Meet OWL - the Reverse Image Search Bot [ A Basic Concept Idea with a Challenge - Can you develop it?]

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

img

Meet the "OWL" a far cousin from the Cheetah. The OWL is an idea and it's not an active Bot but it could and should be soon!

Regarding the name: I think "OWL" would be the perfect name of this because they have great eyesight (observation), they don't make almost any sound when flying (stealth) and they can catch prey easily with they claws and beak (bot report).


Intro

A few hours ago I was looking at some posts when I came across this post that had images that looked suspicious and I notice that other user had already pointed that out more than 10 hours ago. The post in question had been published around 12 hours and I was amazed how it had 52 upvotes and it was over 320$ at the time of my comment on that post. And "@blocktrades, @gavvet, @complexring" we're among the ones that upvoted this fake content.

I went and did a quick Reverse Image Search on the first two and got this to confirm my suspicion:

IMG

Then I went to share this at steemit.chat and in a few minutes the post was back to ZERO and that user reputation down the drain. It was at 52 and now currently has 6 Reputation with 11 Red Flags.

Possible solution?

Owl - The Reverse Image Search Bot - Would be a boot that would to the almost the same work as cheetah but related to images. Having a Cheetah and an Owl would bring a little bit of help regarding curation and finding posts that may have images where the users are claiming ownership or authorship. Today's example can happen and will happen a lot more if nothing is made.

I made that Reverse Image Search search using http://tineye.com/ that has some API's and stuff but there's also google's Reverse Image Search https://support.google.com/websearch/answer/1325808?hl=en

img

The Challenge

I'm not a programmer or developer, I don't know how to program this but maybe it won't be so hard to make one right? So much great minds here I bet one of you guys can try something in this field no?

Leave your opinion below, what do you think about this? Is it viable or not? Can it work or it would be to "easy" to handle?

.
.


Credits to owl image: http://www.audubon.org/

To me go HERE! and if you like this, support my blog by upvoting below. Thanks!


Sort:  

hi,

I listed this problem and your suggestions here in the comments;
https://steemit.com/steam-ideas/@luminousvisions/steam-ideas-voting-contest-which-is-the-best-idea-this-month-august-2016

together with many other #steem-ideas, so, people can vote for what they consider the best idea or the most urgent problem to be solved

once every month I will make a top-list of the previous month, in the hope to get some whale's attention and get the problems solved

cheers

Nice post you're building there, upvoted and following ;) cheers!

I hope you're not upset, I give you credit by linking to yours, right?

I just want to try the voting-in-comments-idea ... I was already working on it when I saw your post

Thank you for letting me know you were doing it. But I'm not ok with it. I put a lot of work into that post.

I went and found the content I included in it. It didn't fly out of somebody elses work and slap me in the face. I spent time and effort seeking it out.

I haven't flagged you. But I would warn you to be more careful, as there are lots of people who would if you had done this to them.

Look forward to seeing this get off the ground if possible

The current problem I ran into with my own anti-spam and anti-plagiarism bot is that there are limits to how many free queries you can send to search engines. With the number of new posts and comments that come in, it becomes a little expensive to run these bots if you want to be able to check all incoming content. Otherwise, you are limited to only checking a small number for free.

Everything helps. Steemit is being overrun by spammers and copypasta. They are working together in cartels. If you flag them, they dogpile your page and flag you.

Also, @blocktrades, @gavvet, @complexring should be ashamed for Upvoting that bull crap. They do it for the money. No other reason.

Pity there isn't money in policing spam.

Good idea, but what if people are useing the same pictures say from images.com or memes.com etc. But telling different stories, or maybe similar stories but in their own way. Like there may be 3 different people posting about how the new cost of Epi Pens have gone up 400 percnt since 2008! Now costing 649.99 dollars! So would they all be flagged and downvoted if they all use the same photo of a Epi Pen? And then tell almost the same story!? Love the idea and great post! I will follow you! Feel free to follow me if you like! Thanks 😉😲👍

If this project comes to fruition, maybe the bot could avoid websites that provide uncopyrighted photos? Sites such as freeimages.com pixabay.com stockfreeimages.com and pexels.com

Yes! Great idea i agree! 👍

┌(▀Ĺ̯ ▀-͠ )┐

Soooo true! 👍👌👊✌

I think the name OWL should be reserved for our future AI overlord.

Yes! I had one of my posts ripped off this week, whole post not just images. Steemit community flagged and sorted it out really quickly though. I like the idea, as you know all my images are created by me so having them copied is like stealing my art. It's just implementing it would be hard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68694.24
ETH 3284.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77