You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Simple test for right vs wrong on the steem blockchain... there is more to it than "the code is law".

in #steemit7 years ago

To some degree I think we each have to decide what is honorable and responsible on this platform. Hopefully the majority does the right thing. I think it's interesting especially because we have here a social blogging platform for some but an investment for others. This is new territory in a lot of ways and like some Asimov laws, we're kind of making it up as we go along. For instance I have delegated Steem Power free of charge before and now have started auctioning it off to members who can be more active than I typically can. If I auction off to someone who is really good for the community then I've added value by providing them even more incentive to comment, create and upvote. However, if the user just upvotes himself all day long just to earn a profit then I'd rather not loan out Steem Power to that user any more. Isn't the new landscape exciting? To boldly go.. but as you often point out we must be ready to seriously discuss the issues before they become even bigger issues.

Sort:  

I agree. That reminds me of "Curating". Do you know how I curate? If I see something I like I up vote it and support it. I stopped looking at HOW many people voted on it, etc. I don't think dog piling posts is actually beneficial to the platform. It is a way if you time it right to maximize curation rewards, but I actually view curating and supporting stuff that I enjoy and like as being a better long term reward.

Exactly. Upvoting content we think is good for the platform should be the default mode. Curation rewards will follow but shouldn't be the aim.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59216.84
ETH 2526.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52