If It Were Mine To Change: My answer to @stellabelle and why

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I recently did my frustrated rant post and was asked a single question I want to explore a little more.
How would you change it if it were yours to change? - @stellabelle
This post is my best attempt to answer a very rational question asked during a (somewhat) irrational post.

Myself, A Few Facts

For more than a decade I have made the majority of my money playing games. This wasn't done in the way commonly seen today, streaming on Twitch or competitive playing, but by accommodating character growth. A result of this is a change of thinking regarding things that others don't always see.

That change of thinking is what has me frustrated in large part with steemit, or rather where it is today. Anyway, allow me to answer the question:

If It Were Mine To Change

Imposed Conformity


We need to allow people to get attached to their accounts. Currently there is absolutely nothing to distinguish any user from another save for their wallet balance.

Above are two small changes that I feel drastically alter the look and feel of what we have here. It allows us to associate as closely to the account as we like with the information we want and choose to share.

I say it is hard to look for compelling and original from relative anonymity, and it helps an author to connect deeper on each visit to their post, without having to semi-reintroduce ourselves each post. It can be used for the authors to easily and simply link their other active posts that month as well.

As We Look At How To Use Promoted

If all we are currently is our wallets, advertisers have no idea how to pitch to that. Cleveland Cross, 44, single, living in Tacoma, WA starts to let them know what direction they need to take. Eyeballs alone have a value, specific data that they probably already have from other social media anyway... that's a higher value. I bring this up to say this:

we have a value beyond our wallet.

The more of ourselves we bring as a person to steemit, the more valuable it is. Don't make me have to read through someone introducing themselves to new readers each time when I know who they are, or make me dig through their past posts to find out a little more about them. This helps us know each other with a simple visual distinction, and just happens to be what is of value outside as well.

Bounties and Badges

I am pimping my post again, yes sir. Maybe you read it, I will wait if you haven't....
....................
...............
............
.........
......
....
..
People have left their jobs for this site. We should allow them to earn some recognition-at-a-glance honors on their account. It's an idea strengthens and visually acknowledges your contributions to the site with specifics. An author would be proud to post a badge that let the reader know they've been 'vested' by the community over a period.

How Ya Like Me NOW?!?


SOURCE

Look, I was asked what I would change, and this is the first thing top priority. New users need faces and credentials, not in-depth passionate posting from a silhouette from @skankass (made up ((I think?)). I am pretty stuck on this topic lately, and I think until something is implemented I will be. Seriously, it won't take much to have people start building a value to the account that is above and beyond the wallet value.
..... a value of self

P.S.: I am promoting this post with the SBD I have available on my account now. I do this based on the statements it is something that puts the value back into the community. So I hope you see it as it's intended, I am just doing what I can right now to try and support everyone.

Sort:  

Shit I totally spelt Stella's name wrong on the headline lol...... we can wipe that one tiny thing off the blockchain right? #hardforkrequested

Ha ha! She will forgive you!

Great post. I have also recently looked into hot to change steemit. I think your suggestions are great. Please check it out and give me feedback.

I have missed a profile page, and I like your idea of badges.

Thanks and I will. I am glad, it is great for author to have for sure..... I like the idea I have credentials I can show lol

Well thought out post, thanks

Thanks for reading and supportive comments!

Interesting approach! Are you really in Tacoma? I'll wave at you in my imaginary time machine going back to when I drove past a few hours ago. I love the idea of showing when someone joined. I feel oddly connected to people who joined around the same time I did.

I'm also grateful for the re-introduction of the question of how I would change Steemit. Lately, I've been feeling detached and seeing my vision of great content as possibly unrealistically high or simply not shared. That's depressing. I'd much rather think about how to spark more deep conversations about non-Steemit topics, since that's what I'm craving. I'll be the change I want to see on Steemit, to invoke and over-quoted piece of solid wisdom.

Awesome! I can't wait till I meet you when I did last week!

I agree, I don't want to take part in the curation/censorship whale talks anymore. They're important, but it's just a part of it. Let me enjoy and find out about the people who don't mind sharing a little something, and I agree, small details like start date.... It connects a person :)

Class of 071716ish wooooohoooooo!!!!

Excellent, excellent, excellent ideas. Visual input is parallel processing, while text is serial. Much more efficient for the situations where it can be implemented.

Thanks... Well said! thanks for thoughts and comment :)

Thanks for burning your SBD for the promotion! =)

Your welcome :)

One question for you: What do you think would be the most productive use of my skills and idiosyncrasies here in steemit?

Hello @clevecross, I just stopped by to let you know that I included this post in my favourite reads on my Steemit Ramble today. The post can be found here

Thank you very much :)

We need to allow people to get attached to their accounts. Currently there is absolutely nothing to distinguish any user from another save for their wallet balance.

Most people feel pretty attached to their wallets :-)

Seriously though; we should have a profile page; and I love your badges idea, it needs a bit of work; but I think it's so crazy; it might just woik! :-D

Cg

Thanks. It has a function for sure. Some can be vanity.... But the idea of credentials-at-a-glance I think are awesome function of them.

Funny, I had similar thoughts on this just last week because I was also looking into ways to engage users on their steemit journey....

@steempowerwhale 🐳
🌞 upvoting your lifetime dreams!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57276.13
ETH 2437.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39