Can Transferring your Posts from another site to Steemit be giving yourself a kick in the backside.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

You may be having the same thought process as we were until it was explained to us that copying the same content from your website site to other platforms such as Steemit is not a good idea. It may seen fabulous as you may be thinking it gets more eyeballs on your content and if you don't get any money on your website, then what will it hurt if you post to Steemit?

After all it gives you a change to make a few pennies, or even a few dollars if you're lucky. It also allows you to pick up some more Steem Power which puts more confidence into your writing abilities.
After all a few pennies is better than a kick in the backside right?

But could you be getting a few pennies and a kick in the backside also by copying and pasting from your Website to Steemit.

  


Picture Source 

We didn't think anything of posting to my website dragging the content over, as it was a easy place to host pictures on my Website than on a cloud thingy place for pictures and then still have to take the address from there, We thought it was easier to upload to my website and do the same thing of taking the picture address link for when your doing your own pictures, if your using pictures from the likes of Pixabay you can copy the image address from them and add it in your post with a link back to Pixabay with out having to down load pictures.

I saw a comment I think it was last week from @noganoo  about this but didn't quite understand as it was on someone else's post
.
Then I was chating with Bruce Bates from the Marketers Coop about a blog post he had done on marketing, (Who I annoy about marketing tips, good to have friends to annoy that are knowledgeable in Marketing, normally I ask after I've made the mistake)  I asked him if he was going to copy and paste that into Steemit, he replied Nooooo and I wont be copy and pasting any of my content from any of my blog posts.

He explained Why - that Google scans posts for the same content and if it finds two or more identical posts it will drop your SEO, and black list you.
I'm surer no one wants to get on the black list of Google.

He continued on and broke it down for me explaining the difference of content and sharing that content on social media, so you can write a post on only one platform but can share that on Facebook, Twitter, etc but lets say if instead of sharing that content through the share buttons you copied and pasted it, you would now have two identical content posts.
Which you shouldn't do two identical content posts.

He explained this is why he built into the Marketers Coop & ADSactly Hits OSMP Script (stands for Open Source Marketing Platform.)  an article exchange where people offer credits and a short description what should be included in the article in exchange for articles with different content from different people about the same subject put in different places over the internet. 


When using Steemit or any content platform you need to put out unique one time content so you will need to decide which platform (Website or Steemit) gets your unique information which is quite hard as We are in the same boat but I believe @moisesmcardona has the solution with a tool he built for websites being able to add their Steemit posts - here is the link to the post https://steemit.com/steemit/@moisesmcardona/integrate-your-steemit-posts-to-your-website-using-my-tool-steemit-posts-to-website-integrator-open-source#@moisesmcardona

So when we have fabulous idea's we need to get out that we don't get a kick in the backside also!

Also here is the post Bruce did on Marketing that started the knowledgeable share - http://unlimited-free-traffic.net/making-money-avoiding-scams/

Thanks for Stopping By have a Fabulous Day/Evening.

We also hang out on our Website  giving idea's of  living with caviar taste on a budget among product reviews, and our Cafe blog chat of general chit chat.  


Sort:  

Thanks for mentioning my post!

I'd like to share with all of you what I've been doing regarding to what is mentioned in this topic.

Basically, since I learned about Steemit and started using it, I saw it as a better blog tool to use rather than writing blog posts on my website, which has few visitors compared to Steemit. At first I began to copy/paste the blog posts from my website to Steemit as I was looking for a potential solution to embed the post on the site. Unfortunately, I didn't found any tool to accomplish it, so I decided to make a simple tool that I believe is easy to install both server-side and locally. This has been working for me since then, as I've been making my posts here on Steemit, then I run the tool, and the posts would show up in my website as a link, directing every visitor to the post and also driving traffic to Steemit while also looking good on the website itself and provides countless of customization options via HTML, Javascript and CSS.

At least for me, I think posts here on Steemit looks more professionally than it looks on my website ;)

No worries at all,
it's a great solution to a problem I think a lot of people in counter which platform to post.
I haven't tried to put it in my website just yet, will give it a try soon, but is there a way to choose tags or posts that you can bundle up into certain area's, like on Steemit you might do many different posts in different tags, but on your website you separate them out like marketing, tech, tools, recipes etc is there a way to separate the different subjects with your tool so that can go in to subjects or just one stream.

Basically my tool is just a parser for a profile page. It reads the HTML code to detect the post header, post summary, the image, and URL. Currently it doesn't read the tags but I can look into that and try to implement a system that work for that :)

oh no don't do that, as I might be causing you a headache don't want to do that.
It's awesome what you have done, was tying to figure out were to put the code on my website.

Well, you still gave me an idea to improve my tool :-)

Check out writercoderdreamer.com. I have my Steemit posts displaying live on my site. If you want i can help you set ut up for your site as well.

Your site looks amazing Trevor.
Nice to also meet another Kiwi on Steemit.
Thank you for the lovely offer, I'll give it a try, after seeing your site I think i can get a clear idea how it will look, It was more what was I going to write on Steemit and where to display that on my site.
Just over thinking and complicating things but if I get stuck I'll for surer take you up on your offer.
Thank once again :)

It seems there are a few kiwis coming on board now.
Maybe soon we'll have enough for a meetup :-)

My blog section on my site uses STEEMjs to dynamically pull my blog posts into my site. So I only have to post it once and it just automagically turns up.

You can format it to look however you want.

I'm not a designer, so not so good at telling you how to make it look good, but I can certainly help with the integration process if you want to go down that road.

That would be cool to have a meetup one day!

Well I'm going to take you up on your offer, I'm stuck on the first step already or the 2nd step I don't know which, I can't create something that's meant to be created it's not showing that step in the php thingy.

No worries.

If you are on Skype we can do it over that. You can show me your screen and I can walk you through it.

Email me at: [email protected].

I'm tied up all tomorrow as it is my wife's birthday, and it is going to be HUGE!

I'm also out Monday night with rescue training, so Tuesday is probably the first night I will have free.

Will that work for you?

Hi Trevor,
Sorry it wouldn't let me reply under your post,
I'll send a email.
Tuesday is Fabulous.
Happy Birthday to your Wife enjoy the day have a good one!

That's interesting. I didn't know that at all about the blacklist thing. Fortunately I don't have anywhere to cross post from but I have saw lots of other posts that are.

I don't think may people do, not surer if it's that well know, I was lucky to find out as the person had 20 years marketing experience so knows a lot of the in's and out's of Marketing online.
I see a lot of people post it's not good to do but don't explain why, this must be why unless there's other reasons.

thanks for the information, I didn't know that

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.91 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 11 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31