ART TUTORIAL: portrait of Jerry Banfield (with video)

in #steemit7 years ago

I want to say thank you to @jerrybanfield because of his youtube video that showed me opportunities of Steemit. At this point, I’m more active on Golos (Russian-speaking Steemit clon) but Steemit was the first :) And I’m planning to publish more tutorials here soon. So stay tuned!



Line sketch is a very important stage because at this point we are making a map for our future work with proportions. A human face is very complex and only precise measures and right relations between components can provide resemblance in a portrait of the specific person.


Local values of a skin, hair, t-shirt, background must be differentiated and simplified at this stage. I started with large value relations and was continuing with smaller ones on Jerry’s skin.


Even more details on skin shading with shadows and lights. I’ve added some contrast on the left side of a background to show the light source placement.


The triangle of eyes-nose-lips is our focal point in 3/4 portrait, so we need to make these components with good detailing.


When all values are set, we have complex detailing on eyes-nose-lips and ear, the texture of the skin is nice and smooth - we can finish the greyscale stage of shading.


I used a new layer with the "overlay" mode to make coloring over the greyscale drawing. Colors also can add some values in some part if it’s needed.


A new layer in "overlay" mode was added to give even more shades of colors to a drawing.


Mixer brush tool can be useful to make skin softer in some sharp parts. At the end, I’ve added a new layer of watercolor texture in “soft light” mode.

Full-size resolution here.

Sort:  

This was a great tutorial and I love the effect on the skin tone. Good luck on your Russian version of Steemit. I wish I spoke Russian. :)

It looks fabulous :)

Hello! I'm an artist ^^ would you mind lending me some of your Steem Power while you're away? I really want to grow my art blog and upvote more artists ^^
Thank you for reading!

Congratulations @art-study-pro! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @art-study-pro! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31