I was hacked. I recovered my account quickly (Thank God). What should I do next?

in #steemit8 years ago

The Post that was altered: https://steemit.com/steemit/@blueorgy/to-upvote-yourself-or-not-to-upvote-yourself-when-why-and-if-its-a-good-idea

Now my biggest question is: Even after account recovery and password change (I thought it was hard before ... Now its even harder) do I have to worry and whats the next steps?!

I luckily saw the change to my post within minutes of it happening so jumped right one the recover account tool. Thank god that is there... But how did they get access to my account?

Any advice would be much much appreciated!

I will also take the advise and make sure to write a good solid article about it. For now I'm feeling a bit down.

Your Friend,
Blue

Sort:  

@blueorgy I have recovered your original post from the blockchain.

"To UPVOTE yourself or NOT TO UPVOTE yourself? When, Why, & If its a good idea.

So I'm not sure if most struggle with this dilemma or if it's just me but how often should you UPVOTE yourself?

Firstly when it comes to the initial posting, the platform we all know it's already checked, So you will never feel bad about that UPVOTE

But when a user becomes a Whale or a Dolphin - should they ever really use this UPVOTE?

The struggle really lies with the comments, I see some do it every time, sometimes, rarely, & never ... So? What say you STEEMIT?

Obviously & in reality, giving yourself an UPVOTE is a good idea, because you get more STEEM, and when it comes down to it most are here to make $. It's just what you do with that $ that will separate you! So do what i'm going to do and invest in back into STEEM, you can't become a Whale cashing out at every opportunity.

Oh and feel free to use the new "SHRUG, I GUESS, SURE... UPVOTE" gif on any number of trending topics - #marijuana #hiking #photography and of course #steemit. Yes I did just force this post into those categories , don't hate ;)

Blue"

Hi blue
We are back for more more more
UPVOTE BLUE 🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂

bullionstackers

Blog more quality content :)

This happened to me as well. The hacker posted a racist and hate comment on another persons blog. By the time I recovered my account, it was too late... the post was locked since it was over 24 hours and I couldn't edit it.

Since then, I've been constantly changing my password, basically daily. We have to remember this is still in beta, and we are prone to security risks.

Good advice. I will be changing my password daily now. Do not want this to happen again. Luckily I was able to change the post before it gets locked. Sorry to hear you were unable to.

I would go to the slack and try to talk to someone that is more security oriented ive seen a few people there getting advice the last few days. It doesnt sound like your account is secure.

That would be nice of you indeed. Also, could we get on slack to talk to them directly?

I luckily saw the change to my post within minutes of it happening so jumped right one the recover account tool. Thank god that is there... But how did they get access to my account?

Did you pick a secure password? At least 16 random characters + password manager is really the way to go these days.

I use a randomly generated password and I haven't been hacked yet (despite having a significant amount of STEEM POWER in my account). Come at me bro!

I also want to hear the answer to your questions, @blueorgy

Nailed it
Keep up the good work @blueorgy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.53
ETH 2392.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30