STEEMIT explained to my GRANDMA!!!!!!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I just watched @piedpiper's video, titled "why certain posts earn so much more than the others", and I had an idea.

As he said, Steemit is a new platform so far, and it's a matter of fact that contents which make it more 'accessible' to a larger variety of users are being rewarded much more than anyone expects.

So I thought...what if you want to explain how Steemit works to you grandma?

"Hi granny, I'd like to talk to you about a new cool thing, with which I'll make a lot of money!"

"How nice! I'm happy for you dear...and what's about, tell me."

"Well, it's a new platform...an internet site...you know right? A site in which people publish contents, like videos, articles, pictures and stuff, and they get money depending on...let's say how many upvotes they receive. And everything is based on cryptocurrency..."

"..............."

"Ehm, ok I restart...Remember when, as a child I used to play with stickers? Well, among me and my friends not every sticker was worth the same: some of them where pretty rare and the lucky owners could easily set up a high price to trade them... so, they had a pretty clear value for us, but most of the times we couldn't afford to 'pay' 50 stickers or more for getting just one. The only way to get them was to play against the 'richests'.

Since they owed a lot of stickers, that they may had some I was missing, but they weren't going to play with me (which I had way less than them) except if...I had some THEY were missing....Now imagine I'm playing kind of the same game with much more friends on internet. Actually anybody can play with us and the game is much more fun now.

We tell people stories through a website, writing down few line, posting a picture or a video, and who likes something gives a 'sticker' to the author. The people who are playing this game since the beginning have a lot of stickers, so they can afford to 'pay more' if they like a content. After, let's say, a couple of days, we collect the 'stickers' we received from the people who liked our post..."

"You're still playing with stickers, so far..."

"Not exactly granny, stickers are now dollars. But not the one you have in your pocket, they're called Steem Dollars."

"So, are you rich now?"

"Not yet but..."

"Then listen to your mother, go get a job instead!"

"But granny, I do have a job..."

"........"

Sort:  

Awesome and entertaining :D

Thanks! Any clue how to add a picture?

Facing the same problem. I am also bit new to steemit. Finding it difficult to add picture to a blog post.

You can just post the link in the body of your post and it will show up. But I recommend using a service created by one of the members here called steemimg.com. There's different formats and options for posting in markdown, html etc.

LOl granny always knows best!

I wanted to add a picture but when enter in the "edit" mode
it doesn't show me the tool panel...Anyone knows about?

Really funny! What a great way to explain it!

This is funny, like it.

Congratulations @bronsedi! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44