Curation Update for #introduceyourself Posts

in #busy6 years ago

apple-coffee-couch-6666.jpeg

Source

I have been waiting a couple of weeks to review the performance and engagement of the new users I have been curating on a weekly basis. The thought it to see if the curation and information provided helps the onboarding process for new users in addition to providing them with motivation to remain active around the ecosystem. As I recently bought some #STEEM to try some news things like sponsor users with some @steembasicincome, I thought I could try to incentivize those that have remained active after my curation with a sponsorship.

I got online early today to review every user I have curated from weeks 1 thru 7. I excluded last week’s curation posts as I thought a week is too soon to judge activity. If this works the way I hope, I will get those on my next review post. I also excluded some accounts that are really second accounts of other users or are highly staked which my efforts would not motivate given the low voting power. I then went to each of their blogs and reviewed the engagement they have had since their #introduceyourself post via new posts and comments. I also added the sum of their post rewards as this could potentially have some correlation to whether they stay active or not.

Screen Shot 2018-10-19 at 6.09.03 PM.png

As I started going from oldest to newest, I immediately became frustrated to see that virtually all of those I curated in the first three weeks of the initiative have not remained active. I found it very surprising to see this despite a handful of them earning attractive rewards for their posts early on. I never recalled making more than $0.50 in my first three months on STEEM. However, as I continued down the list I was able to find a couple of users whom have remained active in posting. I found that there really was no correlation between low rewards and low engagement as some whom had attractive rewards have also been inactive. However, I did see a few that despite low rewarding posts, have remained active.

In general, I think that the churn seen here in these selected accounts represents the general churn we see overall on STEEM which surprised me a bit. It surprised me because these users were manually curated by me after reviewing dozens of other #introduceyourself posts. I would have thought that those that posted better quality content with an objective in sight or with content to share would remain more engaged than others. However, I would still like to continue this process and motivate new users as the ecosystem continues to evolve and provide new ways to support new users being onboarded. The addition of account creation and resource credits brings not only challenges for new users but also opportunities within communities to support their growth to increase retention. In an effort to try and motivate these active users, I will sponsor the following accounts for a @steembasicincome unit: @bengiles, @kady, @nolalumo, and @maria99.

SBI Transfer 10-19-18.png

I am still learning about the @steembasicincome initiative but I think it is a great project to spread motivation across the ecosystem small steps at a time. For those interested in reading more about the objective of the project, please go to this post. I think that communities like these could be the key to promoting growth and engagement throughout the ecosystem as the teaming up of many minnows and red fish can surely make a difference in the future! Let me know if you think this is a good way to motivate newer users as I continue to seek ways I can try to use the Steem Power I have to drive long term value to the ecosystem. I look forward to your thoughts and feedback in the comments below!

STEEM 2018-04-21 at 11.21.16 AM.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link:
https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=newageinv

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

Giving a SBI is great as it incentivizes one to post more of often and if others do not, you get more weight as well. At least that is what I read when you sponsored me which I truly appreciate! Great Job!

Posted using Partiko iOS

@newageinv, go and place your daily vote for Steem on netcoins! http://contest.gonetcoins.com/

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 93 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.910 which ranks you at #11045 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 90 places in the last three days (old rank 11135).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #161.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85