Why I Haven't Been Up-voting THAT Much Lately - Not Anymore Baby!

in #steemit7 years ago

Hi Everybody!

This is just an informative post so you won't hate me that much because of my late lack of activity!

Since I came back to Steemit a little bit less than two weeks ago I've been using A LOT of my SP to vote. I was so happy that I could give something to everybody !! But then I checked the Voting Power and it was WAY lower than I though.

not-cool.gif

Source: teemitdb.com (like a week or more ago).

Mostly because of the HF19, which I'm not complaining, oh no! Because it gives the possibility to choose! But remember: with a great voting power, comes a great responsibility.

So as you may already understood, I stopped giving many super duper upvotes, but My plan is to change that today, since my voting power is already rising again to 90%. And it may sound like "ohh what a selfish gross guy! He wants to have so much voting power before using it !"

And actually this is true, let me write down you some numbers:

  • When I was voting (just right after the HF19) at my 100% I was making something more than 2 dollars per upvote. After that number dropped I was barely doing 30-40 cents per upvote with the same amount of Voting power (And the same lose).

  • If I wait until my voting powers rises beyond 90%, now that I have barely more than 80%, it would rise at least 20 cents (or it's corresponding percent of the vote). All with the same impact onto my Voting Power Value.

  • If I wouldn't realize this until my power would go even lower, probably I would need weeks to take it back, because the higher the voting power, the faster it recovers.

Long story short, it would be better for all of us to not exhaust our reservoirs of Steem Power by clicking upvote in everything despite of it's content and just upvote what we feel that deserves it. I learned this lesson by loosing a lot of it and taking it back this week by being a little bit patient and stop voting everything around for these super tasty curation rewards.

See... We need YOU to clean steemit and to make it more fair.

Don't get upset if later you don't receive any upvote if you vote crappy content, without any sense and help to these people that upvote ten posts a day without any content more than one or maybe two lines. And of course a self upvote and YOUR vote for curations.

Don't believe me? Check this out:

shit.jpg

Source: Steemit.

One line, $154 in rewards, 239 votes and a WHOLE horde of bots people celebrating his personal success. That of course, doesn't help to any of them.

This personal and shallow success of his wouldn't be possible with so many people celebrating him. If you are like these people, just clicking the upvote arrow because: don't. Don't do that. Upvote it because you feel it's worth of your vote, your time and your interest. Don't prostitute your vote. Don't upvote x upvote without even reading the article because you both won't really receive anything in return. Make from Steemit a better place and not a crappy pig house where everybody take their eyes out for few cents and grams of recognition.

I Invite you to make use of the main rule that guided my whole life:

Be so good that they can't ignore you

Bye!

Thanks a lot to @acidyo help me with the data provided in this post.

Sort:  

I was considering following curation trails the last days. While beeing unsure how much voting power it will consume and if I still can upvote myself enough I hesitated and would love to hear what you think about them.

While I dont think upvoting yourself is bad, as long as you put real thought into your comment as you invested money and are taking the risk, therefore I see it as my ROI and mining. This is especially true if you just started out and have a tiny following so you will not recieve any upvotes.
As much as I enjoy my stay here and learn a lot and starting to make connections with other like minded people, it is also an investment for me.

But just making a post just to upvote yourself seems really stupid and nobody will gain anything from this.

You still need to remain a ratio you are comfortable with.

I am totally gonna upvote my own comment ;-)

I completely agree with you @flipstar and I must say that I'm totally into your way of thinking. You twisted a little bit my idea about self-voting and your point is totally fair.

I think that curation trails are good if you are fair and conscious about what you are upvoting. I am trying to make good curations from my very humble SP place to also help a little bit to the community to grow to a more fair place.

I think that if you would share your sincere thoughts with the world through your posts people would love to hear about them (I'm now following you expecting to see that) since you seem to have a really fair point of view that would make a win-win situation if we all would have share it.

And about the ratio, that's true, this is why it's important to keep a good balance between the percent of the upvotes, because if not, you will simply spread it away and earn a lot in very short term, but you would lose a lot in mid-long term due to the less and less voting power. See I lost most of my Voting Power because of voting at 100% after the HF19. Voting mostly myself.

So the key is in the balance

i really like your spirit to help others, by upvoting them and giving them reward for what they are doing to the community, but this is a very sad part that most of the community members don't think like you and they are not giving rewards to others, instead they are just upvoting their own comments, thanks for this motivational post @anritco

I am still experimenting with my upvotes also. Since after fork I went a bit overboard also :-) (propaply a lot of us did)
For example I liked to upvote a lot of or nearly all comments I got on my posts. Since I am new and dont have this much engagment yet I can do this (hopfully in the near future I will have the luxury problem of choosing comments I like to upvote)

thx for the follow by the way I am following you also and want to point out one thing which is really important to me that this is not a follow4follow kind of shit.

I really like people who put thought into their posts and comments and if they post about stuff I am interested in I am more then happy to follow.

You will never get a FxF from me, I just follow people because of their content =)

I see we are on one page here :-)

He I just wrote a post about my view on upvoting yourself. since it is relevant I post a link here if you feel like I am hijacking your thread I will remove it of course
https://steemit.com/steem/@flipstar/upvoting-your-own-comments-yay-or-nay-a-newbie-dolpinhs-view

I really enjoyed reading your story and now I understand even more your point of view. I consider it entirely fair =)

Thanks to you for taking the time to write me these lines ! =)

Definitely agree. Your upvote is the way you contribute to STEEMIT. Use it like it's an extension of your personal reputation.

Precisely! I recently started using this concept.

I used to vote myself even more than others back then shame on me and this is how reputation works. People notice that and they forge a reputation based on that!

Indeed.

It's all about participation.

Guilty of that too. The upvote post is on by default. As a newcomer to this world, I don't really understand why the option is even there. It is like me sending an email to myself first every time I'm emailing others in the To field. After reading your article, @anritco, I'm inspired to disable the automatic upvote.

Well I think it is very important to keep the first upvote by yourself. Let's just say that It's the first kick for your post to start moving by itself!

Needless to say that it also means that you accept and like your own product =)

Yes, I understand this better now, @anritco. Reverted. Thanks for helping me form an educated opinion. :)

"Be so good that they can't ignore you"

Frank Approves this RULE!!!

Keep STEEM N ON,
Frank

Resteem...

Thanks a lot Frank ! I really appreciate all the support you give me! I'm sure that with time I will pay it back ;)

It's a pleasure to find and meet Quality Work!

Just being Frank ;)

So if I upvote myself,will I get reputation higher?

It all depends, there's nothing wrong in upvoting yourself. But probably if you vote yourself over others (as I used to do what an a$$/le I was) people will notice this and probably your reputation will go down. We are all humans =)

EDIT: I want you to read @flipstar 's comment above to understand it better, I think his way of thinking is really good

How did you get so much voting power in just two weeks. Share some with us oh wise one.

Been here two weeks my full power upvote gives 3 cents. I can afford to throw them around willy nilly.

Actually I didn't start two weeks ago. I made my steemit account like 9 months ago and posted a lot in a relatively short period of time. I made something like 1000 dollars back then. Took one half out and left the other half in my account.

That money raised like %1000 since back then due to steemit currency fluctuations. So I guess I was lucky but not lucky enough to left all these money back then, I would have an account as double of its price now!

Thanks for asking and I hope this helped you somehow =)

Oh for some reason I thought you said you were only on here for 2 weeks. This makes a lot more sense. Now it's a lot of grinding to get to your level.

But not impossible =)

can i translate it to Polish and upvote it there?

Yes you can! Just please mention and tag me and the post =)

oki toki, and thanks

Yes. This. Thank you. We need quality to grow, not quantity and filler.

You earned my upvote. You already had my follow.

I completely agree with you @discordiant ! Thanks!

Very informative post! I am relatively new to crypto, and for me it is very hard for me to not upvote the people that comment and support me. But you right I too am probably promoting irresponisible behaviour by upvoting one liners and even going out to comment on some "hot" and "trending" posts just to try up-bait a vote.

Thanks for keeping us in check. Hope some more people get to read this.

First of all, welcome to Steemit! And about upvoting people that supports you, that's totally understandable!

What I'm trying to say is to not vote those that just write a "nice" "nice post" "followxfollow" or crappy content such as the one shown before. It's all about improving the platform =)

Aaah ok yes, makes total sense. Thank you so much anritco. I just checked my SP on steemd though and I too am down to about 22%. ha! Guess I do need to hold back a bit and be more vigilant on what I upvote and how frivolous I am with them. But I think now is a nice time to experiment with my power bar and using less % per upvote so I can still upvote dozens of things per day and not lose out on maximizing the potential of my upvotes.

Indeed! just keep the upvoting between 1 and 5% until you achieve higher Voting Power ;)

Will do. (Sometimes I get loads of responses though, I need a 0.5% . :P hehe )

Yep, I stumbled upon the change a few days ago, wish Steemit sent EVERY account holder a notification email EVERY TIME a policy change that affected their wealth happened!

Thanks for posting, yours will reach many left in the dark.

It would be nice! But it is also our duty to understand how the platfor moves. See, this is not an ordinary social platform, it moves money, and A LOT of it. So with a great power, comes a great responsability ;)

Very clear content, for a newbie like me, this kind of content is more than enough to Resteem to and keep it in mind, what is written here ... thanks for sharing your opinion, and this post you mention , Demonstrates one of the current problems ... like you said: Don't prostitute your vote... absolutely right... Now i´m gonna do what i should have done in the first day i joined ... read the entire FAQ... :P

Hahaha I haven't done that yet! Maybe you will end teaching me! :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64503.74
ETH 3188.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56