A Rant About Spelling and Grammar.

in #steemit8 years ago


Image source

I haven't done a rant on Steemit yet. This is because I don't usually have much to complain about. I want to complain about something that annoys me on Steemit. Bad grammar and misspelled words really get on my nerves. I know that technically this is a social media... But this is Steemit guys! I'm not even referring to the posts that make a few grammatical mistakes or spell a word wrong here and there. Everyone makes mistakes, and you sure as hell don't need to be an English major to use Steemit! I'm really only referring to the posts that misspell words throughout the entire time I am reading it! They don't even capitalize their I's. I don't mean to be a grammar nazi, but this just looks absolutely terrible! It is not in any way pleasing to the eye. It looks like either you let your five year old kid write you paper for you, or you were smoking a tree at the time you wrote it! Personally, I am less likely to up-vote your post if it looks terrible like that. I'm pretty sure that others feel the same way, even if it is on a subconscious level. Posts that look more professional get more up-votes. This is pretty much factual! People like pretty pictures, logos, good spelling, and people who act like they are the shit!

I'm not trying to be mean, and I'm not calling anyone out! I respect everyone's post. I will still give you an up-vote if I enjoyed the content. I just wanted to share my little opinion. Steem on!

... Oh yeah, and if you find any grammatical errors on any of my posts, be sure to call me out on it!


Sort:  

Failure to edit your posts results in many ragrets :)

I like this, you aren't one of those grammar nazi's who would call out a single misspelling, your annoyance is well balanced. ;-D

I thought it would be funny if someone made a Steemit account called grammarnazi and just corrected people's spelling all the time, haha!

I can see that account being a bot. LOL

That is such a better idea! Hahahaha!!

Hi! grammarbot has noticed the following words are spelled incorrectly in your post:
- i --> spelled I
- calandar --> spelled calendar
- lol --> spelled lot

Have a nice day!

BAHAHAHAHA!!! (did you mean Baha'ullah?)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Hello @charlie.wilson,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.039 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here! ,
Want to donate your voting power to support Project Better and earn curation rewards? Click Here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.28 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 09 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I'll admit that I keep an eye on grammar, spelling, and punctuation as well. My mother proofread court transcripts for 41 years. She taught me well.

I do think some users struggle with English, so I do not critique them too harshly.

You can usually tell when English isn't their first language versus when they are just being lazy. I'm nice to those people as well. I think it is really neat (and hard!) to learn more than one language.

Please write this post in 3 other languages without errors.

I only know one language like most good American citizens!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57249.71
ETH 3092.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41