Three Tools for Steemit Success

in #steemit6 years ago

Let's be honest and admit this right away... Steemit is hard.

If you are new to the platform, you probably find yourself on the trending or hot page seeing all of the huge payouts and you think, "I can do that".

Very quickly though like many of us, you begin to realize that it isn't that easy to get your content seen for those high payouts. I have been on Steemit for three months now and although I am no expert, I want to share some of the tools I have used to increase my success.

I have three tools that I want to share with you today. Some of these you may have heard of before, some may be new to you, but all of them are things I use every day to enhance my time on Steemit.

Making just one of these tools part of your daily routine will go a long way towards improving your experience on Steemit.
Sit back, relax, and get ready to change the way that you use Steemit.

Tool #1

The first tool that I am going to discuss is Discord. If you aren't familiar with Discord, it is a chat application, but it is anything but basic.

Many groups that you read about and find on Steemit have their own Discord server with multiple channels inside of that server.

One of the greatest things you can do is create a Discord account, login (iPhone app, Android app, PC web-based), and find a server with people that are interested in the same thing(s) as you.

If you do a quick Google search for Steemit Discord, you will find many servers available to join.

Some of my favorites are "The Steem Engine", "Steemrepair", and "Qurator". Keep in mind although many of the servers out there have "Post Promotion" channels, not many people actually look at the posts that are dumped in there.

You are much better served to find a channel that requires you to upvote and comment on other peoples posts before you can submit any of your own. This helps you build relationships and see what others are doing to make great posts.

Tool #2

Okay, now that you have a Discord account, you are ready to sign up for the awesomeness that is Ginabot.

@Ginabot, is basically a notification service for your Steemit account. If you join the Minnow-Power Discord server you can then follow these directions to get yourself set up.

I use @Ginabot to be alerted via notifications in the Discord app on my phone whenever my posts receive upvotes, resteems, comments, or rewards.

With all of the content that is flooding Steemit every day, it is important to reply when people comment on your posts. Building relationships with other users through comments will go a long way towards increasing your views and upvotes.

Additionally, by knowing specifically who is interested in your posts, you can then follow them back, because you probably share similar interests or viewpoints. One of the best parts of my day is submitting a new post and then watching @Ginabot "blow up" my phone with all of the comments and upvotes that are coming in.

Tool #3

Finally, one of the worst possible things you can do on Steemit is to plagiarize. That one should seem obvious, but unfortunately, people do it every day.

Thankfully there are services, bots, and groups that keep a watch out for this sort of stuff. What if you are not copying and pasting text, but using photos from a site without proper sourcing? That is a common error a lot of new users make and can be easily fixed by using a site like Pixabay.

Pixabay is a repository of pictures and clipart you can use within your posts. Simply visit the site, do a search, and find the picture that you think you might want to use.

Look to the right of the picture you picked and you should see a section like this.

Even though it says "Free for commercial use" and "No attribution required", I still like to put some text at the bottom of my post that shows the url I got the image from. You can see my image sources at the bottom of this post.

Those are my three tools that I use every day when I am working on Steemit. I hope that you find at least on of them useful. As a bonus tip, another piece of advice I can give you is get familar with MarkDown or html if you are not. Being able to easily insert links and pull images around to make your formatting better goes a long way towards the readability of your posts.

Thanks for stopping in and good luck as you continue your journey through Steemit!

image source
image source
image source
image source
image source

Many of my posts have been featured in The STEEMEngine and Steemrepair, check them out:

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

You got a 24.80% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

Yes you highlighted some good tips to have success in steemit but nevertheless steemit is hard as you said.

Thank you for the comment.

It's hard to have a success in steemit but definitely achievable...

Yes it is. Thank you.

Some good info there @bozz, as you say Steemit is very hard when you start, I for one knew nobody so I had it double hard.

@qurator recently rejected my application, I will have to jump on their discord channel to find out why.

GinaBOT I have head about from @thedarkhorse, another thing I still haven't checked out yet.

Your third point is a good one. I do grab images from Pixabay but their repo isn't exactly huge and I do struggle finding suitable pictures sometimes to portray my thoughts.

I really didn't know anyone when I started either, so I hear you there. Also, don't feel bad, Qurator denied me the first time I applied too. Mine was just something I had to tweak with my future posts and I was good to go.

You are also right, there are many other image repositories available. I find Pixabay easy to use though sometimes lacking which is why I highlighted it. Better to properly source a limited catalog of images than pulling stuff from who knows where! Thanks for the comment!

Nothing comes easy on Steemit, I was rejected on @thesteemengine first time around so I'm getting quite hardened to it! I'm checking right now on discord regarding the @qurator fail. Its good on here once you get going though is'nt it?

Yes, I am still not seeing the returns I would hope for, but I am just plugging away trying to put out the best content I can!

In terms of $$ or appreciation?

It's all about the Benjamins right? :) Just kidding, my number of followers and views has been slowly increasing, so I am getting there!

Lol, it is and it isnt. I dont think we would be doing this if there was no $$ involved to the extent we do. Im getting a lot of satisfaction from it though as a creative outlet.

I agree. I like sharing what I can with others. Do I wish my posts could consistently pull in a little more in terms of upvotes... sure, but like I said I'm not stopping anytime soon if they don't. :)

excellent read i will be trying that gina bot out thanks for the tip
hope to see you in dischord at some point could do with a few pointers on links

For sure! The guide to setup Ginabot is pretty easy to follow. I am in those three servers I mentioned above pretty frequently. Even if I am just sitting back and passively watching the conversations take place.

excellent be sure to drop a line

Great advice Bozz and I knew how hard steemit was and even with a community it was still hard because the first group I was in was just terrible that was condescending and mean. Even asking questions could merit you a tongue lashing.

That is the whole idea of asking because you don't know!!

I only knew about Ginabot on my fourth month!! I don't know how I exsited before haahhaha

Yes! I have a huge crush on Gina. My wife doesn't even realize how jealous she should be. 😁. That's too bad about the groups. Some of them can be rough and pretty juvenile at times. Glad you have settled in where you are now!

i am interest in your first tool i can also join but i have no idea about this....How can i use it.

Once you have created your account you can join servers by finding an invite link to them. Try doing a Google search for Steemit Discord servers.

Ok sir i will...

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Great tools listed here! Discord and the Ginabot i already use. :D

Awesome! Glad to hear it!

we can grow in Steemit by utilizing various tools and applications... great post @bozz .

Yes, they can be very handy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62409.07
ETH 2444.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62