TRYING TO STOP THE BLOCKCHAIN BE LIKE...

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


Source

It can't be done! The BLOCKCHAIN IS HERE TO STAY, so we all had better find a way to get a stake in it while it is still somewhat in it's infancy. It's not too late! Bitcoin is not the only game in town!

Think You've Missed the Cryptocurrency Train?


Yes, I know that hindsight is 20/20, but many altcoins have taken off like good penny stocks. So, if you think that you have missed the cryptocurrency train because you missed the Bitcoin boat, think again, because that is just not so! There are hundreds of cryptocurrencies out there now, and maybe it wouldn't be such a bad idea to invest in some of the more obscure ones that are under a penny.

Hey, I'm sure many of us were skeptical about some of the one's that have blown up that started out under a penny as well, such as Dash, ZCash, CloakCoin, or EuropeCoin. And how about that PotCoin? (I'm still rooting for that one, but that's another post. I won't digress.)

Take a look at these below, which are some of the most successful (in no certain order) and their cost at the time of this writing!

Litecoin (LTC) ($41.42) - Was $2 when I first heard about it.



Source

In a nutshell, Litecoin is to Bitcoin what Silver is to Gold. One main difference is that a block of LTC generates faster than a block of BTC, which means it can handle larger volumes of transactions; however, BTC's hashing power is stronger than LTC's. Creation and transfer of LTC is based on an open source cryptographic protocol, which is not managed by a central authority.

Sadly, I do not have any LTC, but that is going to change. But it better change soon, as LTC is looking up!

Personally, I would buy LTC at Coinbase.

Ethereum (ETC) ($285.78) - Was $0 when I first heard about it.



Source

When I first heard about Ethereum, it wasn't even on the market yet. It was still in a beta stage but I could not find out how to get any of it. Then, later, when it caught my attention again, I believe it cost about $2 or so.

What is Ethereum? Ethereum is a platform with open software on the blockchain. It gives developers the ability to build decentralized applications and deploy them. ETH crypto is tradeable on the blockchain, but miners work for Ether, instead of mining it. Ether serves as a crypto token fuel for the network. Developers also use Ether for transaction fees for services and payments across the Ethereum network.

Sadly, I do not have any ETH either. This needs to change soon, but at the current price, I dunno.

Personally, I would buy ETH at Coinbase.

Ripple (XRP) ($0.287586) - Was $0.006 a few months ago.



Source

Ripple is a protocol for new transactions or payments that will allow banks and other financial networks, like credit card companies and PayPal, to send money across the globe just like information is sent across the globe through email. Ripple is both a digital currency and an open-source payment network with the symbol of XRP. Only 100 billion XRP will be created and half (50 billion XRP) will be put into circulation and the company will retain the other half. So that means that 50 billion XRP are for the taking by anybody.

XRP recently trended up a couple months ago and predictions are good for this coin. The company has a good footing and many banks around the world have adopted it already.

So how much did I end up getting? For the sake of not rewriting, read about that HERE and HERE.

I'm definitely buying more of this altcoin!

Here's where I get my Ripple: GateHub or TheRockTrading. These are both great sites for XRP and other crypto, including BTC.

Bitconnect (BCC) ($50.70) - About $38 a couple months ago



Source (Disclosure: Referral Link)

Now, this one here, is one that I am glad to have gotten wind of. I heard about Bitconnect from #TrevonJB. I follow him and #CraigRant. The two of them are doing great things in the crypto world and I learn a lot from them.

Please Note: This one has a referral program, so please be kind enough to use my link if you sign up, since I'm telling you about it here (or just click on the animated graphic). When I see that you have signed up with my link, I'll reach out to you and either answer your questions or get your questions answered by someone more knowledgeable than I am! But, you will not be just left alone.

What is Bitconnect?

It is a self-regulated financial system. Here's a quote explaining it straight from the website:

"Bitconnect is an open source all in one bitcoin and crypto community platform designed to provide multiple investment opportunities with cryptocurrency education where it is entirely possible to find the independence we all desire, in a community of like-minded, freedom loving individuals who, like you, are seeking the possibility of income stability in a very unstable world."

You will earn DAILY COMPOUNDED INTEREST ON BITCOIN! If you don't know anything about compounded interest, look that up! This is HUGE! Also, if you choose, you can GET PAID FOR REFERRALS, but you do not have to refer anybody at all to earn great profits!

Want to know more about Bitconnect? Click HERE. I did a video on it.

Steem ($1.77) - Was $1.71 a few days ago


Last on this list, but certainly not least!

Now, I'm new to Steem and Steemit. I've only been here 2 weeks today. But I am VERY glad I am here. I just wish I had discovered Steemit sooner. I learned about Steemit, again from @TrevonJB, and it has been a great experience.

As a newbie; however, there is a pretty big learning curve. I have spent lots of time researching and reading, upvoting, resteeming and commenting on posts that I find valuable or entertaining or that speak to me in some way. I like engaging. I have also done Google searches on topics and have found some valuable information in older posts. I will be glad to see when older posts can still be profitable for the authors, similar to like Hub Pages.

So, I will be posting some of the things I learn as I go along, to help others. Here's one of them How to Buy Steem on Steemit.com (step-by-step). This is important, because investing in Steem and investing in the Steemit platform can be very profitable, particularly in the long-term.

Here is another great post by @Adil that is very useful! Check it out: Complete Guide on Steemit 5.0. He goes into good detail on many things that we need to know about Steem and Steemit. Thanks Adil!


So, see, you HAVE NOT missed the cryptocurrency train! It's still at the station. So, get on board for real!


If you like this post or find it helpful, please Upvote, Resteem, and Comment (to which I will reply)! It is MUCH appreciated.



Sort:  

The first major balancing of the latest growth wave. To think that it's caused by a surge of more people becoming interested, and once all of this new traffic becomes settled and starts to play. The next serious stage of growth begins.

That is a very in-depth look at this thing. And, yes it is very interesting to see that it seems to all be fueled by people's need to be wealthy or chasing the dream of being wealthy.

I bought Bitcoin with SBD. I keep Bitcoin in Electrum wallet on my computer. I think I can make copies of the wallet file. That might be a way of protecting the money. I am new to this. I want to buy other currencies that are small but do not know which wallets to put them in. I am still learning. Thanks for your post.

Yes, it can be scary and confusing when thinking about how vulnerable our cryptocurrency can be. I have always read that we should have some type of external storage, like our computer. But be careful that you backup the computer. We can also keep it in a wallet on a smart phone, but I would make that a separate phone from the one I use on a daily basis, and only use it for cryptocurrency storage, keeping it in a safe place of course. Also, it is a good idea not to have it all in one place.

do not keep all yours eggs in one basket, agreed

Congratulations @amarie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Amarie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Great! Thanks to all in minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60