What You Need to Work at Home

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Be it blogging, writing a best seller, or being a remote service rep, working at home requires unique skillsets.

I began working at home due to necessity. As a single mom of three, having lost their father when my youngest was not even 4 years old yet, I struggled something fierce. There really are not a lot of resources for single mothers besides child support, and when you cannot get that you are pretty much on your own.

Sure, there are a number of ads you can click on the internet promising help for moms in my situation, but the harsh reality is there are no more funds in the programs, if there was much to begin with.

One morning I awoke at 4 am, took a quick shower by candlelight because I was out of lightbulbs and payday wasn't for 3 days, hopped a bus across downtown Seattle to open an internet cafe at 5:30, assisted customers and brought caffiene concoctions until 11:30am. Then hopped on another bus across the lake to work in a retail tattoo shop until 8pm, where I would take two busses home to arrive by 9:30pm. I would do laundry, tuck in sleepy little ones, make some food for myself and lunches for the kids tomorrow as my Manny was worthless but all I could afford. Then I would crawl into bed, open my laptop, and write. I would wake up in the same position having fallen asleep with my computer on my lap and papers of research and notes strewn across the bed. I would get up and start all over again.

I realized at this point that this was no way to live.

I worked 6 days a week at both jobs, with Monday being the only day I had off- from both thankfully. But Monday was definitely not a day of rest. No, I had school appointments, doctor and dentist appointments for the boys, grocery shopping... I had to juggle which bills to pay every month- something the show Roseanne helped with ;) Would we rather go without lights or water this week?

It was a shitty life. And God forbid an unexpected something came up.

I had been told I was a talented writer by my High School instructors, but never persued it as an actual job as it felt like only a very few people "made it" and were paid a living wage. But during this period of high stress in my life I began writing again, if only for myself. As an escape if you will.

I was sick from lack of sleep all the time, and wandering in a hazy daze. Sure, I fell out on the bus rides, but sleeping in public is not really sleep- it's sortof a one-eye-open catnap.

Well things happened and I said the right things at the right times online, and I started making my way into the world of freelance writing. Getting paid very little mind you, but it was something. And it was something that I could actually do from home.

I hated leaving my children with an uncaring Manny, and hated leaving them at faceless day care centers even more. At least the Manny would be home when they got off school. Plus no day care centers are open until 10 at night. Not in my part of the world, anyway.

After a while I could quit one of my jobs. That was a good day. I would actually get some sleep. I did start going to my job an hour early each day, but still, quitting one job was healthy for both my psyche and physical health.

Plus, my youngest son had been begging me to be home more a lot. And it was breaking my heart.

A couple years after that I could actually start working at home full time. The relief this brought was immeasurable. I saved money and time on long commutes. Saved money on specialized career clothing. And even saved money by getting tax breaks for being a 1099 self employed sub-contractor.

Yes, I missed my work mates, and the comaraderie there. But the benefits far outweighed the cons.

I suppose mine is not a typical case study, but it's important nonetheless. I learned many things from my journey, which I will share with anyone looking to be a remote worker.

  • Do not attempt if you are not a self starter. It is very easy to not work when you work from home. You have to be able to self motivate. Set actual work times each day. These times will only be used for work. Make a sign for your door that you work from home and cannot be disturbed during these hours. And make sure you stick with it- don't allow television or facebook or anything to distract you.

  • Work Space. A place to work is important when you work from home. It should have everything you need for your job, and it should be set apart from your living quarters. You may picture working from your bed or your couch, but in all reality it usually just doesn't work. By setting aside a workspace just for work, you train your brain that this is only for work, and your focus shifts when you sit down to begin your day.

  • Exercise. You'll be amazed how much more moving you do when you work outside the home. Walk to your car, park then walk to the office, walk about the office as you go about your workday, walk to lunch, walk back to your car after work... You lose all that when transitioning to working at home as your "commute" is only a few feet away. Schedule mini breaks throughout your day to stretch and move about, and commit to an hour of real exercise a day. Trust me, it helps. Plus it'll keep your mind focused.

  • Prepare each morning like you're going to work. Get everything ready- water, lunch, items needed for your day, so you can just "go to work". You will save valuable time and be much mnore productive.

  • Remember that there is a button on your computer where you can turn off distractions such as Facebook for however many hours.

  • Socialize. We are humans. We still need contact. Socialize with your friends on your days off, and facetime after work.

  • Routines are important. Settle into your daily routine while paying close attention that you do not create bad habits.

  • Lighting. Good lighting is important. The wrong lights can wear you out and cause eye fatigue and headaches. A full spectrum natural desk lightbulb is necessary if your desk is not by a window, or if you live in the Pacific Northwest where it rains a lot.

  • Sick Days. If you need a sick day, take a sick day. I'm stubborn, and will work through a 103 degree fever as I nod off on my computer. It's not worth it. If you need it, take it. But make sure you rest.

  • It can be tempting to take care of household chores throughout your workday. Don't do it! The laundry can wait for after work!

Working at home is absolutely worth it on many levels if you can self motivate. I am happy I transitioned and would never go back.

What's your work at home story?


Images Pixabay


With love, light, and good mojo

🖤

I love you guys!

I appreciate your support :)

Sort:  

my work at home story is simple.my friends work part time. during my teens I wasn't able to watch a full movie in one stretch I used to get headache . instead of watching videos I used to browse a lot. I came to know about crypto trading . took a loan from my friend bought my first bitcoin at 900$ and started trading with it. thats what changed my life.

That is amazing. I love hearing how crypto had changed lives!

The first point in the most important. A lot of people who are not self starters will find it hard to succeed working from home because there's a very high probability of shifting the work to a later time - procrastination, the cancer of success.

Just like you, I make sure my workplace is free from distraction. I just woke up some two hours ago, had a 40 mins run, then my bath and a glass of coffee. At at my table now, and will be here for the next six hours before taking lunch breaks. It's definitely satisfying to work from home but most people make the mistake of saying it's gonna be an easy ride, I put in about 18 hours a day at my work and online studies now. I hope to but it to 16 hours in three months time.

That's another point- working from home usually requires more hours. However, when subtracting commuting hours, you usually end up breaking even...

Thanks for the share!

Oh my goodness my heart just went out to you hearing about how tough it was for you working two jobs and raising your kids. I'm sure those days must of been so tough. There is some good advice here and for me banning the TV was a must. I was also not allowed to start reading anything, if I get into a book I'm done for the rest of the day and won't do much else.

Being a single mom in this country where everyone is suspicious of each other and noone knows their neighbors is very difficult indeed.

Oh I'm the same way with books!

I really enjoyed reading your freelance story, @arbitrarykitten. Your journey is amazing and an inspiration. I worked from home as a freelancer for many years before returning to corporate, where I am now. I chose the steady paycheck and the benefits, and the perk that I leave my work at the office. But I do miss it. Working from home was really fun. Your tips are excellent!

Thank you Jayna! It's not for everyone, that's for sure. I'm glad you found your "calling" if you will :)

As a soon to be graduate in an underdeveloped country, i plan on working from home once I'm done with my university education. I have tried working from home before once i finished high school and it was hectic. It might be because i just jumped at the idea but lately, after involving myself into an MLM business and reading a few books as well, I've come to realise it's all about self discipline. It can be done and i will do it. Reading your story has strengthened my faith in the direction I'm about to take. I'm not as good a writer as yourself (I've been following your work) but with the addition of my photography business with steemit, i think i will get somewhere in time. You are really brave @arbitrarykitten. Keep inspiring us.

If it's something you want, I have faith that you will succeed at it. You seem like a go getter :)

Thank you, I'm happy to provide inspiration!

Wow...you had such a tough life working all those hours and on top of that being a single mom. Am glad that you turned that around and worked really hard. I still work a regular job but would like to one day work from home. And you give some great tips in this post. The best thing about working from home is the time freedom and if I had kids I would like to spend lots of time with them. I do wish you continued growth and lots of success :)

Time freedom, yes!

Thank you :)

nice story @arbitrarykitten
thank you for sharing
resteemid

A few years ago, I used to be a full time writer at home. Thats need great motivation.

I ride every morning to keep my body and mind fresh. Then most importantly the work space must be properly organized and also I put the aroma therapy in my office.

Thank you for sharing.

I use aromatherapy too, especially cedar for focus and inspiration. What flavors do you use?

I usually use a fresh, soft fragrance like lavender. The smell of apples and the mix of wood like sandalwood is also good for inspiration

Apples... I've not used that scent before. Sandalwood is one of my Staples, too :)

But when do you change the cat litter ??? An @arbitrarykitten showed up in the Last Minute and a Half of this Video...........................

Do not attempt if you are not a self starter.

Read 300 times. Commit to memory. Never forget.

My Human used to do a fair number of consulting gigs and coaching for people who wanted to "be in business for themselves." Of course, what they least wanted to hear — and what was often said — was they theu didn't have the right mindset to be in business for themselves.

But you HAVE to be a self-starter, and you HAVE to be of the kind of personality who'll get up and try just as hard tomorrow, even if the past six days were pure shit, pardon the bluntness.

This house is a self-sustaining ecosystem since 1997, made up of multiple microbusinesses the Humans call "Patchwork Economics." Nobody's getting rich here, but we're writing our own ticket.

And there's always cat food in the dish!

=^..^=

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69371.89
ETH 3768.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71