Bounties For Badges

in #steemit8 years ago

I think we all tend to focus a little to exclusively on the financial rewards of using the site. As we look to attract new users, we need to start looking at ways that distinguish accounts from one another and offer goals beyond the monetary.

Profile Page

Today, we have user reputation, that little number beside our name is the only thing we have to gauge and compare users against each other, and it's not effective. We can improve and expand on this with changes that encourage participation and protect our users as well.

Let Us EARN It


Hashtags can begin to have an icon representing them. If I post largely in science, I build up my science badge based on the votes from my posts going from level 1-10(?) with each level becoming progressively harder to reach.

Reputation stops becoming a potential weapon. If my reputation becomes centered in a few fields, people can disagree and flag for any reason (ie: disagree with content/pay amount) without affecting my reputation unless they are of a higher rank in that category.

Troll Badge!!


Even behavior can begin to be achievements. If on these pages we could vote for badges that reflect our experience with the person, it begins to shape them in general. These votes would be outside of the voting system we see today and not impacting to our curation/reward voting power.

Say I saw a comment that I found particularly offensive for whatever reason. I could click the users name and vote for their troll badge, or perhaps their "Super Steemian" badge if it was a great comment! It allows us to begin to generate a meaningful profile for each people as well as define how their votes on the posts affects the author.

So if a whale (let's say Dan) flags a successful post of mine, the system looks and says this is a writing post, and Dan only ever posts on Blockchain/Steemit/Philosophy. My reputation in these areas is completely unaffected and only the monetary consequences result from his actions, which sometimes is the reason for the flag to begin with!

These are just thoughts on what could be done going forward to make the experience a bit more pleasant, and personal, to everyone. It helps us form and develop moderators of content naturally over time, which in turn will help us achieve diversity of content as people begin to compete for these spots.

Photo Credits:
Badges: http://hivepgh.sproutfund.org/project/digital-badge-lab/
Troll Badge: http://www.zazzle.co.nz/troll+badges

Sort:  

This is a great idea I would definitely put a lot more time into steemit (so I could max them all out lmao) and I think that might attract a lot more people

Yeah, I think it would really make it more personal, diversified (in your case :P) or specialized for more control over content. Thanks for support/comment. :)

What I like about this idea is the endorsement factor, and how it would counteract spammers. There are some dodgy looking accounts on here posting "expert advice" on dozens of things. Everything from dental hygiene to dog grooming - and all from the same account.

This badge system would encourage people to focus on their strengths and build a more convincing reputation than just a number.

The troll badge, I'm not so sure about. Smacks a bit of tarring and feathering. What if there was a "professional victim badge" for balance? Clearly I'm joking, but you can see the territory you're going into with negative badges - huge potential for shaming and abuse.

Anyway, interested to see if this gains traction. Will give you an "ideas badge"! :)

Absolutely, the troll badge.. it's a concept and one granted with problems also. I figured if it was like the rep system..... well, it would take a heck of a lot of troll "votes" for it to accumulate to a decently high level where people could begin to filter you.

Anyway, all were thoughts and I am glad to hear from you. I also would like to see "experts" begin to emerge and form some sort of moderator team on the site.

As far as a "moderator team" goes, for the most part, I would be against the idea of an autocratic, self-appointed behavioural force.
That might sound at odds with my support for Steemcleaners, but remember, Steemcleaners are flagging something reasonably empirical - spam and plagiarism. Trolling is altogether more nuanced.
Also, Steemcleaners are highly transparent and accountable in their approach. A troll fighting cartel could be set up, but might not get the level of support Steemcleaners have.

Personally, my advocacy of free expression extends into interactions which people might deem "too disruptive", but does not extend to copyright infringement.

Anyway, apologies for my tangent. Might do a post on the subject at some point.

Good luck with the badges. Cool idea.

The troll badge is epic! Enjoyed this post, the idea and the thought put into it.

Thank you. I enjoyed it also, think it would be a nice implementation myself

Interesting proposal. Little by little this platform will grow into something awesome.

Thanks. I liked the idea of a little more connection to the account (individuals) and a way to encourage diversity of content beyond "finding your niche". Thanks for reading and commenting!

Thanks, I liked the idea. It allows room for several people to become experts in their field, and also as a byproduct solves some of the revenge flagging issues.

How very clever - I hope it has wings! :)

I do as well. Didn't want to add a typical "All proceeds will go to seeing this...." ending, but I hope others see it also as a good goal and proceeds I will definitely use to help fund a bounty for this when it is released (@ned's first bounty)

"Bring out the whale whistle!"

...."and the whale harpoon!"

lol. Thanks man. I honestly hope they see it, Looking forward to the completion of an actual bounty board and hope we can crowdfund this. I think it really would change the experience of the site.

I'm partial to earning badges online.

Do you think this would increase the "gamification" of the site overall?

Gamification... absolutely 100% it does. It gives achievements and almost a leaderboard set across many fields. It gives goals and such to work with that allow room for fun, achievement, and also reduces the means and ability to revenge flag

All those points work for me. I would love to earn a badge for a given niche. (Ex. - top contributor on the topic of investing or real estate.) It would give people confidence that someone has been vetted on a topic and is worth learning from

Yeah, it's still a rep system at it's core, just specialized and more fun :)

I'll make some badges for you, darling. +3 clever boy!

It would be fun to have them as little goals to work towards right? Thanks for volunteering your appreciated skills :)

This is a great idea, i really hope someone picks this up.

I am anxious for the bounty board to come up. I would love to propose this and (with help) fund it.

Thank you for your support of the idea :)

I only see people telling others to not care about the money aspect are the people with a nice bank rolls hoping to make money of the posts of others by growing the block chain.
if you really don't care about the money aspect of it like your telling everyone eles to do then send me all your steem dollars or admit your full of shit and that the money is what matters.

the ball is in your court now. do you prove yourself to be full of shit trying to convence people of something you don't belive in or are your real about it and send me all your steem dollars?

Deleted

Looks like you care about the money more then anything and are only telling people to not care about the money aspect so they will grow the block chain to make your investment worth more.

shame on you for pushing lies to make profit.

You are only proving me correct with your dodging of the points. have fun spreading propaganda lies to make yourself rich off the effort and work of others making posts.

he decided to continue the conversation on another post I had. guess he didn't want everyone on this post to see how retarded he acts, so here it is. go check it out everyone and watch his pathetic attempts of trolling and question dodging. lol

https://steemit.com/steemit/@skeptic/a-question-for-the-steemit-community#@clevecross/re-skeptic-a-question-for-the-steemit-community-20160905t180959036z

Deleted

I did read the whole post, your making assumptions.
still dodging my points. good job proving me right!
8D

so funny you flag my reply showing the rest of our conversation. I swear its almost like you are trying to prove me right on everything today.

You now have a choice, do you remove the flag you gave because you are trying to censor me or do I put you on blast to the whole community for being one of the flaggers out of opinion?

if you do not take off the flag I will take that as you want me to put you on blast.

hahaha you went back and deleted all your trolling? so pathetic.

Sorry you had to deal with this troll. I've had her on me before.

Next time flag the shit out of her. She flag bombed me with 2 or 3 different accounts that had practically no reputation and no SP. Don't fear this troll flag the shit out of her. (Or just take the advice from my troll post. She stopped trolling me after getting a lot of flags for replying to me persistently.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64646.41
ETH 3230.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63