long term. I think the real issue with the "reward" system is the currency distribution. Only a few accounts votes even matter and bots are just trying to get in front of those votes. Some examples of these awful trending posts would go a long way towards your argument, I have not seen any but I am "away doing other things" sometimes. I appreciate your love for the new user but that is their journey to make, the greater the difficulty the greater the reward. I can see from your profile that you are killing it, that is because of your amazing posts and creativity. I have seen some new users float to the top pretty quickly from skill alone.

My point though....

I will do another tutorial on how to auto upvote your supporters.

Have you had a chance to check out busy.org yet?

I am doing well, but each time I post, I never feel like it's easy money and sure to come my way. I've seen many votes I used to get stop coming in, not because I did something wrong. It started to occur around the same time automated service became available for everyone. I check the stats. I can see where the votes went. Without the guild vote, I wouldn't be able to keep doing what I do because only one or two of those top curators hook me up. So it's easy to see, from my perspective, encouraging people to play follow the leader could take a few more votes away from me, or you, and place them within the many votes that contribute only to commonly trending authors. There's no way anyone can convince me to see it any different, because I'd be denying the existence of my observations if I did that.

Automatically supporting anyone would be hard for me. I follow a lot of people and try to give them all a vote or two from time to time. I have enough trouble keeping my voting power at a reasonable level as it is. I burn a lot in the comment sections as well because I like to give those who comment a little boost.

I have not tried busy yet.

...and where did I say "awful trending posts?"

You mentioned trending articles that weren't good, I was wondering if there were any examples.

Then those articles trend, not because they are good, but because that's what everyone is automatically voting for while they are away doing other things.

Be careful. You're taking that out of context.

You sir 😉

Was not aware what I was getting myself into with this post...

Bots causing you to get less votes seems counter intuitive to me.

It's not everyone. It's just those who would like to see their wallet grow rather than support the individuals on a case by case basis. Again, I'm not knocking your work. People just need to be responsible with that vote. It's a one sided curation reward if it's about the reward and not the author. That said, many who do succeed here deserve everything they get. Sorry to bother you.

No bother at all, I enjoyed the convo and it is good contrast for me. I had not taken much of that into account. It will be interesting to watch the data and see what happens.

Yeah... I didn't say all this to argue or create animosity. Just offering a different perspective. When there's money involved, you won't often hear the other side. I don't mind putting my ass on the line sometimes and saying, "Hey! What about this part?"

Everything I earn here gets powered up. I use the vote for the things I like. The author has already given me something through their words and other content. My vote is there to give back. I don't care about maximizing my rewards. I honestly enjoy voting late and watching the value of the article increase by a nickel or dime. I don't care if I take away .005 SP. I earn through the rewards on my own posts and that's good enough for me. Those are the rewards I focus on maximizing and I enjoy it.

Here is a list of top curators to choose from.

http://steemwhales.com/trending/?p=1&d=30&s=cr

Thanks @codydeeds! 😆 👍 Great set up tutorial, especially with the screen shots makes things much clearer.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Yea man, dummies making tutorials for dummies is a niche for me I think.

the question how tofront-run top curators remains )

Hack them lol

Very cool, thanks for sharing this!

Finally had a reason to play on Heroku, it's actually such a cool platform, why did I wait so long ;)

Currently trying to get @jesta's reprint on there.

Reprint? Going to take a look at his blog to see what that is :)

It's a way to create and host your own blog with steemit content. My tutorial on how to set it up below.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@codydeeds/my-first-tutorial-create-and-host-a-blog-of-your-own-with-steemit-content

It's a cool site though.

It is a nice toy for personal use... now, making it "public" totally demeans the word "curating".

select, organize, and present (online content, merchandise, information, etc.), typically using professional or expert knowledge.

Knowledge, not a simple cattle/lemming algorithm

Is there data to support this claim? My tutorial is a lemming setup to follow a top human curator. Cannot comment on the algo part.

100 votes, 9 views of average is not "evident" enough?

Evidence of what? Your comment seems to imply that there would be more views with less bots, where is the data for that claim?

I can tell you what there would be less of with less bots and that is votes.

Every bot that leeched the $10/9/8/7/6/5/4/3 bucks from the account creation, diluted steems value to a point where only whales count... Look up the definition of "curation", blind voting is something very different. Bots playing ping-pong bidding on posts for x or y reason.

It is not blind voting, that implies the votes are completely random. I was not around for or aware of bots leaching the account creation funds. Is there any documentation on this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66167.46
ETH 3530.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15