Balancing Steemit with a Full-Time Job: How? Why?

in #steemit7 years ago

We are a baby girl!.png

I'm sure you all noticed by now, but being successful on Steemit takes a pretty big commitment.


We're all here to create, curate and comment...

But some of us have full-time jobs.

How is that supposed to work? Here I sit, in the morning of my first day off in several days, desperately trying to produce something of value for the Steemit world to enjoy. I'm tired. I work eleven hour days. When my weekend comes, it's hard enough to just keep from napping all day. But Steem I must!


tired.png

I'm not trying to complain, but I have a lifelong habit of laziness I need to break.

What is tiredness anyway? Even Google, within the definition of the word "fatigue," includes the word "subjective." And it's just that. Subjective. Being tired is what you make it. If you choose to make it a dreadful thing that keeps you from even more sleep, you will undoubtedly spiral toward misery. On the other hand, if you choose to see yourself as tired from working hard, you will find a wonderful sense of satisfaction, and you will henceforth crave that type of fatigue.

clapping.png


Rest is infinitely more restful when it is deserved.
The idea of rest itself is also subjective. For some people, climbing a mountain with a fifty pound pack is considered rest. In my experience, rest is anything that recharges and readies you for more. When I feel that I need to rest by sitting on the couch and mindlessly watching TV, perhaps I'm just confused and that behavior no longer serves me, or even constitutes rest.

worthit.png


Could Writing be Relaxing?

Suppose I were to spend my days off writing, contributing to Steemit and investing in my family's future. This is clearly the most rewarding way I could currently spend my time. Part of me feels extremely relaxed and at home when I'm practicing writing, but another darker part just wants me to rest and do what I have always done until the next work day.

questioning.png


What have we got with Steemit?

Incentivized sharing, basically. Throughout the life of the net so far, sharing has been (accurately) viewed as a time waster. The old social networks had us convinced that the rewards for sharing never went beyond popularity and followers. The most clever of us were able to squeeze some kind of income out of this unforgiving system, but the majority of social networkers and content creators gave up their best stuff for years, receiving almost nothing in return.


Enter Steemit, and Incentivized Sharing

Now, those of us who understand Steemit (and blockchain systems in general) have no excuses. There are rewards and incentives for sharing. If we are able, we are obligated. All of a sudden, work doesn't feel so important. It's just a place that I have to go for about forty hours a week. Steemit matters. Everyone who has the ability to create quality content is called to Steemit. If we all continue creating, we will prove to the world that this is the best possible future for the internet.


How Do You Do It?

I know there are plenty of you out there in the same boat. Full-time job, full-time Steemians. I need your advice! I may seem confident and capable in my words, but I'm scared to death that I can't handle both at the same time.

help.png

How do you make it work?

What old habits did you have to kick before you could work and Steem effectively?

What do you do to rest and unwind, and how do you minimize that time?

How do you achieve consistency with posting, when working long days?

I'd love to have a discussion about this topic. I know most of us have to work, and we all believe in Steemit. I love this community. Thanks for reading! I just wanted some support, and I wanted to let the tired people know that they're not alone.

grind.png



Sort:  

This is so true. Even for me. I was working a full time job that suddenly became considerably LESS than full time. Yet, it's like I'm still in the 'busy' mindset. I'm spending literally ALL day on Steemit, either curating (which I totally LOVE), commenting or creating quality posts. I still feel like I'm not putting out the amount of quality work that I could be in this amount of time.

I'm also often stuck in the old paradigm of,

the rewards for sharing never (goes) beyond popularity and followers.

It's almost like I feel GUILTY just reading posts and curating/upvoting. Like somehow I've wasted time. I KNOW I haven't, but it's still a feeling I'm trying to overcome.

Yesterday, for instance, I had a short hour-long lunch meeting and had to do home things (laundry, cleaning, tending the four-leggeds), so technically PLENTY of time to post. But did I?

Nope.
Why? No idea. I spent a lot of time just reading really great posts instead of working on one.

Honestly, I think that's pretty important too.

Thanks for the thoughts (honey 😍).

We're all in this together!

Thats true we should be engaging on steemit in more ways than just posting all the time!

Yep. We gotta do it all. I mostly am using work time for curation, home time for creating posts.

"Participate and ye shall be rewarded"
-ancient Steemian proverb

Engaging.png

This is more important than posting for the long run. Posting is necessary for building reputation.

Yes. Indeed.

P.S. Your avatar is rockin'. 😍

Thank you very much :)

Yes! It's actually my favorite part. Truth be told... I loved Facebook (like years ago). I really thought it could be a place that we could all thrive, interact AND make money (by using it to advertise ourselves, not by Facebook paying us.)

I LOVE that the Steemit community is just that; a community. Sure there are lots of folks that are not using it in the way it was intended, but I think there are enough of us that DO CARE and want it to succeed.

By building relationships with folks we get even more invested in wanting to help them succeed. And with Steemit we CAN reward each other. It's so awesome.

I have a full time job (8-5 during the week) and am one of the witnesses, which is also pretty much a full time job as well. Sleep is one thing that I have had to cut. I used to try for 8 hours a night, now I am usually getting 6. Lunch breaks, evenings, and weekends are where I find most of my time. There is very little time left over in the week though after I've gotten all my work and Steemit things done. No complaints though. I'm happy to have Steemit to spend my time on :)

Thank you so much, Tim, for coming by and offering your feedback. I really appreciate it.

I actually didn't even imagine there were any witnesses with time for full-time jobs other than Steemit, although admittedly I don't really know much about what a witness does. Still learning.

I'm really happy too. I'm thrilled to have something to look forward to spending my time on when I'm not at work.

I really just want to offer as much as I can to this community right now. What we're doing here and now is really important for the future.

Thanks for all the work you do, Tim!

This is the best post that I've read today.

Thanks, man! Yours is the best description I have read ever. Melodious mouth... awesome. Followed, sir.

Thanks for the feedback. I really appreciate it

the majority of social networkers and content creators gave up their best stuff for years, receiving almost nothing in return.

This is very true. I've been blogging and making content for over a decade now and have seen very little in monetary return. Needless to say I don't do this for the money cause if I did I would have quit a long, long time ago.

I too have a full time jobs since creating content has never been able to pay the bills for me. I am luck though, my job allows me the freedom to check steem, read new articles, and comment.

PS. love the bitmoji theme :D

<3 J. R.

Thanks! I've actually got some freedom at work as well. I get to check and reply to comments sometimes, but I can never author a whole post at work.

I mainly just have trouble staying motivated to write when I'm off work. I'm hoping I'll overcome.

I guess we're all pretty lucky to be here, considering that Steem is pretty hard for the average person to wrap their head around.

I love bitmojis. They're about the easiest way to add pics to a blog quickly and simply. @carrieallen, my wife, is really good at designing them.

Thanks for reading and commenting!

I've been creating content for over a decade and I fully understand how it feels to loose motivation after an eight hour day at work. Just to come home and 'have' to produce a post to meet our self imposed deadlines. Especially when we get little or no return.

Most of my blogging time was spend on other sites and probably half of them never say eyes other than mine. It can be a huge struggle to stay motivated. People do say that newbies can't make it on steem cause of 'whales' but in my mind it's easier to make it here than a self hosted blog or another platform.

All it takes it is one whale to like your post and you'll get massive exposure. However, that takes hard work and people new to blogging and content creation don't understand that it takes loads of practice. They expect to come here post a video from another channel and get massive returns. When in reality it could take 10 years to make something that is worth reading. (probably not not that we have steem).

Happy to have met you sir! I'll give you and your wife a follow. <3

"Rest is infinitely more restful when it is deserved." Hits the nail on the head for me. I find it impossible to rest if there's something that needs doing. Having ticked off all items on your to-do list enables you to have a stress free rest.

I've been getting up at 4 ever monrning to go work out and steemit and staying up until 10 or past 10 every night. I used to think I needed 8 - 10 hours a day, but have getting a lot more accomplished by only getting around 6 hours every night.

You're right. But I love sleep sooooo much!

Also, I'm pretty sure that if I took the time to work out in the morning like I used to, I would have better energy all day long.

Looking back,during the most productive times in my life I was sleeping about 6 hours per night.

Thanks! Great advice. And thanks for reading.

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

My hero! Thanks, @minnowpond! Maybe someday I won't be a minnow.

Awesome Post.png

This is a question many people ask.
You are right to make it here you need to be committed.

Its much harder, but there are tools which can help you.
It's also a question of organization. I wrote also about my most useful​ tool here on Steemit and I​ would recommend it to every full-time​ worker.​

Man, I​ like your avatar​ ^^

Thanks for your comment!

Fortunately, my lovely wife @carrieallen has more time to spend discovering all those tools. We're a pretty good team. She also designed the bitmoji avatar. If you'd like your own, it's free. Just check out Bitmoji.com. Carrie's looks even more like her than mine does. They didn't have my cowboy hat, and I don't always wear sunglasses in real life, but otherwise, it's awesome.

I took a look at your blog. Which post were you referring to where you wrote about the most useful tool. I'm sure other readers would like it if you linked to it here in the comments. I know I'd like to hear more from you sir!

Oh, nice. You are building a dream team. That's awesome.
My friend, you made my day! I was already looking how I​ can make those avatars but I didn't know that there is a site.

I will check it out.

I will link it here I​ was not sure if it is ok ​​because​ some don't​ want that. That's​ why I​ am never linking my own posts in the comment section. :)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@modernpastor/take-the-most-out-of-this-tool-improve-your-steemit-journey-with-this-function-1507669628-5858283

Happy to help! Thanks for sharing, I checked out your post. Scheduling my posts and trying to do them all on days off is something I may try. Streemian seems like a great way to do it.

I understand the need for no links to posts in comments, but considering I asked for it, it's totally relevant, and it's a discussion post, your link is completely welcome here. Thanks for sharing!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 4.7% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @chrisroberts
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @chrisroberts to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

That's downright hypnotic.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50