State of the STEEM: Bittrex has put your Steem / SBD wallets offline again! If you are trading, Be Aware! Check exchanges always before a Transfer!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Both SBD and STEEM currency wallets are down again - for maintenance it says. This has been happening an awful lot.

I have heard some of it has to do with currencies being up and down a lot -- creating too much volatility for pricing so an exchange simply takes it offline.

Either way, it definitely is a pain having them offline so much.

Look at using @blocktrades exchange connected here to our wallets, I will say again.


We need to help each other here.

Updates like this are just part of the way we can do that -- and more.


My Goals:

--

Encourage each other. Kindness.

Community Building. Welcoming all Steemians with no Class Distinction.

Friendship. Relationship Building.

We can do more, if we help one another.

--

Let's set ourselves apart from other social media sites in as many ways as possible!

Courtesy of PixaBay where images are freeeee to use!!! (:

Please Resteem to let others know, even if this does not affect you personally!

I don't like people missing out on trading opportunities, it happens far too often



Thanks for reading, have a nice day.






If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/video-world-crypto-network-daily-stream-from-today-12-mins-or-news-of-the-day-with-thomas-and-the-wcn-crew

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/solar-eclipse-livestreaming-link-right-here-reliable-link

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/meme-of-the-day-fud-or-no-fud-yoda-tells-you-how-it-is-and-an-unrelated-pizza-photo-with-me

https://steemit.com/photography/@barrydutton/stopped-outside-the-sail-outdoors-store-to-grab-these-photos-i-ve-always-liked-the-pop-of-the-orange-day-lily-and-canadian-geese

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/well-i-was-out-for-a-rip-recently-with-bob-the-statist-in-town-i-spotted-this-owl-in-the-car-next-to-us-lol-i-am-not-kidding

Most stock Images / Gif's day to day- usually via Giphy.com , Funny or Die.com, Imgur.com, PixaBay unless otherwise noted, with thanks.

If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.


Sort:  

Thanks for the heads up.

No problem, these updates are important, many people do not check the status before a transfer.

Good idea to keep some STEEM on Bittrex to sell at high prices when wallets go offline and provide liquidity.

you are so right

almost every other day now.

Hey!

yes, I actually just shared my tweet here as I usually do when I post things..... and did take the time today to tweet it to BITTREX -- hoping they will offer an explanation - there or here, ---- since they have an account here.

It is getting excessive like I say again here.......

I tried to do my first transfer today and it didn't work

Shoot, that is no way to have your first transfer go, I am sorry for that JOL.

Didn't work out maybe when it's back up .

Wallets STEEM and SBD on POLONIEX for a very long time offline, so the price fell by almost 80%, when it is all correct and you can continue to trade normally STEEM-cryptocurrency??? :((

great post barrydutton.
For new stream members like me, this post is required
thanks for shear

Thanks for commenting on the article today.

So do you really think Steemit is not a waste of time?
Please see my post in this regard at
https://steemit.com/steemit/@csmit/steemitwaste-of-time-some-key-questions-you-need-to-be-honest-about

BarryDutton Barry Dutton tweeted @ 21 Aug 2017 - 19:38 UTC

#Steemit #STEEM $STEEM $SBD update: Wallets offline AGAIN via @BittrexExchange - Happening a lot! #CryptoCurrency

steemit.com/steemit/@barry… / https://t.co/P3Ap1sB0uW

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thats why i had put all my steem from bittrex in here. Apart from that had some buy limits placed, no idea whether had triggered! Need to take a look now, thanks for the head up and hopefully the steem wallet gets up and running!

Hi,

Bittrex is the top exchange for STEEM and SDB so processes a lot of incoming and outgoing transactions.

To clarify this claim from your article:
"I have heard some of it has to do with currencies being up and down a lot -- creating too much volatility for pricing so an exchange simply takes it offline"

Wallet maintenance of STEEM is NOT related to price or the actual market activity.

The STEEM wallet is one of the largest and CPU/RAM intensive with 1 to 3 second block time. It often hangs and crashes under heavy load and requires a restart and reindex which can take multiple hours to complete.

Thanks,
Julian (c/o Bittrex)

I had seen discussions last week with a couple of whales on here, --- one of which actually runs an exchange - and that was the essence of what I had mused about in my article.

Thanks for another POV on this. It is appreciated.

Is there any chance my email from last week I sent might be dealt with anytime - I know you are busy and delays -- can we talk offline here / or privately?

I am having some issues with my account. I will not post the ticket here -- but it was sent 8/14 in the evening, (EST)

TYIA and again for today.

Try Bittrex Slack (slack.bittrex.com) #customer-support channel

Will try to get to this tomorrow, my last blog of the day is up and need to get offline.

To be fair, which I am -- I did reply and thank Bittrex on my twitter post and directed people here for it.

You may be the person reading those, I am not sure LOL.

TY again and good night my friend, I followed you here earlier today.

Thanks for this answer that clarifies the issue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52