As a MINNOW on Steemit, I Was Getting Discouraged, Until This Happened

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

sad-girl-1382940_1920.jpg

I am a Steemit Minnow, with relatively small influence compared to many on the platform. At first it felt like an uphill battle spending hours creating posts that only a handful of people read. I was getting discouraged until something happened that some newer minnows might not know about.

The Power of Steemit

One post changed everything for me because it showed me that the Steemit community has a big heart. @darthnavahad wrote a post asking for help with his huge medical bills. Suddenly whales were jumping out of the water everywhere and rallying to help. His post raised over $17,000.00 to help him. This energy sent a ripple of hope into the minnow pond. We were no longer minnows or whales, or crypto-enthusiasts, but a Steemit platform of caring and sharing.

Here’s the post: https://steemit.com/blog/@darthnava/fellow-steemers-i-need-help-as-my-mri-results-are-not-encouraging

Cryptocurrency = Love

The post showed me the power of Steemit, and I stopped viewing myself as a struggler on Steemit and started viewing myself as someone who is building a foundation from which I can one day use to influence the life of another in a positive way. I was also gaining writing practice, and was meeting some caring, inspiring people, and you become like those you associate with.

girl-593142_1920.jpg

I continue to participate on Steemit, because I am energized by it, and am excited to see where it is heading in the future. Here’s how I avoid becoming discouraged:

GIVING THANKS


for Steemit pulls me out of the darkness of negativity - being part of a great community that only a small percentage of people are aware of, yet has huge growth potential keeps me hopeful. I am grateful to @dan and @nate for creating this online social utopia!

SOCIALIZING


on Steemit pulls me away from my feelings of minnow isolation and disconnection. It lifts my mood. Making friends on Steemit has been the best! One of my friends is even hosting a contest to win a trip to Steemfest2 in LIsbon, Portugal. The Ultimate in Socializing! You may enter the contest by @stellabelle, by making a 3 min video to win a ticket! A life changing experience!

Not sure what Steemfest2 is? Here’s some info:
https://steemit.com/steemfest/@steemfest/steemfest-2-1-2-3-4-5-november-2017-lisbon-portugal )

Here’s how to enter the @stellabelle contest:
(https://steemit.com/steemfest/@stellabelle/win-a-trip-to-steemfest-submit-a-3-minute-video)

SELF CARE


makes me feel better - Once I am done curating and posting on Steemit, I get up from my chair (sitting is the new smoking), and eat some free range eggs with basil picked from my garden, and go out and walk my dog. I make sure to unplug from my computer each day to get eight hours sleep at night. The cool part is I can also write about walking my dog and growing my garden, and all I have to do is bring a camera with me, and I can share my experiences on my Steemit blog.

FUN HOBBIES


make me more fun, and take the focus off myself. You can contribute to others by making how-to videos about your hobbies, or your family member’s hobbies. This lifts your own mood, their mood, and you have fun. Recently I shared a video my son made about dj ing at a club, and his Youtube views went from 19 to 31. He was thrilled! One of the best ways to help yourself feel better is to help others feel better. It gives you a boost, because it is greater than yourself.

CHANGING MY THOUGHTS to positive


Instead of thinking I suck on Steemit, I change my thoughts to focus on what I am learning about writing and photography by curating posts of all the talented people here. Also, I am following interesting people, and sharing content. These positive actions improve my mood and behavior. Being critical of myself hurts my well-being and restructuring my thoughts makes me feel better and function better on Steemit.

I hope these points will encourage you to continue posting on Steemit too. By viewing it as a way to form relationships with inspiring people, in a community making positive changes for the members, where you keep growing and learning as a person while being rewarded financially, you will have no problem sticking around. Sharing your Steemit posts on Facebook and Twitter will encourage more people to join Steemit which will raise the tide for the entire community and make it stronger.

Shoot For The Stars Minnows and all Steemians!! We Raise The Tide Together!! Thanks for reading!

photos ~ Pixabay and Giphy

Sort:  

Very encouraging post for minnows...

Thanks for your kind words!

Congratulations @annhoyblog! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Upvoted to help all Steemit users! Thanks!

Fantastic article on keeping at Steemit! ^

Persevere and don't get discouraged, those who want to be big on Steemit will be with time and dedication.

Thank you @annhoyblog for this inspiring piece.

I post regularly about Steemit, Bitcoin and other crypto related material, check out my Steemit page and follow and VOTE UP for the fastest active news you can run with!

Thank you,

Jeffrey Anderson
Editor in Chief
The Anderson Report
@cryptoNEWScoins on Twitter

Screenshot_2017_07_24_at_5_41_03_PM

Thanks so much! Good advice - time and dedication is right!

Motivated!!! Now Im gonna grow into a tunafish or some shit bruh

You gotta grow! That's good. Haha

Way to say it! I too have felt so much more positive here on Steemit the past 6 weeks. Except for last week from self-doubt but I had to just take a break I guess. I've written more in my 6 weeks here than I think in the past 5yrs, lol. Anyway happy u found this realization.

That's good to hear that your writing is flowing on Steemit! Thanks for your comment!

I understand about being discouraged but this puts things in perspective. I am enjoying being a part of the block chain.

Yes, it's pretty cool when you look at the potential long term. There is so much to learn! Thanks

Aaaw what a cute kitty! Is it yours?

Thanks! Yes he is all mine. <3

Great post. I am glad to see the community here

Hurray!

Its amazing how this community swarms and buoys up certain causes. Its been a fun ride so far.

Yes, Steemit is a beacon of light in the darkness! Thanks

I love the sentiment here. You echo a lot of what I've been thinking. I'm quite minnow-esque myself. I get down a lot. But then something like this happens, and I see again what sort of community I'm a part of. And helping to make better. I'll be following your journey, too.

Thanks. It is a really cool thing that we are part of and it helps to remember that when you feel drained. Following you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29