Making The Case For Steemit In Third-World Countries.

in #steemit8 years ago


Source: Worldbank.org

In this post, I'm not going to talk about how great Steemit is for giving a lot of people the opportunity to do what they love and get paid for it, or that it's a great website to find new and unique content to read.

I'm here to talk about the impact of a system like Steemit gonna have on people living in third-world countries, specifically people without access to bank services.


Source: ipop.gr

So to me, as someone who lives in a third-world country, Steemit solves two problems, or in other words, gives me two opportunities.

The first one is that it gives me the opportunity to work online, and the second one is getting paid by a currency that is border-less, a currency that won't be affected by any capital control that is imposed by most third-world countries on its citizens. Steemit combine these two aspect flawlessly without the hurdle of worrying about when or how to get paid.


Source: hubspot.net

In my country, I can tell you that People here are willing to create unique posts about something they excel in just for $1 per article, so making something like 4 posts per day will get them in most cases more than they earn in their daily jobs. I already see a lot of people here making at least $100 per post , that's like a ridiculous amount and is beyond the reach for most people .


Source: designedforlearning.co.uk

But for me the best thing that Steemit bring to the table is the introduction of the curation reward. I mean that's what I've been doing at reddit for several years without earning a dime for it. I can see myself spending hours after hours on Steemit reading, commenting and up-voting posts that I see deserve my vote.


Source: writenonfictionnow.com

After I got convinced about the potentials of Steemit in the long run, I tried to convince some of my friends to join Steemit, some weren't intersted, some don't speak English well, but at least I was able to convince 2 of my friends to join, they didn't make any Steem yet, but they are still figuring out how to.

So I encourage all people to invite their friends, you never know whom of your friends will end up in Steemit.

Sort:  

I will add that Africa and Asia is where most of Steemit growth will come from.

I live in Africa and a lot of people are not comfortable working on line because of lack of trust working on the internet or because of limited resources. After joining Steemit a few days ago I am having lots of fun and learning a lot. I tried to convince some of my friends to join they don't seem interested. They all say - show us the money first. So I really have a toll order to fill and I'm sure that I will make it here because I can see the potential. Although I'm still figuring out how to make the Steem Dollars.

I see that you are a new user as well, so you don't have any real money proof that steemit really works. But you can still convince them by showing them the front page of steemit, this will give them an idea on how much money people are really making.

The first picture is of thousand words

Interesting to see that South Africa only ranks at 0.5% in your first image. It took a long time for us to be able to receive money made on the Internet via Paypal. Cryptocurrency is a whole new concept as well that is why I stopped posting and started reading many posts here on Steemit to understand how I will be able to convert earnings I earn here one day, into actual money that can be paid into my Paypal account and then being withdrawn to my SA bank account, which also takes from 5-7 days before I am able to have access to ZAR currency. So yes, maybe the third world countries may benefit from Steemit, but I also feel that there are many other problems that will have to be overcome for them to be able to receive their money in much needed "hard cash".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40