Solo Travelling Through Vietnam - Pictures and Recommendations #1

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170205_154940.jpg

Me on top of Fansipan, Vietnam's tallest mountain, the mountains behind me are actually in China

I've never travelled alone or visited Asia before, so landing in Hanoi was quite a culture shock! I spent my first days in Hanoi before heading to Sapa and then to Ha Long Bay.

Hanoi a hectic city, with way too many scooters and motorcycles. Looking past that, you find the old part of the city which is very charming and you can easily find amazing and cheap streetfood, and if you're into beers don't miss the 10.000 VND beers (0.44 cent USD) That's right, beers for less than 50 cent! What's not to love?!

I won't say too much about Sapa and Ha Long Bay, I'll let the photos speak for itself... And in the meantime you can match your schedule with cheapest flight tickets, because you definitely wanna go!

IMG_20170204_110749.jpg
Photo from Sapa, absolutely stunning and must visit!

IMG_20170206_104853_002.jpg
Me in front a beautiful waterfall in the valley of Sapa

IMG_20170207_141719.jpg
Ha Long Bay - not without a reason everyone speaks about this place, you cannot do Vietnam without doing Ha Long Bay!

16603120_10211377608410453_5490576971498193169.jpg
Having a good time with the locals, Vietnamese people are extremely friendly in my opinion

IMG_20170201_202428.jpg
Temple at night at the Hoan Kiem Lake

IMG_20170211_124907.jpg
Egg beer in Hanoi, not as bad as it sounds!

IMG_20170211_122705.jpg
Egg coffee at the same place in Hanoi, also not as bad as you might think

Thanks for reading!

Follow, upvote and resteem @casperbd

Sort:  

Great Pictures, thanks for you amazing Post 👍

Traveling and interacting with people around the globe I believe is truly a life changing experience...so many different cultures and traditions I don't think one life is enough to experience all of it...nice clicks...how was the egg beer? :D

Very true indeed! I can only recommend travelling alone, because you're only alone if you want to and being out of your comfort zone like that is a good experience.
The egg beer was not as bad as you would expect, imagine a beer containing a lot of sugar hehe

Agreed...they should advertise it as a protein beer ;)

Hehe, I consider it very important post workout, with or without the egg ;-)

Looks great man! I've been to Vietnam myself a few years ago. Great place. I can certainly recommend going to Hoi An as well. If you like partying, that's the place to be. I went to a party that had a 2,50 euro entrance fee and for that you could drink unlimited Barcadi cola and what not. Not going to elaborate how that night ended... :P

Have fun! :)

Oh and they have great (ice) coffee with cream. Almost reason enough to go back for a second time.

Thanks man, I was in Hoi An also! I wanna make a post about that in a few days!
Haha exactly, it's amazing how far you can get with very little money.
What happens in Vietnam stays in Vietnam ;-)

Congratulations @casperbd! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Talking about cultural shock; egg... Coffee? Haha:) traveling alone is one of the smartest thing you could decide to do if you ask me. It makes you interact more with strangers, make own decisions and learn about yourself, both the good with the bad. I chose to travel alone by bike(basically what I'm blogging about). so I would love to hear more stories from your travel and see where it ends up! By the way for how long are you gonna travel?

Haha, yes egg coffee and egg beer goes under cultural shock for sure. Not as bad as I expected, basically imagine the two beverages with way too much sugar :-)

I couldn't agree more, travelling alone is something I will recommend everyone.
Sounds cool, I've followed you to see more it.
I will be doing travelling combined with my exchange and internship out here until christmas :-)

That's awesome man, plenty of time for plenty of posts then right? Haha:) cheers!

Came across to this Veitnam Travel post. Found it interesting because I never knew Veitnam has great view of mountains! Most of the people I know only travel in Ho Chi Minh City. Veitnam = Scooters and motorcycles everywhere :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26