Transition Away From Centralised, Thieving Oligarchic Social Media Platforms

in #steemit6 years ago

Wassup Steemers,

I have been using facebook since I was 15 and admittedly am still using it to this day, sadly. It's one of those things you get into because all your friends are there and you feel as though you miss out if you're the one not using it. Put simply there weren't many better alternatives. That was until I got snagged by this awesome blockchain, hook, line and sinker. I see so many positives on this platform and although still very much in its youth and finding its feet, it already provides solutions to the totalitarian, thieving and tyrannical social media platforms of the past. I'm looking at you Zuckerberg, you prick.
As you can quite clearly tell I despise Facebook, and have been looking for the first opportunity to jump ship.

download-1.jpg

What am I going to do about it?

As a consumer I'm going to do the only thing I know how. Make the switch away from facebook and show my support for steem as much as I can. But I don't just want to stop there, I want to educate as many people as physically possible. I want to influence members in my family, my friends and eventually others I don't even know yet within my town. I have the view that there aren't people who like cryptocurrencies and those that don't. Rather there are just people who have a passion for this technology and those that don't understand it yet. With the exception of course, those people who are financially incentivised for this technology to fail. But I don't give a flying fuck about those greedy individuals and I hope this technology leaves them scrambling in its wake. Because there are 4 billion people in this world that are un-banked and have no access to finance that see this technology as a life-line. So instead of lining the pockets of already wealthy bankers and CEO's with my fiat, I'd rather support an initiative that serves the people who need it most.

I have studied all aspects of distributed ledger technology over the past 18months. For some of you this isn't a long time and your right I still have a lot to learn. But let me tell you, I'm deep down the rabbit hole and the more I learn the more enthusiastic and bullish I become.
The people close to me see me as some kind of obsessed crypto guru, but I know that's not the case, however, I feel the need to share my passion for this space.
I can't be the only one to have this thought, 'If only others knew what I did about cryptocurrencies they would all be equally as bullish regardless of the current price'.

So today I made the first step to reach out to people and see who is interested to learn more about this space, and probably for some introduce them to this technology for the first time.

I made a facebook post for all my 328 friends to see, which I will post here for people to look at:

A few people close to me know my passion for cryptocurrencies. What most people don't know is my passion actually lies in the fundamental technology behind it that turns the gears. The implications of this so called, 'distributed ledger technology' goes far beyond commerce and will cause a revolution greater than one can fathom right now. Im not going to lecture people on facebook. But if your reading this and your even the slightest bit interested in learning more I welcome you to send me a DM or join me on discord to have a chat.
Im going to leave you with a Henry Ford quote that is as relevant now as ever, "It is well enough that people of the nation do not understand our banking and monetary system, for if they did, I believe there would be a revolution before tomorrow morning."

I want to extend that offer to all my friends here on steemit, feel free to reach out to me so we can chat crypto!

44032454_10157898381768452_8740157253635538944_n.jpg
Shoutout to my friend Adam Turner for making this awesome cartoon of me! Hope he sees this one day 😎

Sort:  

Re: "I want to influence members in my family, my friends and eventually others I don't even know yet within my town."

Sooo true! There is just something sop energizing about seeing people flipping their perceptions from "blockchains are weird" to "we should really fix things today".

@grampo thanks for reading my post bro!
Yea I totally feel you, the satisfaction that comes with really explaining blockchain so others actually get it is like no other.

Back in 2015 I still used to look at fakebook once a week on Fridays for 15 mins but then I burned out...

https://heavy.com/tech/2018/10/facebook-alternatives/

Thanks for sharing @frot. I had no Idea about some of those sites. Minds sounds pretty mean, have you tried it? Very interested 🤔

Yeah - I do set up a accounts on all the other sites But I never end up using them - just Steemit is enough for me!

And our website www.frot.co.nz

Congratulations @bengiles! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello, after highlighting you in one of my #introduceyourself curation posts, I have seen through a recent review post that you have maintained your engagement and activity in the STEEM ecosystem. You are truly on the right path to growing and succeeding here as we grow together. For this reason, I have sponsored you in the @steembasicincome initiative. For more details related to how it works and how you can benefit, please refer to one of their posts.

@newageinv Thanks so much! I started doing some reading into @steembasicincome not long ago and really like the initiative. Your kindness is very much appreciated and I am going to re-pay you by also sponsoring you on @steembasicincome. I'll be following you closely, my friend 😉

Congratulations @bengiles! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50