You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will Rachel Maddow Be Fair to You? | Censorship and the Steemit Platform

in #steemit7 years ago

Very interesting. No, she would not treat us fairly. She most definitely would send an army of mental midgets to attack a content creator. I think the basis of how it would start is what we should look at. I mean that whatever we say here is fine, everyone is cool for the moment. The point where she releases her minions is at the time some content created has a major impact, to her benefit or not. If it behooves her to identify the steemit community, she will. If this platform is successful, then it will draw attention, therefore she will suffocate and drown out voices, it is inevitable. Censorship of the platform will lose the majority of current users to disgust, the ones with creative unique content. Its a philisophical question for those administering this website. One note would be to protect against the millions of fake social media accounts these people create. If you could eliminate bots maybe the impact of her followers would be minimal and temporary, as they lose interest (or forget) within a few days. I'm for purity man, add some protections against the inevitable and allow any content. It bringsbto mind the quote "those who who give up freedom for security will receive neither".

Sort:  

I very much feel what you're saying and I have the same mindset. If Steemit truly supports free speech, then let all speech be free, including the kind of speech that most people find offensive -- racism, classism, etc. So long as no one is inciting violence or government overthrow, we must abide by and honor the full spectrum of freedom.

If Steemit does not want "objectionable" speech on its network, I respect that. However, it needs to disclose that this is a censored platform. I'm not cool with pretending to be censorship-free when in fact you're actually supporting censorship.

Please read my post @leopotato called shattered dreams. All info was either obtained from the documentary I watched, or our local papers. I was asking for justice for a new Canadian. It got removed from the feed within half an hour. There was nothing objectionable in the article except for the horrific crime itself and the pathetic sentence the guy received. I'm going out to my garden and I don't think I'll be back.

Thanks for sharing @leopotato...not only have I read it, but I plan on doing a video about the subject. This is political correctness gone haywire -- at some point, western governments must realize which is more important to protect: unmitigated religious fanaticism or women and their right to live free from fear and persecution.

That is for sure! Looking forward to your video.

Did another post entitled Post Censored @leopotato. Been there for almost an hour and still up! Wow! Can you direct me to info on how to give my steem, steem dollars to someone. I'm done with Steemit and want to give my Sp and Sd to someone . Cheers and keep fighting the fight. I'll check back for your posts and I subscribed to your you tube channel.

Hey @leopotato...thanks for your post and I responded back to you on YouTube. Basically, I'm going to produce a video over the next few days which will discuss your topics and hopefully, try to get a dialogue going.

If indeed Steemit is censoring -- of course, I don't speak for the architecture -- then I have a big problem with that. We need an open forum to discuss these critical issues.

Thanks @bullishmoney. Looking forward to your post.

Yeah, I'm probably going to do it tomorrow mid-day ... first, I want to butter up the Steemit audience with a positive video, then hit them with a controversial video! :)

Haha. Looking forward to both. I'm going to do posts on cooking and gardening for awhile and see how they do. Do you like sushi? Check out my post Bob makes sushi. Even if you don't, the presentation is worth a look see. Cheers.

Update: Now my post entitled Post Censored @leopotato is gone from all feeds as well. I get it. Truth isn't welcome on Steemit.

You've got that right. Joined in May 2017 and last post July 2017. If Steemit can censor my post @leopotato entitled "Shattered Dreams" them this community is doomed. How many other people have had posts censored and have given up in disgust? We'll never know. It's people like us that are making Jeff Berwick and Gregory Manarino, etc. big money on this site. If regular posters like us give up on Steemit, who's going to make these guys the big bucks they make on here? My time will be better spent writing letters to the editor and to my elected representives. Clif High's webbots are right. Most cryptos are not going to be around for long. I bet Steemit is one of them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63