I Now Have Over 500 Followers – But This Post Isn’t About ThatsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

steemit_500_wowf99b0.jpg

I recently hit another milestone on Steemit, but I don’t want to write a seemingly obligatory post about it.

I could write about the journey that got me where I am today. I just don’t think that would be very productive. There are a lot of other topics for me to write about and I’d like to return to posting more of my “meat and potatoes” content. I really don’t want to make this post about me.

You know – I could tell you about my first couple of weeks when I often struggled to break $0.25 on my posts.

I could tell you about the grand vision that I had when I first joined – that my goals for this platform were quite ambitious and that I hoped to involve lots of other users in my project.

I could tell you about my attempts to reach out to the community to truly use this platform for an entrepreneurial pursuit that would be quite marketable – and that I even contacted the heads of Steemit, Inc. themselves and offered to do mostly all of the leg-work for them. I could tell you that I didn’t receive a response.

I could tell you about a great true story that I wrote about torching one of my rental cars in Costa Rica. I could tell you that the conclusion was quite dramatic...and expensive for me. I could tell you that not many people even saw this story because I didn’t have many followers at the time.

I could tell you about my in-depth six-part original series about the world of coffee, complete with original photos. I could even tell you that the final post was the series’ largest earner.

I could tell you about my largest earning post to date – one that was voted on by @dantheman himself.

I could tell you that I came very close to leaving Steemit altogether, but decided to stick with it – and not because of the money. I could tell you that I did it for you, the other users. I could tell you about my goal to try to make this a great platform where people can be honest, open, and interactive. I could even tell you about my attempt to be one of the top earners and curators on the platform...and that I’m mostly succeeding.

However, I don’t want to write about any of that. I just want to ask you, my followers...

Of all the users on Steemit, why have you chosen to follow me? And what do you like best about my content?

On a serious note, I really do appreciate the fact that so many people have decided to follow me since August. Five hundred users may not seem like a lot, but for someone who never really used social media for gathering followers, it is quite an achievement. Even if a lot of these followers have now moved on and no longer use Steemit, the fact that 500 people actually clicked the “follow” button at some point over the last four months is remarkable to me and I thank all of you for it.

My promise to you is this: If I reach 1000 followers, I won’t write a post about that milestone either.

Also worth noting...

I passed the 10,000 SP milestone this week.
I have achieved a reputation over 67 this week.
I became a top-20 curator on the 30-day chart at steemwhales.com this week.

I was even used as a tag by another user...in a post that had nothing to do with me or even mentioned me! That’s how you know you’ve made it!


my_own_tag13485f.jpg


If you want to see some of your personal stats and rankings, go to Steemwhales.com and take a look. You can check my stats here.


Follow me: @ats-david

Sort:  

I started following you the very first week you joined. We joined at the same time. And we swore we'd help each other out. And that meant a lot. It was a scary big ocean we were swimming in. But you have held to your word. You curate and comment on me all the time. And that's huge. I honestly felt like I had a few little friends on here. And that was part of the fun. But the MAIN reason I followed you is fourfold:

  1. You wrote really well. I liked your content. You were smart. I like smart people.
  2. You commented and curated a lot and buoyed up a lot of the minnows and made the steem world a better place.
  3. I REMEMBER when you were thinking about quitting! I was thinking about it at the same time. I was kind of disillusioned about the whole thing, sock puppets and all. But I stuck with it and took a new approach. And so did you. And I thought that was cool.
  4. You've been straightforward in everything you do, you call it like it is, but you're decent to everyone on here.

I have enjoyed watching you grow up into the dolphin you are. Littlescribe is so proud. I'm on my way too, but I'm on a slower boat since I'm only available to dedicate a couple hours a week at present. But the precious few hours I do spend are hours very well spent. I get a lot out of being on here, not just the fabulous rewards.

So steem on steemians! And next time witness voting comes around, vote for this guy. He knows what's up.

I have no idea why I started following you or when, but I really love how you engage and comment on tons of posts on the site. There are a lot of content creators that don't do that. Personally I am quite disappointed when I receive zero comments on a post, so thanks for being a very active user.

Zero comments can be crushing. I know I feel pretty defeated when I only get one or two. If I was consistently getting zero, I probably would have left a long time ago. Engagement can often be more rewarding than votes. Not that the votes are worthless, but knowing that you've connected with someone is what's important. This is social media, after all.

I appreciate your graphic skills, so thank you for that. I may even hire you in the future if I can get my personal project off the ground.

Hire me? Wow that would be great!
FYI I accept SBD and Steem ;)

Of all the users on Steemit, why have you chosen to follow me? And what do you like best about my content?

I started following you because of your STEEM price analysis posts. I think they are really good.

What? It wasn't because of my wit and humor? I'm insulted!

But really, thanks for the support. I'll try to make my analyses better, since it looks like quite a few people actually like them.

Thanks for everything you do. You've quickly become my favorite steemian, since I started following your curation trail and reading your price analyses. Keep up the good work, your brand's getting out there!

How is the trail working out for you? I know it can be harder to earn rewards as the size of it grows. But if you weren't curating much before, it's likely a net gain anyway.

You pretty much nailed it. I stopped actively curating a while back and your trail has been a godsend!

I've been thinking about how your growing SP value might affect my rewards, being only a fraction of your power, but so far it's been solid.

I worked with Jesta on an update to the display of curation rewards on steemdb (e.g. https://steemdb.com/@ats-david/curation), which has helped me to normalize your returns against others (as opposed to absolute values only). You're getting about a ~0.1% return on your SP daily, and following your trail, I'm getting ~0.03%, which ain't bad for passive income.

Thanks for everything, and congrats on 500. Here's to 1k!

That's an impressive looking growth chart. I hope all of my trail followers are seeing increases like that. I broke into the top-5 curation score on the steemwhales.com 7-day chart last night. I hope I can maintain that level of curation. I know it's not easy.

Why did I follow you?

You wrote a post that I was interested in, so I looked at how long you had been here, how many posts you actually authored in a week, and how much SP you saved up. I decided on these facts that you were an active, participating, competent, and supportive member of the Steemit community. I am not interested in some of your posts, but that doesn't matter, you support the community so I support you.

That's awesome and I really appreciate it!

I am not interested in some of your posts, but that doesn't matter, you support the community so I support you.

I think we could use a lot more of this mentality. Thank you for having a mature perspective.

It's your price analysis. Even though I don't believe in technical analysis. it does keep me market aware. keep it up and you will always have my vote.

I don't get too much into the more "technical" metrics. I don't encourage day-trading and I try to write for the average reader that doesn't know much about trading and TA. Essentially, I just try to focus on what can be reasonably expected based on support-resistance, trading volume, and the trend lines. All that other stuff is mostly for traders looking for a quick buck.

Anyway - I appreciate that you find value in my posts. Thank you.

Really good work :-)

Thanks. I'm just getting started!

Keep up the good work. I often have similar feelings about steemit.

Some of the things that happen here can be discouraging. Just remember that a lot can change - and we're the ones who can change it.

Congratulations. Great achievement. Stephen

You are very welcome. Stephen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82