Why I Wish that I Had Bought More RIPPLE. How I Missed Out on Over $100,000 this Year.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hindsight is 20/20 is one of most true sayings out there. And that hit me like a big brick only a couple months ago.

You see, last year I was looking for an altcoin that had a chance of being like a penny stock that took off, since I pretty much missed the Bitcoin (BTC) train. So I researched and found Ripple. "Oh. This looks interesting." This is what I said out loud to myself.

Ripple Explained

So I looked a bit closer and found out that Ripple is a new transaction or payment protocol that will enable banks, as well as other financial networks like PayPal and credit card companies, to send money all around the world in the same way that information is sent through email.

Ripple is an open-source payment network and it is also a digital currency, and it's symbol is XRP. Ripple was designed to improve the transportability of money. It uses the same blockchain technology as Bitcoin but in a different way and is purported to be a complement to rather than a rival of Bitcoin.

According to the Ripple company, only 100 billion ripples will be created and half of those (50 billion ripples) will be put into circulation (where people can acquire them) and the other half will be retained by the company.

How Much to Buy?

So, I'm like, "Ok. I want to buy some of these". Mind you, that when I said this, the price of Ripple was $.006. My logic was that they were so cheap to buy that I should buy some every month and be sure to watch to see when the price started to rise, even a little bit.

So I started out with 5,000 XRP, which I paid $30 for. Not bad. I now owned what I thought was a large amount of cryptocurrency. After all, if I had 5,000 BTC, I would have $13 million by now. Whoa! That's mind-blowing, isn't it? Anyway, my thought process was that I would amass this huge amount of Ripple, like 500,000 or even a million of them! But the poor mentality in me said that would cost between $3,000 and $6,000. So, I settled on amassing 250,000, which would cost $1,500. Not too bad, especially since I planned on spacing out the purchases.

So, my logic again was that even if this altcoin didn't do real well. Even if it only got up to a penny, if I cashed it out, I would have my money back plus an extra $1,000. But, my motivation was holding the 250,000 until XRP reached $.10 or $.11. Then, I would cash out half so that I could have some cash to do things with and just hold the rest indefinitely to see what would happen.

So What Happened?

Well, I was watching the coin regularly at first but slacked off over the past few months, until some time in May, I saw something about the XRP price rising so I looked and it had risen from under a penny up to $.22! So, I went to CoinMarketCap and checked the price in the last couple of months and saw that it had been up to $.40! OMG!

I had forgotten about my Ripple or how much I had bought and I even had some on two sites (TheRockTrading and GateHub). Mind you, I neglected to buy the 250,000 like I had planned but I figured I had a substantial amount. Well after I reset my passwords and got into my accounts, I saw that I only had about 12,400 in one and 947 in the other.

I could have pulled out all of my hair.

Let's do that math. If I had owned the 250,000 like I had intended, my XRP would have been worth $55,000 at $.22. But if I had the 250,000 when the price was $.40, I would have had $100,000.

Do you understand my sorrow?

Currently, my XRP is worth about $3,250 at $.25, hardly enough to cash out anything. Granted, over 13,000 XRP if the price goes up to the $4 to $40 this year that I saw somebody predict recently would be great. (Not holding the breath on that). But yeah. Hindsight.

Moral of the Story

All old wise sayings:

  • Don't put off for tomorrow what you can do today.
  • A bird in the hand is better than two in the bush.
  • Do it now. Sometimes later becomes never.
  • Hindsight is 20/20.

Can anybody remember any more of these sayings that would apply to my situation here? Is anybody in the same situation? If so, we can cry together.

Listen, people, Bitcoin is not the only coin that is making and will make a lot of money. Look at Zcash, Litecoin, Ethereum, Ripple, Bitconnect, etc. for examples. They all started out costing pennies just like Bitcoin and now they are double and triple digit prices. It's just like when people were buying up .com domain names that ended up being worth large sums of money, but then the .net, .org, .de, etc. started being worth a lot of money as well. It's the same concept with these altcoins and we're missing out if we don't invest in some of these.

Hey, for example:

  • Zcash is at $334! I don't even really know what this coin is but I remember when it was under $10.
  • Litecoin (as of this writing) is worth $29. When I first looked at this coin, it was under $2.
  • Ethereum is at $382! It was under $100 a couple months or so ago and I remember when it first came out. Don't you?
  • Ripple is holding around $.25 and $.30 looks like, but I already told you the story on that.
  • Bitconnect is at $49. Have you heard of this one? At least, I am earning daily interest on this one, but I'll write this up in another article. If you want to know how I'm making money every day with this one before I write the article, just contact me.

But yeah, we need to find the money to invest in all of these and any others that we research and see are growing. Remember, Bitcoin was once $300 and under and now look at it! It would be smart to at least have some sort of portfolio going with these.

The world is going digital. That's for sure.


And so, if you find value in this post, please RESTEEM it!

AND

Sort:  

True @amarie, in currency trading timing is everything. One must sell out when time is right but it is very tough to decide what is the right time. May be you sell it at $0.44 and after couple of months price goes $4.4. So one has to content with what they achieve and keep investing the corpus.

Thanks for sharing your story. Following you!

Right. This is why I wanted to have enough to sell off only some of them and still have a nice profit AND some to hold for future growth. But it's not completely too late though. Following you back!

Yes, that's a nice strategy. Sell some to make profit and hold some for future growth! You are on the right track @amarie. May you make a lot of profit in future :-)

Happy to follow you!

Awww. Thanks a lot @cryptocurrencyb. I'm learning from great bloggers like you!

@cryptocurrencyb you are right but the hardest is to know the right time to sell it has happened to me too

Yes, we need to keep trading to learn to find the right time to buy and sell the coins.

It's really not too late to get into Ripple. This thing will redefine the future of banking, and when it gains more adoption (already 50 BIG banks signed up for it), watch that price go to the moon.

True @drakos. I am watching Ripple news as much as I'm watching Ripple price.

Great post!
Ripple is here to stay.
Thanks for sharing and steem on :)

I think so too @jcsteem!

Interesting post. I was about to post a similair post. Buy low, sell high, it seems so simple but most investors still don't seem to get it :-) This is quite an interesting website I found: https://www.coincheckup.com They seem to give this complete indepth analysis of all cryptocoins. Sorted by team, product, company, advisors, previous investors, etc. Check: https://www.coincheckup.com/coins/Ripple#analysis To watch Ripple Investment research.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84