The result of a 24 hour Facebook Ad Campaign for Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Last week I decided to carry out a small marketing campaign on Facebook destined to Spanish speakers, my first focus was to target people in Venezuela since I thought that Steemit could also become a way to help people in need. The post of the campaign can be found here

The post got 78 votes but only received 4 dollars, which lead me to believe that maybe it is not yet the time to be attracting Spanish speakers to the platform or that big holders didn't really liked the idea. Either way I decided to cut the campaign short and I stopped it after 24 hours, however there is some interesting data that I would like to share with you:

We were able to reach a total 36,183 facebook users, this means that the ad was seen by this number of people, but let’s be honest most of them just scrolled past it. Nevertheless there were 173 clicks to steemit.com, which is not a bad numbers for the 4 dollars I was charged. I directed the users to https://steemit.com/trending/spanish/?r=chitty but I have not had the opportunity to ask @ned or @dan about the actual conversion rate, I am hoping it to be about 10%, which would mean we got at least 17 new registered users.

However the most interesting stats I got from this 1 day test campaign were the demographics:

Well for those of you that don't speak spanish that graph is telling us that people between the ages of 18 to 34 were more attracted to the ad, this is expected as younger people tend to be more tech savvy. But the real surprise for me was seeing how more women (mujeres) saw and clicked on the ad, this is unprecedented in the Crypto community.

From this campaign I can conclude two things:

a) Ads in some third countries are really cheap!
b) Steemit is different from any other crypto-project out there, is the only one that is able to reach the “normal” population, it is breaking the entry barrier for crypto and it is the true Bitcoin killer app people were waiting for.

#steem
#marketing
#spanish

Sort:  

Excelente amigo revisa mis post tengo algo similar, creo que escribir articulos en un solo idioma " el ingles" seria limitar el alcance como plataforma y red social

Te leí y te vote amigo, para unir un poco más a la comunidad en español cree hace unas semanas steemiobot twitter y telegram bot, revisa ese post acá y espero que te ayude

Excelente muy buena ayuda, sera un gran pionero en la proyeccion de steemit a nuestras regiones de habla hispana, de que parte eres?

Vnzla pero vivo en Argentina ahora.. estuve en España un tiempo también jaja

My coinmarketcap/blockchain.info campgains are having better click through rates, but cost a ton more. So in the future I will think about advertising on facebook aswell.

Facebook campaigns = Click / Like Farms

I don't trust 1% of any of the data because it's all fantasy, only 5% of that number are REAL users, the rest are clicks and likes probably made in some click farm in Pakistan / India or China. Have you seen the data regarding the geography? even aimed at Venezuela, where were the click made @chitty ?

The campaign was aimed at Venezuela... I guess that if we had the registered accounts then we could find out if the clicks were real or not... I hope that real users signed up and that they are blogging away now!

Yo creo que esto demuestra lo que yo siempre he pensando que la comunidad latina no es muy unida en relación a otras ppr ejemplo la coreana, sin embargo creo que podemos cambiar la realidad y los números. Abrí un canal en el chat de latinos

I hope you will succeed! Yes you will, indeed. Focus on helping others and those in need will always get support here on steemit and I hope with all those users you will gain more money than 4$ ... keep it up and never give up, I'll try to support you!

Thanks for your words, I am sure that as steemit grows we will all benefit

Great initiative! I can say however that I have had similar results with ads in underground electronic music, which is listened more to by man. But I do agree that steem is different and I think that's great!

I'm really impressed by these numbers @chitty! I'll try this!

a mi parecer es muy indispensable defender nuestra posición en cuanto al lenguaje, si bien es viable para quienes dominan el ingles el escribir sus posto en ambos idiomas de forma que puedan ser vistos por la comunidad hispana y la de habla inglesa, es necesario dar más cabida a los hispanos dentro de la plataforma, pero creo que haría falta demasiada coordinación y apoyo para que exista una amplia cantidad de post en español.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63774.40
ETH 3406.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59