[STEEMITCHAT.COM] Dedicated STEEM Chat - Stage 1 Beta Experiment

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

http://steemitchat.com

While I am still heavily working on http://steemimg.com I wanted to jump in on my second project idea of a Steemit chat web / application. This first stage or experimental stage is very simplistic (VERY!)

Currently you choose a username and enter the “chat room” and start chatting (non html) and it clears itself every 15 minutes. Thats it! I told you it was simplistic.

So you can call this a Experiment.

The experiment should answer:

  • Do we want something like this for Steem?
  • What capabilities should it have?
  • Should it be connected to the BlockChain? Or off the Blockchain?

So what I really want to try and accomplish is a chat platform that could possible support: “Private Messaging” now this may be public private messages but that is another question. Upvoting and trending messages on the “Global Chat” with rewards. Feed of new trending posts and reactions. Down voting or flagging of chat messages to remove them from the global chat. Again all of these are just thoughts and really I wanted to open this up to a dialogue.

Real question: What should I be developing? Comment here or head to the chat , but remember its completely cleared every 15 minutes (If you think it should all stay forever well that is something I could do as well)

IMPORTANT: Usernames can be whatever the user wants. Therefor is a user claims to be Dan or say Myself it could be anyone and anything so just remember that. It is again just an experiment. For Now... ;)

UPDATE 7/18 1:48 PM
Great advice coming in thus far. Temp script User Count Added.
Also the chat is a great place to check on the status of Steemit.com if you are having trouble loading the site.

UPDATE 7/18 5:21 PM

The first of the capabilities I will be working on is:

  • User Accounts and a Solid Username Verification Process
  • Private Messaging (Which requires the one above to work perfectly)
  • All verified steemitchat users will be highlighted in Group Chat and around the site
  • Category Based Chat Rooms

I will be doing a Stage 2 Post with the full details soon! More or less when I am closer to a Beta we can all try.

UPDATE 7/19 11:44 AM - TEST
Verify Username Test 001
Steemitchat_COM_VeriFyUseRNaMe_G#SiUzOgXuTCZj8MR1YaxKmkL9QBelor0vbh4W(5N%$!)7E3J&
End

UPDATE 7/19 3:38 PM
One of the first steps I wanted to accomplish even before a true chat system is built: Is the ability to verify that users on steemitchat and steemit with the same username were actually the same (authentic) . I have created a method involving a verify key (example above) and check for it alongside your username and post URL, it only checks inside the users post and not comments.
! By doing it this way it also minimizing security risks because I am not actually connecting your accounts.

I am going to start up a new post after this ones goes down with the current status for Stage 2 Beta either tonight or tomorrow. A separate chat PM system is the next goal.

Stay Tuned

Sort:  

The link you have to your steem image site doesn't work. You have 3 E's. The link should be [http://www.steemimg.com] (http://www.steemimg.com). I've used the site. The site is a great benefit for the Steemit community. Definitely deserves my vote.

Oh My, Thanks for noticing! Has been fixed.

http://www.steemimg.com this site is not fixed. Recently, I tried several times to upload images but it's not working. You should fix it immediately otherwise all steemian lose his/her interest on it. Thank you

Ps.

The wait is over! I have updated SteemStream.com

SteemStream.com - A Realtime Visualisation of All Activity on Steemit

Major Update V2 Now Featuring

  • Desktop Notifications
  • Filter / Follow Users
  • Save settings so when you come back we still remember you

And more new features: https://steemit.com/steem/@roelandp/steemstream-com-v2-major-updates-desktop-notifications-in-depth-speed-analytics-growth-of-steemit-save-favorites-filter-users

Very Nice! I plan to get stage 2 updates in today / tonight as well

Hi, just a quick question (loving the work by the way): Is there a maximum word limit on the articles I can post? If not, how do I post longer articles? Thanks

Wow, you are going bananas!

Beware! It's not bananas!

I came back to this post about groundbreaking Steemit features to watch a bald guy blow bananas out of his nose. That is all.

I think this would be really good and informative.

Let's Steem!

Great start. I can see this going places. Maybe it could be connected to hash tags, so people can chat about #photography #music etc

Good idea. Exactly why wanted to start this dialogue so early in development - to get a good core of capabilities and ideas going.

Hi @blueorgy I have now seen your post. I have started today a similar project live here:https://steemit.com/steemit/@gabi-dumitriu/socialsteemit-com-dedicated-steemit-social-platform-private-messaging-chat-hashtags-online-steemers-connected
Maybe we should join forces and work together for the common goal: make steemit thrive. What do you say?

Private messaging too please! Something similar to https://bitmessage.org/

I appreciate the features you are trying in both projects. I'm just confused on the sustainability and scaleability.

In other words.. How you generate income so your creations can pay for themselves?

Or are you planning to figure out the business model later?

I hope to be able to sustain these projects completely with the help of the steemit community. I understand that both projects could end up getting quite large in scale and cost quite a bit of cash... but we can cross that bridge when we get to it. Also I do believe If I continue to update and maintain the projects at a high level my update posts will help support them.

I've sent you some Steem $Dollars...enough for a can of Red Bull to keep you alert.

Interesting. Would love to see this happen!

Yes! Congrats @blueorgy!

Yall need to get on this chat and join the cool kids club ;D

Hey Blue, thanks a lot man, been waiting for something like this, one thing i've noticed is that it's a bit difficult to copy paste for whatever reason atm.
Not hating just thought you might appreciate the heads up xD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48