You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Real Problem With Steemit: The Quality Of Posts Is Low, Because The Quality Of Readers Is Low

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Nice post ! xD
Hoping to get an upvote here :D

Joke aside, you're right in your analysis, and I felt exactly the same when I was writing in English. Since then I went back to French for my real posts (I keep following and commenting English writers / posts but I don't write in it anymore), I discovered a whole new Steemit.

I think this problem is really specific to the English posts on Steemit, as people (like me when I arrived here) think it's the best way to get visibility or at least potentially get read by the biggest number of people possible. But only a few of the readers speaks English sufficiently well to understand well-structured and profound posts, so it cancels (evens-out) the advantage of writing in English. So you get a lot of posts, the majority of them being poorly written, and no real audience to read them.

In the French community (I take it in example as it's mine), you see real relationships being built, real writers and real readers, upvoting and commenting each other (with real comments about the post, with debates and all the things that comes with real interactions). I don't know about other national communities, but I think English, being the most spoken language overall, is getting some negative blow-back due to its status.

Sort:  

That's good to hear man!

You seem to be able to write a coherent sentence, if not more than that, so if YOU felt that way, just imagine how bad it's out there.

Thanks, I might go back to writing in English in the future (as I estimate myself capable of writing a correct article if I spend some time on it), but not now, I still need to find my rhythm, the type of posts I want to make, and national community seems a much better place to do tests and experiments and all that, as it comes with a real audience and at least 10 to 30 people who will read my post from first to last letter, and a fraction of them commenting to give their opinion.
Of course you need to do the same, but that's the principle of community.

I know it's bad out there...
And I feel bad for English-native writers who are entering the Steemit game, they must feel desperately preaching in the desert.

I'm waiting for your way of fixing that !

Well, I am not a native speaker myself and I am writing better than most native speakers so that's that.

Sometimes you simply have to have a knack for it, but that's for another time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51