You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey Steemit... You Down With OPC? (Other People's Content) | What type of content should be posted on Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago

I think there's a way of telling an original story using Youtube content and other vids/images/quotes to illustrate what you're saying. As long as you're telling a cohesive narrative about a given topic and the (preferably short) clips, art, images, etc. you use are only there as reference points or to make your points more vivid, I think they can become a sort of collage that you weave together with a larger meaning. It's almost like telling a story to someone you know - you may have to reference a famous song or incident or concept or more than one as you explain what you are telling them, but those things don't form the substance of your story, just some of the building blocks.

Sort:  

Totally agree with you, I think there's a place for it. I just made a write-up the other day where I included two Youtube videos in my post, one was the story of the gazelle and the lion and the other was an Eric Thomas motivational speech. I referenced a lot of the same points from those videos in my own thoughts and own post so it made sense to include them. That said I also had probably 600-1000 words of text along with it and I feel like added much more value than just the videos. Personally speaking I tend not to upvote when I see someone just embedded a Youtube video and doesn't even write 2-3 sentences telling me why they posted it or why they like it or why it's worthwhile.

Agreed. I liked the gazelle and lion one. Will have to check out the Eric Thomas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58320.47
ETH 2367.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45