STEEMIT 101: What's a Minnow, Dolphin, Whale, etc. Anyways? By the Numbers: Resources for New Steemit Family.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

How do we know if we're a Minnow, Dolphin, Orca or a Whale?

Here's the charts, numbers, resources and breakdown, to help the newer user here.


@elyaque is a great Steemian who designed all these badges and a whole lot more, stop by his page, tell him I said hi!!


I am not a fan of "Class Distinction" as I have written in my posts...... and in real life.

However, the terms are used so much here, you need to understand them.

Your "status" is DIRECTLY related to how many VESTS you have:

Plankton = up to 1 MVESTS aka Newbie/User on the charts below
Minnow = >1 to 10 MVESTS aka SuperUser " " "
Dolphin = >10 to 100 MVESTS aka Hero " " "
Orca = >100 to 1,000 MVESTS aka SuperHero " "
Whale = >1,000 MVESTS aka Legend " "



Steem Power = Vests.

Easiest way to honestly remember / equate some of this.


The easiest way to remember this might be to think of MVests (million-vests) as Steem Power - they are directly correlated if you look at the 2 sets of numbers.

-- Further, at the end of this post, I dug up a post from over a year ago, just after launch from founder @ned on it also.

Things here have changed a LOT since the original founders' posts and whitepapers, so be advised! I do address some of that here for you.


SteemD.com: A Valuable Daily Blockchain Tool For You.

(When it is working)


You can check your Vests on Steemd.com, just type Steemd.com/@YourUserName & the Vests will show up on the page there for you, currently sitting on the top-right of the page ( layout recently changed / features added but that is still in the same spot)


-- Today:

-- As you can see above my name in the top left -- as usual, parts of SteemD.com are down for maintenance.......


At TOW this, to help you out so you know what you are looking at there - my Vests are at 41.1 Million, (MVests) and I have 19,916 Steem Power. ( Aug. 8th, 2017 -- yesterday was my 1-year Birthday / Anniversay on Steemit )

Here is my big 1-year Steemiversary Post!!

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/today-s-my-1-year-birthday-on-steemit-reflections-pictures-crypto-liberty-pizza-or-my-17-276th-post-on-steemit-and-879th-blog


Nearly every one of my many posts the first 8 mths here were 100% Steem Powered and invested right back into the platform, but the last few months I have liquidated half my post rewards (the liquid portion) and cashed that out -- I needed some money to invest strategically into some things and it has really paid off.

That's the only reason I do not have about ~ 35,000 SP now - in case you are looking at numbers, or wondering some things or timelines.

Another way to say things is I joined here on August 7th, 2016 and it took me til April 3rd 2017 (8 mths + 4 days) to hit 11, 177 SP


And things have really changed here a few times, in the last 12 months believe me.

--


In April, about 4 mths ago.... related to this, I wrote on the topic also to help people. My numbers then:

At TOW this, to help you out so you know what you are looking at there - my Vests are at 23.23 Million, and I have 11,177.290 Steem Power. (April 3, 2017)


Vests are something like a STEEM Power Satoshi unit, of sorts, if you know a bit about Crypto and the decimal places.

For example, this link will take you to mine to have a look, if you like. Then just delete my name off the end of the url and type in yours --- make sure you leave the "@" symbol in there.

https://steemd.com/@barrydutton



Further to sort of back this up, but just different "names" used instead of water/fishy based ones (LOL) -- you can see LIVE updated info on this, daily active users/accounts and the Steemit breakdown of

Membership Levels and Activity:

--

https://steemd.com/distribution

(Screenshot was current as of - 4/3/2017 12:30 pm EST when SteemD.com was running properly and I last wrote about these topics)

I had to use old screenshots saved that I made --- since SteemD.com was down again on the "distribution" links sadly -- that has been a problem for months, sorry about that!!!


Vests/Power Down Periods Changed:


Steemit founder @ned wrote this 16 months ago, on 4/20/2016, very early on Steemit just after it was launched:

ned [4/20/16] [1:12 PM]

VESTS WILL BE HEREBY REFERRED TO AS STEEM POWER (SP) and moving from Steem to Steem Power will be referred to as “powering up”; moving from Steem Power to Steem referred to as “powering down.” For example, one can power down their Steem over a period of two years,

(( NOTE/EDIT-- this period is now 13 weeks as of platform changes late 2016 -- Barry ))

yet one can power up their Steem instantly. Powering up your Steem has several benefits, including automatic and recurring Steem rewards. Additionally, Steem Power gives you voting power, which allows you to earn by casting votes on Steem, and because of this, Steem Power gives you the ability to earn more Steem Power and Steem Dollars. (edited)

in this post here:

https://steemit.com/steem/@ned/long-live-vests-


Many Steemit Stats sites!!


-- Here's something from another Steem Stats site to show you SOME level of the distribution anyways, because SteemD.com is down:

--

--

https://steemdata.com/stats

https://steemdata.com/charts




Thanks for reading, have a nice day.






If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/today-s-my-1-year-birthday-on-steemit-reflections-pictures-crypto-liberty-pizza-or-my-17-276th-post-on-steemit-and-879th-blog

https://steemit.com/funny/@barrydutton/the-perfect-pause-a-fun-filled-book-life-series-or-e-1-or-did-you-know-we-have-a-cool-dude-here-who-is-a-legit-published-author

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/video-streamed-an-hour-ago-bitcoin-usd3400-can-it-go-to-usd10k-1-bitcoin-is-worth-3x-an-ounce-of-gold-now-world-crypto-network

https://steemit.com/steemitcampfire/@barrydutton/steemit-weekend-camp-fire-series-weekend-14-we-are-steemit-family-come-visit-around-the-fire-with-your-family-every-weekend

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/does-this-scene-with-me-look-like-this-was-in-the-billy-madison-movie-with-adam-sandler-it-s-because-it-was-i-live-4-blocks-away

https://steemit.com/funny/@barrydutton/the-perfect-pause-a-fun-filled-book-life-series-or-e-1-or-did-you-know-we-have-a-cool-dude-here-who-is-a-legit-published-author

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/bitcoin-hardfork-day-edition-aug-6th-2017-or-trading-did-you-hodl-or-sodl-lol-or-e-12-or-what-was-your-week-in-crypto-like-or

Images most days unless noted or obviously mine / stated otherwise: Gif's - via Giphy.com , Funny or Die.com / Pixabay.

If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.
Sort:  

lets get steem to $10 already.

I'm all for that. :)

That would be a truly epic day.

Oh man.......

Thanks for the info! Very helpful.. hopefully I won't be a minnow for too much longer

#MinnowLife

LOL.

Been likely 2 or 3 mths since I rocked that #

(:

Now i understand better the meaning of Mvest. Thanks for sharing all these useful references, this will certainly help a lot to understand how the steemit platform grade work.

Thanks for commenting today!

No problem!! Please consider resteeming to help more people!!

If you want a quick laugh, check my page out today LOL

First of all @barrydutton Happy One Year Anniversary on STEEMIT. Now I want to Thank you for this posting because it helps someone like me to understand how I can benefit even more as I Power Up. Everyone has a Great Future ahead if they choose to participate on Steemit consistently. Learn all you can and you will be Rewarded !!

Steem ON!!

Now I have a better understanding of the classification. Thanks!

No problem!! Please consider resteeming to help more people!!

If you want a quick laugh, check my page out today LOL

That cleared up many questions I had about mvests, ranking and SP. Thanks so much!

Consider resteeming to help more people ---- and you are welcome!!

Do you find re-steeming to be beneficial ? I try to find good posts to help others. Thanks. 🐓🐓

I know it works and helps spread good content.

That is why it is in the bottom of all my posts to remind people.

I also know when I look thru my feeds and see RS's --- I often have missed the post first go round and thankful someone took the time to RS it, and I can read something good.

If you have RS my content and I did not see it --- then I thank you!!!!

Ok done! Thanks for coming by. 🐓🐓

I love your screen name here, right from day 1 --- I don't think I ever told you lol

Thank you for the compliment. The chickens do all of the hard work! Haha🐓🐓

BOK BOK

lol

Great information for me to save and reassess when and if I have any money here.

Thanks for all the useful references.

No problem!! Please consider resteeming to help more people!!

If you want a quick laugh, check my page out today LOL

Thanks for all the useful references.

No problem!! Please consider resteeming to help more people!!

If you want a quick laugh, check my page out today LOL

Thanks this cleared up a few things for me, but I still have very little $ influence on posts I upvote, despite having about 27 SP. I still mostly only raise a post by 1 cent which is the same as when i had 1.5 SP, could you explain why this is? Thanks in advance if you can help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22