SteemIQ Reveals @dantheman Writes At Hillary Clinton's Level (Minus The E-mail Controversy)

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

The SteemIQ.com Program By @nphacker Analyzes Your Writing
The program @nphacker has created uses Flesch Kincaid Readabililty Metrics to tell users what grade level they are writing at.

Image223a274.jpg

I decided to check out @dantheman's writing level. I know that the Flesch Kincaid Readabililty Metrics do not give a 100% accurate result, but do give a general idea of how a writer writes. It's interesting to see @stellabelle's score because in #secret-writer she is using another users words verbatim and they may not be as efficient in the English language as she is.

That being said, I saw that after typing in @dantheman's name and getting the results showed me that according to the system, he writes at the level of Hillary Clinton.

I couldn't help but chuckle and wonder if he has secret access to our passwords and is trying to sell them via e-mail as we speak speak (Clearly a joke for you flag happy moderators).

I was relieved that the test did not put him at Donald Trump level or I may have needed to start looking for a new social media site. However I have seen a few trolls who will remain nameless that may have the readability/intelligence Trump.

I really wanted to thank @nphacker for making a program like this and it is fun to monitor your writing level. I wonder if a separate metric can be used for the comments you make as well.

Image2071bd6.jpg
Image2412c7f.jpg

Hope other people can weigh in on their thoughts and I wonder if some sort of metric can be added to Steemwhales.com by @heimindanger to sort out users by their readability score and comments score.

Again a great thanks to @nphacker and hopefully this brought an app to light that you may not have known about already

Sort:  

Thanks for spreading the word about SteemIQ! I am looking forward to making it better by adding graphs and using machine learning, be on the lookout :)
Never settle for less
~ Np

Keep me posted! I love what you have done

@dan (same person) is at 119 iq. Difference in content I guess.

Checking myself @alexgr shows 123.7... I have to lower it down ahahaha

Thanks for sharing.

Interesting question here: does a high Flesch Kincaid grade correlate with high payout posts? In my case, actually my lowest Flesch Kincade grade (5.4) resulted in my highest payout post: https://steemit.com/steem/@ntomaino/silicon-valley-steem-meetup

I would also like to investigate this. Sometimes a very basic idea is incredibly valuable and there is no need to write at a professional level, but I would like to see if those who write at a certain level generate more money than those who do not. While I wouldn't change my style, I do think it would be interesting to see the levels of the highest paid posts if that is possible for someone to create.

That's very very interesting. Obviously there can be a couple of other factors at play, but "explain it to me as if I am a 3 year old" generally wins over the "getting lost in the maze of 25 syllable words". Plus there is the whole conversation-like more alive feel to that lower grade writing.

Cool, that's an awesome tool, I definitely have to check this out.

Great tool! You're pretty smart @bendjmiller. I scored just below @dantheman with writing style at school grade 8.5 but my humor is closer to 6th grade! Lol

Thanks! I wish we could see every post we did because sometimes we write for different audiences, but the average should give a general idea of where we fall. I love humor and the metric doesn't say how successful you are based on writing level, but it would be fun to see who writes at the highest level and whether those who write at a higher level or those writing more layman's terms do better. I love all different sorts of articles so I think people should not necessarily try to raise their score if they are happy writing at the level they are at already.

Haha! I think only Florida will allow that at the moment. Once they move to blockchain voting there will be no more hanging chads :)

That's an awesome tool! I checked out my SteemIQ and discovered that I have a score of 128. That's pretty good, right?

It all depends on your target audience. Some people enjoy philosophical and highly detailed posts and others may enjoy a simple joke.

Sometimes I attempt to write a more professional eloquent piece, and sometimes I want something that can engage everyone, isn't too wordy, and doesn't use more flowery prose than necessary.

You can try out a lot of styles to find your unique voice and evolve yourself further.

Steemiq is a pretty interesting app that I don't feel has enough love yet.

Yeah, I've already written different types of posts and I saw the difference in the grade level when I checked out my SteemIQ. The two posts that were intended to be more light-hearted and told a story about a recent trip that I took were over two grade-levels lower than my other posts. It's interesting to actually see that difference through this program. My goal was accomplished. (Now I just need to figure out how more people can read it, because I thought it was a really good story!)

Yes hope you do not get discouraged. If you continue to write stories to the best of your ability and make yourself valuable to others in the comment section, you will get noticed. It's the people who write two or three great stories with little success that turn and blame steemit or others of being some sort of scam that wind up hurting themselves.

If I can be of help (I'm rather small myself right now), feel free to add me on steemit chat and let me know when you post new stories. Hope you are enjoying steemit so far. It is a pretty awesome community!

In terms of posting content you generally want to be lower as its easier to understand.

Hahahaha. Thank you for the laugh. Please tag your work accordingly, though. :)

You are welcome! I wasn't exactly sure what tags to use. I probably could have just done funny as the main, but it also has useful information to all so I kind of flip flopped between my decision, but I know #steemit is quite swamped so I've been trying to use it less

Look like very good site to check you're ability . Gonna check myself .

Excited to see that! Nailed it!! I aim for 5th-8th grade reading level (much harder than writing at higher levels), and clocked in at 6th. Yeah, baby!

Good job! I wonder if a certain range/level is most beneficial. Not every metric can be considered though, because you may intentionally misspell a word or use strange formatting, but I really like the idea and feel other analysis could be done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60315.45
ETH 2606.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53