The Power of Helping New Users

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

mrely.gif

This might be how a lot of new users start off..

@casperbd

One of my closest friends @casperbd created his Steemit account a few days ago. Today we both finally had the time to have a chat with him about how Steemit works, how to create a post, how engaging is the way forward etc. He took all the advices and together, with my tips and his content he created his first two posts. You can have a look at how the posts turned out here;

New to Steemit - Greetings From Seoul - Home of Gangnam Style and Solo Travelling Through Vietnam - Pictures Recommendations #1dufour succes.png

Because @casperbd created original content that adds value to the Steemit community by for example recommending places to visit in Vietnam, the posts had great success. @acidyo and @wackou showed great support to this new user by upvoting both posts. Thank you for helping my friend getting started.

help me.gif

"Help, I need somebody!"

This Beattles tune might be what all new users are thinking when they first join. Before new users drown in the huge ocean of posts, they need guidance and help. I am no way an expert, but even my help is actually worth something. I found out today. If we just take our time and help them just a little bit, they will be forever grateful. I helped @casperbd by picking the right topics for his posts, and just telling him about the markdown guide. Just these two tips/informations helped him tremendously.

Help others if you want to help yourself

We all want the STEEM price to moon. We all want to get rewarded by a 1.000 dollars. We all want to be able to post pictures of our cat and earn just enough money to buy another cat, so we can double the reward next time. If we help others gain success, we automatically help the community which we are all a part of. Comment on post that use the wrong tags, and teach them. Comment on posts that are good and show your support. Like this, we all help Steemit to grow.

Don't underestimate the power of helping new users.

Sort:  

Hej arsenal49, dejligt med en hjælpende hånd fra en af de mere erfarne steemere!

Jeg har lige stiftet bekendskab med Casper gennem dit link og valgt at følge hans videre eventyr her på steemit.

Har du andre ideer til at hjælpe en nybegynder som mig i gang må du endelig sige til! Jeg er lige begydt for knap en uges tid siden og jeg er helt oppe at køre over steemit.

Hav en god aften!
ronni

Hej Ronni. Velkommen! De vigtigste råd jeg kan give er:

  1. Lad vær med at droppe det bare fordi dine mange første post kun tjener dig 0.05 dollars. Vi er stadig i begyndelse af dette medie, og dit mål bør derfor kun være at få opbygget en god mængde følgere.
  2. Lav en post minimum 2-3 gange om ugen. Jeg prøver at lave 5-6.
  3. Lad vær med at skrive om ting der er "trending", men skriv om ting der interesserer dig eller hjælper steemit.
  4. Engage with the community! !!! Yders vigtigt. Altid svar på dine replies, find interessant post og kommenter på dem.
  5. Hvis du virkelig tager dig sammen så har du 500 følgere på to måneder, måske 1,5 måneder.
  6. Hold ud ;)

Tusind tak for de gode råd arsenal49!
Jeg forsøger følge dine råd så godt jeg kan samt at afsætte så meget tid til dette medie som overhovedet muligt. Så kan du jo se hvad der står ud for mine følgere om to måneder og se om det bar frugt :)
Tak for det
ronni

Very well written article my friend! I appreciate the advice and tips very much!

You're very welcome. I am glad you liked it. We all need to help, if we want this to grow.

I very much agree! I'd love for you to Check the custom art I created to promote STEEMit if you get a chance! It's very much in the similar thread as this post! :)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jangaladesigns/steemit-themed-custom-artwork-this-one-is-dedicated-to-all-of-you-steemians

Nice job @arsenal49! You got your friend @casperbd off to a nice start on Steemit. I find my self answering people's questions more and more, like I'm an oldhand on this platform. Day number 26 of active posting. :-)

That's nice! It's how we all grow! Feel free to resteem my friend :)

It is a good point of view. It is all about creating. Not everyone will get there. It is a hardcore market nowadays

Everyone will get there in their own way. Patience and consistency. :)

That is a nice and positive point of view! :D

Thank you! :)

interesting article @arsenal49:)

Thank you. I'm glad you liked it!

you are welcome:)

Feel free to resteem if you want to. I can see you resteem a lot. I try to do the same. It's so helpful for the user we are resteeming. Have a great day!

ok @arsenal49 :) resteem!!

I appreciate it! Thanks! :)

you are welcome @arsenal 49:)

I strongly agree. Help the little fish like us. You help us, you are helped by others too.

Yes, karma is also excisting on steemit :)

I have followed you, if you can follow @berkat

Cool post @arsenal49 . I saw your up vote on my post this morning "200 to 300 followers in 4 days" and I have come to up vote this really cool post. You are now being followed by @anothervoice . Even though it looks like your doing just fine without me. I will be seeing you around. Thanks!

Cool that you check your upvotes. Thank you for everything and I am doing even better with you on board! :)

Thanks @arsenal49 that is a very nice thing to say. I can see why you are doing well. I am sure you would understand that it is just the way I was raised. Some one does something for you, you say thank you. I know you get it just by reading your words "Help others if you want to help yourself. It's been work but it is paying off In a bunch of great follower. So glad you are with us. I don't think I like the way this comment is shaping up but I'm tired so I am not going to change it. Again Thanks!

Haha! I aprreciate you took your time and replied. We were once all very new users with no followers, so we have to help eachother!

Everyone says just be yourself but that only work if you are good self. My taking the time to respond has gotten me 320 great followers like yourself in less than a month.
Sometimes it is a lot of work but I can shorten those responses once I and those who follow me get to know each other a little better. For now sometimes it get a little long and the back and fourth goes on a little to long and I have to just say I will see you around the neighborhood. You have been great taking so much time with me so... I will see you around the neighborhood.

I think we are doing it the right way, because the succes we've had in followers is amazing! 320 followers is amazing! Congrats! :)

Did I not say - "I will see you around the neighborhood"? Did I not explain what that meant? ha ha. Really you've been great. I look forward to the next time we meet. So to end this I assume you say thank you and you can assume I said you are welcome.

Great initiative! Happy to welcome another Scandinavian to steemit. :)

We are taking over the community!!!

This is the best way for Steemit to achieve manhattan addoption, to get more friends and family involved that can create good content. I am also fairly new and still trying to learn the ins and our of Steem.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $31.51 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 10 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26