My first month on Steemit and 3 months into crpytocurrency

in #steemit7 years ago

So as of today i will of been posting on Steemit for 27 days and what an experience its been.
WIN_20170929_12_54_05_Pro.jpg
Had some great chats with some of the community and learned a ton of stuff along the way. Probably most importantly that just because we have different opinions doesn't mean we cant get along.

Steemit has given me a place to post my opinions, thoughts and any-ol random crap i can think of with the possibility to make money and meet people i never would of met before from all around the globe.
The content can be a little annoying to sift through with so many people posting such random stuff but once you do a little digging there are some real gems to be found.

I started my Steemit journey with no expectations either positive or negative as i consider myself a realist and i have been pleasantly surprised for the most part.

I only began researching and investing in crypto around 3 months ago. I did buy some bitcoin a few years back but i spent that on silk road and man oh man i wish i held onto it, but you know what they say. Better late than never, so here i am on the crypto band wagon investing and researching with a lot of my spare time.
I even started mining recently though the rewards so far are minimal with my given choice of coins.
img40.jpg
My first purchase and coin i did a lot of research on was Ripple (xrp). I noticed it had a large market cap but was still fairly cheap even though it had risen from 0.006 cents to 0.15 cents when i bought in. It hasn't performed astonishingly but i also consider ripple to be a long term hold and i haven't put heaps into it because i find it goes against what crypto strives to be. Never-the-less i consider it to be a coin with some real world use cases and that's very important when it comes to investing.

My second and most obvious choice was Bitcoin, though i have used most of my BTC to trade into other cryptos i plan on buying and holding at least 5-10 BTC for long term gains. After all Bitcoin is the original and the best and if some of the price predictions are true 5 BTC should me plenty enough to buy a house in Australia in the next 10 years :)
crypto.jpg
Ethereum is something i began mining and investing in about a month ago. It has solid use cases is backed by some large companies and has performed fairly steadily over the last year or so. As a side note it is also moving to POF soon which will be a plus.

Golem is another crypto i like the look of. Again it has real world use cases and i know there are similiar coins but i havent looked into them enough to say anything about them. As Warren Buffet says "never invest in something you don't understand" so for now my chips are stacked in Golem when it comes to that particular use case.

Litecoin. Ah the silver to Bitcoins gold. I am yet to actually purchase any LTC which is probably a mistake on my part but i also use my funds for investment in things other than crypto and i just haven't had any spare laying around for it yet. But over the months ive watched Litecoin perform well and consistently rise.

Last but not least is Steem! i actually was waiting to throw a few hundred $$$ into Steem until i had had a chance to gauge the platform myself but now that I've done so im definitely keen to invest more into it. It recently spiked a little price wise so im thinking of waiting a week or 2 to buy in. Buying Steem would also go against one of my philosophy's of "never buy something you can earn" but since buying Steem can actually be quite the tool in earning Steem i think i may have to make an exception in this case.

I don't know what the future of crypto or Steem is but im hoping over the next few years as it gains more attention and traction the prices will skyrocket. I'm disappointed in myself for not getting involved much earlier but regret has never helped anyone move forward and make progress. The past is the past and the only thing you shouuld use the past for is learning from your own mistakes.

If you guys enjoy any of my writing or posts please upvote follow and even resteem me.
I'm starting to fit into my groove here on Steemit and im hoping one day in the not too distant future to be a whale. Maybe not a big blue whale but at least one of those cute little dwarf Sperm whales.
Once i get there my aim is to help others up the Steemit chain and pass along the generosity ive received from everyone here.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing not sure about ripple not for me as banks control a large portion of it... Just my opinion...

Good stuff mate. I am only a couple of months into crypto and Steemit myself, and have seen significant price movements in the crypto market during that time.

Having looked at the history of a few cryptos and the gains made I thought now is as good a time as any - the point being to just get in the market. It will be interesting to see how things have played out come this time next year!

Feel free to check out my crypto profile here

I just started in cryptocurrency too about 1 month ago and it was amazing so far. Everyday I'm learning new things to improve my wealth in the future. Thanks for sharing your experience here @bigdizzle91. I hope you had a great time and I hope you can visit me too @tiffanyrej. I post photos about flowers and nature.

i like nature and animals so ive followed you back :P thanks

I have been into this awhile since like just before gox, dohhh!
Been a painful ride considering could have some real bank by now..
However NOT complaining.. only getting better from here. So grateful!
Great to be a the steem party, with the coolest cats on the net, when finally the original dream of the net is beginning to be realised.

ripple is the devils crypto , did the ouija board tell you to buy them ??

haha nah i like ripple. it might not be be the most ethical of cryptos but then again im investing for profit not just for a change in the world.
It has a good dev team real world use case and implementation in some good places

I don't like it (Ripple) either :) excellent development and application, but you should dump it and use the money for something sweeter :) use the money to buy TenX.....

i dont know much about Tenx but ill have a look tonight :P thanks for the tip

I too just recently started in crypto investing. I am in the red but thinking long term so not that worried. I went through the coins you mentioned and find that I favor Bitcoin and Steem the most. I don't have a lot of resources to invest in crypto so I use what I have into what I think are good long term.

Bitcoin is the standard. I have not seen one exchange that don't compare value of btc with other alt coins.
Steem is such a creative concept. It took some time until people accepted Facebook as daily norm. What crypto is to general public will only only gain popularity once they realize Steemit is pretty much Facebook but with real life insentives.

thats my thoughts too. Steemit is just a better facebook where hopefully most of the crappy stuff gets weeded out when people like you and me only vote for good content.

I have only a little invested at the moment but since i quit smoking ive found ive had alot more liquid wealth to invest. As long as youre not putting yourself in financial strife through investing youll be alright :)

I actually burned a lot through Wall Street investments and it's time to move on. At the very least crypto market look to raise a ton in market cap. I am hoping to ride this wave. Hoping not too late though.

damn that sucks, i never really invested in much until the stat of this year but its addictive :P
good luck to you

"Bitcoin is the standard" - yes, but fading fast. NEO beat Bitcoin out of the blocks in the recent up-tick, even though potentially triggered by Red Pulse. Not saying NEO's it, but maybe a changing of the guard? From pure currency to utility token.

Loading...

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

Nice to meet you, @bigdizzle91! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83