You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Drinking the Steemit Kool-Aid

in #steemit7 years ago

I too had the same realization as this a while ago, and while it's not completely unfounded, it's not entirely the case...

When I became frustrated with Steemit, I went looking at the top earners. To see what they were doing in order to get a sense of what I was doing wrong.

In doing so, I noticed everyone I looked at was making pennies in the beginning!

For instance, I checked out @papa-pepper 's page. He is a well respected membwer of the community and he does quite well. My favorite thing about him is his helpful and honest nature- but those are different words for a different article :) In other words, I checked out the pages of authors I respect and @papa-pepper is one one my most respected fellas :)

What I noticed after scrolling not too far down his page is that just a few months ago he was making $2 and $3 a post too! Just like me!

Just a few months ago!

If you keep steeming you will rise :)

Sort:  

Yep, I've done that too with authors I admire, including @papa-pepper. I appreciate those who not only create interesting content, but who are trying to welcome and support newcomers.

When I first signed up, I also heard a lot of stories about $1,000 and $2,000 posts. Now, we see posts earning hundreds, which is still great. However, it takes patience, dedication and luck to reach that point and I wouldn't want new users to become frustrated simply because their expectations don't match the current reality. I want them to stay and be a part of Steemit. 🙂

Yes, it takes time, patience, and community, but it WILL HAPPEN!

#UnMentionables

Way back in June when I started I was making $25-$30 on some posts... now I am lucky if I make $ 1.... It is confusing. But I will keep sharing my Artwork, photography etc etc ...

The same thing happened to me. It happens to almost everyone here around level 54-55, seriously! Read THIS article I wrote, and the comments. It's crazy but this is a real phenomena.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64122.04
ETH 2745.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66