Will Rachel Maddow Be Fair to You? | Censorship and the Steemit PlatformsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Real-Talk.jpg

As promised, this is part two of my censorship on Steemit video. In this example, I move away from Hollywood A-listers to mainstream media journalists. Despite our broad differences in political opinion, I think nearly all Steemians can agree that the mainstream does not report on the blockchain movement accurately or fairly.

The question then, is, will the mainstream media be fair to you personally? What if, for example, MSNBC firebrand Rachel Maddow became a Steemit user? She would likely take her rabid TV audience and a great many of them will follow Maddow, and probably do her bidding. After becoming a whale in short order, she would have the power to mold Steemit according to her set of principles.

That's both the beauty and the danger of unmitigated decentralization. A system, whether it is centralized or decentralized, is only as good as its operators. And if we have any powerful blowhards on our Steemit network, we may incur several unforeseen consequences.

This is again simply "real talk" designed to promote the discussion and to get you thinking about other issues besides monetary rewards.

Thanks again for your support as always, and STEEM On! :)

Sort:  

You bring up some interesting points. I'm not familiar with this rachel chick...but perhaps because she is a big media pundit - her actual followers is somewhat 'fake'.

I wonder if down the road with enough adoption of people onto steemit - if it would be possible for Steem to be a self-sufficient currency - not requiring it's value to be tied to the existing monetary structures. Yes, this is a radical approach and consideration. But if we think about the value of any currency - it's ultimately the decision of the people using it to accept and dare i say 'create' it's value.

Also I don't think such radical outlooks are in any near days to come...but i do like to consider big ideas.

Cheers, and thanks for opening up discussions.

Steem On Brother

very interesting thought to ponder. I do however think media in general have less impact on the public than ever before. The reason for that is we have access to unlimited information via the internet. I like that Steemit is uncensored and like to think we can be exposed to many different points of view with the option to "change the channel" if we feel so inclined.

Interesting thought experiment. I'm all for users having the right to use flagging to censor content they simply disagree with, though I don't think I'd do it myself. However, I wonder how long I could sit on the sidelines if Steemit became a place of censorship and flagging based on political ideologies, etc. I mean, let's be honest, a group of "alt-right" (I still am not a fan of that term, but perhaps you know the type), would be as willing to mass censor Steemit as a contingent of Maddow fans would be.

great points brought to attention that may be problems to fix before they arrive!

Yeah, I think this is an area that absolutely needs to be addressed...thank you! :)

We need some censorship I think

If so, then Steemit should be upfront about it, and let those censorship rules be transparent to all.

this could potentially have a very negative outcome on community as whole!

You right...people don't think about censorship or other issues until it directly impacts them!

One of the things I like about Steemit is we all have equal opportunity.

I mean sure there are Whales and Dolphins and for all I know there may be Dolphin Whale Hybrids in here, but as far as I know there are no Big Shot celebrities or journalist in here pushing their weight around, buying up a boatload of SteemPower and destroying the organic nature of this wonderful digital creation.

And I completely agree with you; all I'm saying is that the potential for this to occur is very much real. For example, I could just downvote the hell out of you simply because I don't like the name "Roger."

I think that overall, Steemit is a wonderful, organic system, as you state, and I'd like it to be a platform where ALL ideas are shared, not just progressive ideas.

Very interesting. No, she would not treat us fairly. She most definitely would send an army of mental midgets to attack a content creator. I think the basis of how it would start is what we should look at. I mean that whatever we say here is fine, everyone is cool for the moment. The point where she releases her minions is at the time some content created has a major impact, to her benefit or not. If it behooves her to identify the steemit community, she will. If this platform is successful, then it will draw attention, therefore she will suffocate and drown out voices, it is inevitable. Censorship of the platform will lose the majority of current users to disgust, the ones with creative unique content. Its a philisophical question for those administering this website. One note would be to protect against the millions of fake social media accounts these people create. If you could eliminate bots maybe the impact of her followers would be minimal and temporary, as they lose interest (or forget) within a few days. I'm for purity man, add some protections against the inevitable and allow any content. It bringsbto mind the quote "those who who give up freedom for security will receive neither".

I very much feel what you're saying and I have the same mindset. If Steemit truly supports free speech, then let all speech be free, including the kind of speech that most people find offensive -- racism, classism, etc. So long as no one is inciting violence or government overthrow, we must abide by and honor the full spectrum of freedom.

If Steemit does not want "objectionable" speech on its network, I respect that. However, it needs to disclose that this is a censored platform. I'm not cool with pretending to be censorship-free when in fact you're actually supporting censorship.

Please read my post @leopotato called shattered dreams. All info was either obtained from the documentary I watched, or our local papers. I was asking for justice for a new Canadian. It got removed from the feed within half an hour. There was nothing objectionable in the article except for the horrific crime itself and the pathetic sentence the guy received. I'm going out to my garden and I don't think I'll be back.

Thanks for sharing @leopotato...not only have I read it, but I plan on doing a video about the subject. This is political correctness gone haywire -- at some point, western governments must realize which is more important to protect: unmitigated religious fanaticism or women and their right to live free from fear and persecution.

That is for sure! Looking forward to your video.

Did another post entitled Post Censored @leopotato. Been there for almost an hour and still up! Wow! Can you direct me to info on how to give my steem, steem dollars to someone. I'm done with Steemit and want to give my Sp and Sd to someone . Cheers and keep fighting the fight. I'll check back for your posts and I subscribed to your you tube channel.

Hey @leopotato...thanks for your post and I responded back to you on YouTube. Basically, I'm going to produce a video over the next few days which will discuss your topics and hopefully, try to get a dialogue going.

If indeed Steemit is censoring -- of course, I don't speak for the architecture -- then I have a big problem with that. We need an open forum to discuss these critical issues.

Thanks @bullishmoney. Looking forward to your post.

Yeah, I'm probably going to do it tomorrow mid-day ... first, I want to butter up the Steemit audience with a positive video, then hit them with a controversial video! :)

Update: Now my post entitled Post Censored @leopotato is gone from all feeds as well. I get it. Truth isn't welcome on Steemit.

You've got that right. Joined in May 2017 and last post July 2017. If Steemit can censor my post @leopotato entitled "Shattered Dreams" them this community is doomed. How many other people have had posts censored and have given up in disgust? We'll never know. It's people like us that are making Jeff Berwick and Gregory Manarino, etc. big money on this site. If regular posters like us give up on Steemit, who's going to make these guys the big bucks they make on here? My time will be better spent writing letters to the editor and to my elected representives. Clif High's webbots are right. Most cryptos are not going to be around for long. I bet Steemit is one of them.

IT GMO HUMAN mentally sick.

Haha! I've never heard that expression before, but you're right...it fits her like a T!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65