Give power to newbiessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

giphy.gif

Come on all new members in Steemit lets vote each other, help each other ........... unfortunately many people from the time they start making money forget that once they were newbies as well and dont care to upvote an interesting work,some old members complain for spam when you just ask them to follow you ........ but why? why is it bad to have a link from someone else blog in your comments? What bothers?

Lets devote an hour from our daily program to support new ideas, new efforts dont just look for ourselves

I dont know if i am wrong, leave your comments to discuss it if you want

Sort:  

Welcome. I'll try to address your question:

So, why do people call it spam when you ask them to follow you ?

Well, imagine you write a post on economics. Its taken you several hours, and you eagerly await the opinion of those whove read your post.

And then you get THESE:

"Great post. Follow for follow."
"Nice, follow me back"
"Funny! Pls follow"

  • First of all, it doesnt seem like any of these people have even read your post.

If you want to be taken seriously by an author, maybe even have them check out your stuff, you need to start a conversation.

And the only way to do that is to interact with the author. If you have similar content in your posts, dont just say so.
Begin comparing your opinions, arguing a point, or providing your own evidence for one of their points !

  • finally, when we other authors see such comments, we kind of imagine this was what went through your head:

"Oh.. (s)he seems popular... maybe if I hang out with him/her I'll be popular too?!?"

Following someone is supposed to indicate interest in the content they are sharing. Its not supposed to be the ridiculous Facebook Friend-em-all game some people seem to take it as !!!

After all, if you follow 100 people, a lot of work would be required to read and interact with their possibly daily posts... and thats without taking into account those with 4+ posts a day !!

Couldnt have said this any better...its not about the amount of followers...I see people here daily with almost 1000 followers and still below a dollar on their posts. As long as the content isnt appealing or genuine, whether its comments or posts, its not worth much

sorry but from what i have seen in Steemit these few days i am here many posts dont have genuine content, it is simply a copy past from internet ...... i have seen a member posting for a 100 different faculties, for philosophy, food safety, politics etc i doubt he is that genius ........ personally i am frustrated from this as they make big money by just copying

I know, the copypasteparade is all over...all we can do is report it to steemcleaners and downvote

how is this done? i would like to help this way

Go to steemit.chat and paste a link and the reason in the steemcleanerslinkdrop channel

True.

It's more to do with quality than quantity.

A lot of people throw around some statistics like "only 40% of your followers tend to upvote", but for my past 2-3 posts, I've only had 4-5 upvotes for 180 followers.

Either they didn't like it, or it got drowned in the flood of information because most of them decided to follow 100's of other user's, and now miss nearly every post from all of them.

Because who's going to spend 1 hour scrolling through their feed and upvoting the good stuff XS

I probably have to clean up in my following stream too at some point. there's a couple where I can't even remember why they're in there anymore :/

EDIT: OH, and of course with HF19 we're very limited in the number of full-power votes we can cast daily before they are worthless. So people are a bit more picky now.

Yes a lot has changed for the worse, my biggest concern is the massive influx of new users literally flooding the platform with nonsense or stole content. The amount of shit I see here before seeing something actually worth my time is insane. I feel there would be only 1 solution...filter out the low reputation posters. That could be done in two ways:
1 make an actual filter so you can determine from which reputation and up you would want to see content.
2 make a low rep pool for new users to swim around in and prove themselves to appointed moderators before they may enter the more quality pool of higher users. This would for sure eliminate the flood of trash thats coming in every day now. The low amount of votes they get doesnt stop them, they just make more to get something out of it, literally flooding with trash.

i agree with you with the objection that i see many upvotes in posts with shit photos, like "someone eating his food on vacation" "a baby with a sexy pose" etc so such a filter wont stop this it may stop someone that will have exceptional photos like B&W street ....... i think there is no way back anymore

Thats why it needs to be moderated. For the most parts its low rep users who post the most shit. They will remain stuck there, good users will easily grow out of it. Of course there will always be high rep users posting trash but it will be significantly less

How about some kind of bidbot that automatically downvotes stolen content, so that spammers remain out of view and receive less rewards? It wouldn't be perfect but it might be a way to automate the process in the short term without punishing all new users or requiring an army of trusted moderators to filter them up the platform.

Is it that easy to create such a bot? You see people copying from various sources and compine texts claiming it is genuine

I wouldn't know where to begin, but with all the techy types on here I'm sure someone would be able to.

steemit grows day by day and as you said there is a flood information anymore so even if 1% of your followers read your articles be happy ......... if you want quality then you must search for sth else ...... i.e. for photography there are specific sites where you can see exceptional work

Correct, I should be happy that at least some of them see my content.

Though I think it's a bit pessimistic to say we need to look elsewhere for quality content.

It might be true for now, given the extreme influx of new users, but I personally hope we figure out a way to kill off the massive influx of spam and abuse that we have right now.

I'll keep filtering out content, trying to find the hidden gems and otherwise following the posts of the few people whose content I like.

well my advice is you will get much more satisfaction if an expert appreciates your work rather than social media followers :-)

Yeah, that's true.

But then, I use steemit:

  • as a kind of way to express myself on things I find interesting, and share them with others.

  • as training wheels for writing, as simply writing in a notebook isn't really motivating enough for me to be able to do it relatively consistently.
    On steemit I can use the psychological "random-reward" factor to keep me motivated to post content, in the hopes of making content good enough that people will like it.

  • Also, the post rewards I get on Steemit are pretty much destined either for investment in other cryptocurrencies without needing to go through the hassle of converting fiat currency to Bitcoin, or for investment into the platform itself, as I believe it's one of the few blockchain technologies that actually has a defined vision other than "be a currency".

So I'm not exactly aiming for it to become a primary source of income. it's just kind of, well, fun to share all my experiences with the world !

you think Steemit has future? i worry that with all these copy-paste content when it grows there will be huge problems

scroll down and dont care for such comments my friend, Steemit is not a scientific community, personally i love reading good articles but in social media we must not have expectations beyond truth ...... personally even if i post for Clinical Studies (my main faculty now) i expect to see any comments as i dont post in a scientific site :-)

You are absolutely right Peter, I see this far too often. People who are posting meaningless stuff, asking everyone to follow them and then expect to get upvoted.
It doesn't work like this and it will never work like this.

I would like to stay true to the people I follow and spend time communicating with them, adding to the conversation on a regular basis, instead of spreading my butter too thin and only posting once on too many different articles.

Yep, that pretty much sums it up :)

It's why I always try to follow up on my comments. Make it a comment-chain / conversation rather than a single "yeah, that was good. Now bye".

Welcome to Steem Community @bllackwidow! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to Steem @bllackwidow I have upvoted and sent you a tip

thx a lot my friend

Plz follow me and upvote my post

Spot on article! At the end of the day it is about mutual support.... As the platform develops further everyone will establish their close circle of friends that will be able to help each other out... Take a facebook as a prime example, usually people like their friends posts and pics and are able to get tens of votes on their entries.... At the moment the platforms is more or less "strangers" liking each other content. However, in order for steemit to succeed long term the number of users have to grow and a great start would be to bring your friends onboard and those will be the ones that will stay loyal liking your content... Well, just a thought!

yeap that is a sad truth

welcome to Steemit Bllackwidow :) Glad to see more people like you - here joining Steemit! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me ...

thank you a lot buddy i followed back

Agree with you ! Support is very important, but I think that writing something like: "follow me please" is not necessary if you produce good content and have real interactions with people here on steemit. :)

maybe it is a matter of luck as well i.e. regarding photography i have seen but content as well but with high income

Luck is a part as well, but you can get "more luck" if you post and comment regularly

lets see my friend hope the best for you too

Thank you very much - looking forward to your articles ! :)

That's nice
Thanks for support
Pls follow me and upvote my post

i did my friend it is a promise from my side that even if one time i start making money i wont forget that once i was asking other to help me too

Hello @bllackwidow Great post!!

I'm @andyluy and I've been here for a a month, a can tell you that steemit is the most amazing thing I've ever seen at the internet so far. I'm happy seeing it grows every day!

I had some hard time on the firsts week, so I spent some time searching information to improve my experience with steemit, latter I've decided to make posts about those things in order to help the new ones to have a shortcut to get deeper on steemit.

here is some of my posts, I hope It mitght be helpful to you:

SteemBnB
Usefull steemit tool
The Randowhale
Getting videos from facebook
Minnowssupport!

Here is one post from @yoda1917 That i think Is useful to have a look too
just halt for a moment

I intend to keep posting useful info that I may be able to gather, and in a near future some give away. Feel invited to follow me and if you have any question about steemit you can ask me in any of my last posts, I'll try my best to help.

thank you for your info, well Randowhale seems useless now i will check the other

well minnowsupport is also useless, waste of time

so few people using minnowsupport that actually you get no help at all

Well, I've looked for help in minnow support several times I found some useful info, I believe thats depend on the time you ask for help, About randowhale right now is really not the best time to use it, but it is interesting to follow it and keep an eye to its update, they often change the rules which at least for a period of time makes it profitable again.

thank you for your feed back ! ^^

already upvoted u.

Welcome to this amazing community @bllackwidow
Great intro, I hope you will enjoy steemit. Wish you to have a great time on here. You can enjoy my posts too and follow me as well at @pastorlea. Thank you and have a good one

thank you pastorlea, upvoted and followed

I am sure you are doing great here, right?

in general people like my posts and photos but for sure i dont have many views :D it is quite difficult with tons of posts in an hour

you are right. You need to build your audience!

if you have any suggestions feel free to tell me and thank you for your time

you are most welcome. just read what steemit guidance propose but ask me whatever u don't understant

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65