The curation answer

in #steemit7 years ago

Curationanswer1C.png

Its no secret that many old and new users are frustrated with the way curation on Steemit works. Instead of curating many users end up forcing out two to four posts a day to make sure they get their share of the daily mining rewards. I found the user @eric-boucher has come up with a genius solution for dealing with curation rewards. In the above post you can see that he has voted on the article he left a comment on. Keep in mind his comment is thoughtful and shows that he has taken a look at the content of the post.

Curationanswer2C.png

Curation rewards are typically very low so in order to be rewarded for the important task of content curation this user has upvoted his own comment to give it visibility and reward the efforts for curation and commenting. I think this is a good way to go about curating content since it gives the content creator a reward and also rewards the curator more for making a related comment and taking the time to curate. We need more manual content curation and I think this is a great way to reward yourself for taking on this thankless low reward but extremely important job.

What do you think of this solution for content curation?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

P.S.
If you have not voted for a witness please consider voting for azfix as a proxy this will take care of all the witness voting for you at https://steemit.com/~witnesses since who we vote for matters. I do not run a witness but I know how important they are to the community. I find witnesses that do the most for the community and are most reliable so setting me as proxy will do the same for you.

azfixproxyC.png

proxzzzC.gif

Sort:  

I always do this. It's like, why on earth wouldn't you? I've been making "faucet posts" every day or so where I can upvote myself and get a few cents. I also invite people to upvote me or comment and upvote themselves, then I upvote them, too. If we all did this, we could more evenly distribute the incoming steem rewards.

Posting info about faucets might be a very hard way to gain any traction on Steemit and I imagine it might be considered spam by some. I suggest you look at taking part in some of the photo challenges to increase your chances of earning vastly more. If posting faucet info is what you love keep doing it, but just be aware it might be a long hard road ahead.

Maybe I wasn't clear, I'm basically making Steem Faucet posts, where people can comment and get upvotes from me worth like, $.03. It's not for everyone, but some people appreciate it. I actually started doing it so I could claim the bonus from my own account, and figured I'd let other people get in on it, too.

Also, I used to post photos all the time. That's how I made most of the steem I've had, but it gets sort of hard to keep that up all the time.

I personally don't think giving people a sure-fire place to get some steem is spam, especially when there are these gambling and contest posts. I guess it depends on what you want the platform to be.

Interesting concept, glad its working out for you

Well it has good and bad sides.... bad side is... looks kinda lame/stupid... but the good side is what you mentioned in the post... I tend to look at the goods sides in life!

To me it solves the problem of needing more content curators and the rewards associated with that task. I think the lame/stupid thing might just be views reinforced by a small minority on steemit. I say do what works for you and what rewards you and others most for your efforts. It cant be all give so a 50/50 solution or some form of that makes sense to me.

I know many people see self-voting on comments as a bad thing. I'm not sure though, it has its purposes, like the one you mention. It also helps bringing your own, thoughtful post up to the top, so you don't get overshadowed by comment spammers and such. But then, it would all depend on the amount of SP you have how well you're being seen by others, which can also be seen as unfair. It is a difficult subject!

Edit: I think the most important thing is, if you upvote your own comment on someone's post, you should atleast upvote the original post aswell.

I agree that upvoting the original post is key and frankly proper etiquette since you are using their space to gain more visibility and have your voice heard about the post subject. I am just trying to do what is both beneficial for the community and me so its more of a win/win. I think the main thing is to do what works and keeps you going on Steemit. Once the community feature gets implemented in steemit I think we will see tons of groups trying different ideas depending on how that group wants to do things. I think we can all exist together as long as everyone is looking out for the community as well as themselves.

I agree. I really am curious about how communities will work, very exciting!

I can't see the pic cuz they're not loading at the moment, but isn't there a negative view of self voting comments already? And if everyone did it, the ability to get the advantage of comment visibility diminishes?

You are correct some people have a negative view towards self voting your own comments and visibility would diminish depending on your Steem power related to others. The other really big problem is not enough people curating new users content because of the low rewards and low visibility. Eric's method incentives this much needed service on Steemit. Not everyone should or wants to be a content creator and curation is just as important on Steemit. From what I can tell Eric has employed this method for a lengthy time and its pretty much accepted by the community. You can see some of his comments on the top content creators posts here on Steemit. The thing to keep in mind is that he votes for the post along with his comment in addition to leaving comments that show he is engaged.

Thx, went back cuz I missed your upvote, and resteemed to help get the word out :)

Thanks for the resteem

Interesting idea. When I up my followers and overall voters I be sure to try this. New follower. I'll check out the rest of your stuff.

I think its a great idea and if you want to see how well it works for Eric check out his page and the comment section.

Sadly that is one answer. However, I rather give my votes to folks that comment on my posts, and also to creators that publish content I enjoy. I make so many comments in a day, if I did that very much it would drastically affect the number of comment/posts I could then reward.

I really dont have the answer, but it seems like we need to somehow incentivize readers to join. IOW we seem to have too much content per reader.

Yep tons of new stuff every day and many times its worthless but automatically curated so it gets $$ because people just auto pilot their curation. We for sure need more quality content and people to curate and interact with that content. Unfortunately curation and commenting is not valued

Self upvoting looks kinda sleazy, but you can't argue with the results.

If you look at Eric's example, he seems to pull it off nicely while rewarding the community and himself.

I think we should have more manual curation, and I think post authors should curate thoughtful comments they receive.

Many times, comments are very generic and, even if entered by hand, tend to be generic such as "nice post" or "great composition". I don't think these generic comments have great value, yet I see people rewarding themselves for making them (or worse using an alt account to reward themselves so they look like they were upvoted by someone else).

It is very difficult as a content creator to build a following of people who have time and willingness to read and engage with posts. For this reason I think tools like curation trails can be helpful. What I dislike about the trails is, while authors are financially rewarded, low engagement leads to mediocre quality.

All things considered, the advice I give people is read what you love, upvote and comment on it. Write what you love and the people you read will come upvote and comment on your work. It's a hard road, but I think it will ultimately be rewarded.

I know exactly what you are talking about with the "nice post" comments and they can get pretty annoying. I think you give some great advice about reading what you love and commenting on it. I tend to vote and comment on things I like and topics that are hot and I want to have my voice heard with. I really do like the way eric-boucher handles content curation and this can very much apply to any topic you like reading about.

I haven't seen eric's approach. I will have to look more into that.

Be selectively correct, i mean case by case..

Exactly, that is why this type of manual curation works so well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73