The Growing Pile of Stinky Steemshit: How to not contribute to that! [STEEMSHIT EXCLUSIVE]

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)



Like any other human community is Steemit producing a lot of shit. We all know that quantity and quality are not alike. For any of you who invests a lot of time in writing a good quality post... it's only getting harder and harder for our posts to be noticed as we're being pooped on by an increasing amount of Steemshit. The pile of Steemshit is getting bigger and bigger and you must have noticed that. The Steemit community grows rapidly and so does its steaming pile of stinky Steemshit!



But how do we stop shitting?


1. Don't be that "Steemit-Gambler"

As the community grows, so does the amount of posts/minute ratio. I've read many posts about "Steemit-Gambling", the process during which people post low effort Steemshits hoping that a whale or dolphin would bite. Believe me, nobody likes shit and many previous posts have already explained that "Steemit-Gambling" is an ineffective strategy.

2. Take your time before you post: be patient

We all know it's exciting to click on the "post" button and to see whether people will enjoy reading our post or not. But believe me, you should take your time before you click that button. Be sure that your post contributes to the Steemit community. At least be sure that you would upvote your own post in case you were someone else reading it. Otherwise simply don't post, right?

3. Create a niche, be different

Before you start writing about a topic you should check whether other people have already written a (former) trending post about it. It's not cool to copycat other successful articles hoping that it will be noticed and appreciated again. Many recent posts have explained that we should be ourselves, we should be original, etc etc. Yep, I believe they're right: be yourself, be original!

4. Focus on what you find interesting, not others

Read this sentence carefully: don't tell others what they want to hear, but do tell others what you want them to hear. Focus on topics in which you're interested and passionate to write about. That way, your passion and interest will unconsciously be carried out through your work and will make it priceless. So don't focus on others and don't focus on the money, because eventually you will be rewarded if you carry out your valuable self, your passions and your opinions.

5. Be honest, give feedback!

If someone shits really bad, you can just tell him or her! I believe that by giving feedback we'll contribute to the quality of posts on Steemit. I'm not telling you to be negative and all that, be kind, but be honest too! For example this reply:

"I have to admit I skimmed most of the article because I knew my head couldn't handle the details but it seems well thought out and written. You might also want to add some pictures to break up the slabs of text in future posts. Makes it visually more interesting to read (even if the pics are not 100% necessary)." @canhazlulz

If something is plagiarism, let people know so they can avoid this the next time they write something. When you think my post is shit right now? Tell me it stinks and tell me what I could have done better! Even when a post has many upvotes but you honestly think the post is shit? Don't upvote it!

I hope you've noticed a bit of my dutch cynic undertone in this post. So, if you think this post was shit, please let me know. And for me, to be honest, I have contributed to the pile of Steemshit many times before. But for now on, let's avoid that stinky pile of shit and let's all contribute to a valuable pile of Steemgold instead!

I have decided to stop shitting Steemshit, have you yet?

"Don't shit, unless you shit gold, then shit gold!"

#steemit #steem #life #steem-guide #steem-help

Sort:  

Great post. So true.
Thanks for alerting the community and for the good tips.
Gambling is the #1 issue, because it used to work inthe begining (girl + boobs = upvote).

I would add to follow the right people in the list. Especially since the new GUI is live. Having a good list of 15-20 accounts to follow is key.

Upvoted. And I will follow you !

That's amazing sebastien, I'll check out your page too! Yep, but that will make it harder for a newcomer to get to be known since everyone simply checks out the ones they already follow. But that's just critical me speaking. Girls+boob = upvote, so true! Let's hope this post could bring awareness:-)

I try to post quality and it doesn't make it.. but maybe my writing sucks or my titles aren't good enough. Not really sure. I'm going to keep trying though. But, the best move is try to get a following now that we have a feed. My posts disappear so fast in the general area that they can only get like 2 likes then they are lost forever.

Yep, I believe there are some tricks to make your post more attractive. But still, a visit to your blog post isn't enough. The fact that posts disappear so fast is the big problem. And it's getting worse, that's more or less the point of my post. And we can all contribute by being selective about what we do and do not post on Steemit:-)

Maybe a magical algorithm, like the one which sorts fb posts for you will be needed soon. I think fb also started by showing you posts from all friends but that becomes unsustainable with hundreds of them.

I'm not going to lie, I saw the title of this post and thought it was one of those people complaining about how they aren't making money and how steemit was terrible etc..
Apologies for jumping to conclusions. You did provide some useful advice that applies to me as a new user, and I thank you for that.

Thanks hehe! Yep, we shouldn't be complaining about it. But I hoped this would be a funny way to approach the situation and may bring some awareness:-), thanks for reading @mister-t

when no original content

All content in this post is, @jeison!;-)

Great post, thanks for shitting some gold for us! Today I posted an article about the value/cost of college in the US (my first post!) and unfortunately, my feeling is it got lost in even though the text is of pretty good quality. I'd be honored if someone took a look and at least told me it's shit, that's still better than no reaction at all :) https://steemit.com/college/@janicko/college-prestige-comes-at-a-cost

I'll check it out for you:-)! And I'm glad to have shitten some gold for you!

I liked your post a lot. I'm new here and reading other people comments made me feel less "looser". I thought my ideas were interesting and the opportunity to share them, as well my teaching experiences, were too exciting, but it's really sad when no one takes notice of my posts. Now instead of thinking they are boring, I'm considering.. what if they are shit???? aiaiaiai I'm terrified with it. So, I'm considering finishing my posts asking for feedback.. (as if the no answers, no reading weren't enough).. Anyway, I want to say thank you and tell how much I appreciated the message and for sure I'll be more cautious from now on before posting.

It's a good thing to start with reading other people's stuff. It could be a good lesson. You'll which aspects make an article enjoyable and attractive. Also, guides, and how-to-articles may be good to read to be more sure of how to construct your new blog post. I'm happy to hear that this helped you @marli.arado!

There is money in steemit that most users dont even understand where it comes from, a writer of quality content will not feel comfortable yet to be part of shitters. Although steemit claims to be social media it is designed for bootsrapping a digital currency (I guess thats why people post their pictures holding dollars/euros they made here) - whatever that means. Hopefully early shitters will creata a fertile ground for future. But I doubt it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46