Steemit Tips for Success: It's All a Numbers Game! (Part 3 of 3)

in #steemit7 years ago

steemit-tips-three.jpg

In line with my prior Steemit advice of not operating at 100% capacity, new steem users must recognize off the bat that success is a numbers game. The more shots you take, the higher probability you have of scoring a hit. Taking fewer shots, or none at all, guarantees you failure.

Of course, those that put out considerable effort are initially frustrated with the numbers-game concept. It takes an exhausting amount of energy to put out great content consistently. So my advice is not to push yourself to the point of exhaustion; rather, you simply need to pace yourself.

My go-to rule? Don't drive yourself crazy!

What this means is that you need to be aware of your time investment towards your Steemit post. Unless under rare circumstances, I never spend more than an hour on any one steem post. Doing so is an incredibly risky venture when you look at ROI -- simply put, you're likely putting in too much time for the realistic reward of a few cents.

This was filmed prior to @thejohalfiles upvoting me and bailing me out, so to speak. Indeed, I owe a huge debt of gratitude to this wonderful Steemit whale!

As a new Steem user, you need to spend more of your time getting your message out to the Steemit network. Putting too much time in any one post will expend your energy for the other posts you need to be submitting today!

Sort:  

That's so helpful. I would also make it to our kind notice that SBD prices were going so down but right now the prices have gone up. Now is the time to sell SBDs for those who want money immediately should sell it right now.
Check my post for more: https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikita.adroit/a-big-boom-in-sbd-or-now-is-the-time-to-sell-or-201776t1423212z

You are right, it is more important to produce content than to try to be perfect all the time:)

You are right... keep going and those numbers will be going up. P.S. @thejohalfiles is awesome :)

Pretty much @thejohalfiles makes it worth my time to Steem; otherwise, I'd just use it for a trading platform! :)

Definitely true, volume is important now and later you can solidify your position with quality content

I have a lot of material that cost me a lot of effort. I produced it during some years, and it is presently in a blog of mine, that nobody read... So what I am doing is posting one article a day, or those 200 articles or so.

Should I post more than one? That, is the question.

My opinion is yes, you should post more than one per day. It increases your chances of visibility, especially by the whales. See my response to heymattsokol for more details...

There's a concept relating to this that I have been thinking about a lot. Basically: The more a user posts, the bigger the short term rewards are, but it may limit the ability to earn the huge rewards of becoming a top Steemian.

my theory is that the more posts per day a user makes, the lower the average value per post gets - and the lower the biggest wins become. So a user posting 3 times a day may be happy because they average $10 per post and can triple their earnings in the short term. But in the long term, does frequent posting diminish the ability to earn $100+ per post?

Whereas a user who posts once per day will earn less in the short term - but maybe they are more likely to win the "big prize."

I use Steem to pay some of my bills, so its a balance for me between the short term and long term mindset. Right now I'm sticking to 1-2 posts a day for myself.

Have you noticed any patterns or have any ideas about this?

To be honest, I've not noticed this pattern (not saying it's not happening, of course!). The reason I suggest pumping out content is because Steemit isn't organized very well. Your feed (and everyone else's) is essentially content diarrhea...as soon as you post, there's probably hundreds of others that will post within minutes.

To get around that, I genuinely believe you have to play a numbers game. I'm trying to aim for at least three or four posts a day. If one of them gets hit by a whale, it makes it worthwhile. But only posting one decreases my probability of visibility.

That's just my thoughts on the matter...

I like how you divided your post into 3 parts!!!

I also like to Resteem in 3s, just my 3cents being Frank :D

Easier to digest and more of a constant reminder over the course of the day. I like to use my blog as a "Craigslist" and input the link on my homepage for quick access to the promoted tags that I use, so when the "Whale" comes along looking for a variety of content...ALL my post are readily available by clicking on:

@cassidyandfranks
steemit.com/promoted/psa

Keep STEEM N ON,
Frank

Just remember that the "P" in PSA stands for Pixabay! Otherwise, you know who is going to come after you and only you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29