Should wallet transfers be used to promote posts?

in #steemit8 years ago

I opened up Steemit today and found the following in my wallet:

User @vdoh sent me a measly 0.001 SBD asking for me to vote on her post. The post is a proposal to create a hot air balloon with the Steem logo on it, which will ostensibly be used to travel the world and promote this platform. Fine. Many such proposals have been funded, I've voted for some of them, many seem to be legitimate, whatever. That's fine. This one feels scammy, but I checked the user and at least she's been around a long time; I didn't see any "hey steemit, I wrote my name on a piece of paper"-style verification, but I've never done one of those myself so I can't really judge.

The reason I'm posting this is that I'd like to start a discussion on this method of post promotion. If you look at the comments on the above-referenced post, you'll see that @vdoh's use of the wallet has made several people very angry, and the post has received a pile of downvotes. But I'll be honest, I'm not sure I understand the anger. She used the memo field in the wallet in a clever, creative way that has never been prohibited or even disincentivized.

Why get angry?

But more importantly, what does the community think about using the wallet for post promotion? Valid? Spammy? Worthy of downvotes?

Sort:  

Seems a bit odd, if not innovative. If she wants to fish some followers by whoring herself out then... ok? You don't need to bite and you've been given a credit for the attention she wanted. Well, if you check out the profile and there's good stuff.... then follow away! Otherwise ignore and profit I say.

"Is it allowed this", "should it be allowed that"... kudos for treading the path and looking where it goes. Well, they obviously disincentivize it for some reason, lesson about free market learned.

I think if someone is sending the same message out to everyone then its Spam. If they were to leave something personal about a prior article that was relevant then it would be fine. But this can all be done with genuine comments.

It's not a major issue now, but if people see it working the Spam will only increase.

That's generally my approach to post-promotion; I just use the comments and make sure that I'm compensating people for their attention by writing something useful and relevant along with a link to my post.

The nice thing about the spam increasing is that at least it will mean more money in my wallet. :) If it becomes a problem, it will be easy enough to add a filter to the wallet that blocks the display of very small transactions.

In my opinion, who cares if it is a bit spammy? Someone is sending you money, and it is your choice to read/respond to it. Ignore it and just take the $ if you aren't interested unless the post is worthy of a downvote.

My mind says "yay," my sense of territoriality says "nay." Hopefully, mind will win. I remember the reaction I had to U2's "Songs of Innocence" appearing in my itunes and think: if that had been my wallet I would have felt...even more weirdly violated. However, this was just the first occassion of the wallet being used for post promotion. The emotional tide may change, especially as more creative and personal approaches pop up.

I would say that it is something that, as you mentioned, has never been prohibited or even dis incentivized, and hey, free money. Not a LOT of free money, but free money. shrug I don't know why anyone would be bothered by it, really. It's 2016. People want you to buy, upvote, or watch their stuff.

This method has already been used in a similar way, but the idea was another user gave thanks likewise those who voted for his posts. I think it is reasonable and does not deserve a downvote.

Well I do not like it much, but it is more advertisement than spam.

She or he sent it to tons of people. I suppose bot was used. It's kinda hard since we don't have messages here. I feel like it is unfair but legit. It's hard to get followers and people are trying hard when in need. When someone flags you (downvote), you are not just downvoted you lose reputation. For me, it's fair to promote your post on topics that are similar to your and could contribute to a discussion. Wallet transfers are maybe ok until we get messages, but there are followers fo reason.

If people complain when politicians take money from lobbyists, why should we allow anyone else to get away with it?

Why should we compare curators to politicians?

Lobbyists send politicians money to get them to vote in a way that's favourable to their particular interests. I don't think this is much different.

I think this topic is a bit double-edged, it's actually some kind of spam, but it shows that it's a free market. If you don't like it you should ignore it ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63549.78
ETH 3107.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88