5 Things I've Learnt During My 1st Month On Steemit - Steemiversary ♨️🤓 Steemit Tips #3

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

artworkwhale.png

Hi Fellow Steemians!

So I just realised that today is my Steemiversary! This time last month I signed up to Steemit. I had no clue how the platform worked, other than my experience with Reddit. I hadn't yet to gotten my head around the various mechanics that make the platform "tick", but I was ready to dive in head 1st!

After about a month of playing with settings, engaging with the various Steemians and testing out different post types, I feel there are a few things I've learnt that I can share with the ever-growing community :)


source: seanheritage.com

Being Genuine Makes All The Difference.

On a platform like Steemit where there are bots, spammers and a sea of people around every corner trying to make a quick buck, authenticity is EXTREMELY VALUABLE. New users are constantly inundated with heartless hellos, copy paste reaction comments, stolen from Reddit Reaction Gigs/High Quality Gifs, an insightful comment with actual thought and insight is GREATLY APPRECIATED. So take the time to read posts in the "New" section. Pay attention to the REAL PEOPLE who are actually looking to improve the community with QUALITY ORIGINAL CONTENT. Real recognises real.


source: cdn2.hubspot.net

Don't expect $1000 payouts straight away.

When you first start your journey on Steemit, if you don't power up, you'll have minimal influence. This means that you posts will not reach a lot of people and therefore achieve minimal engagement & rewards (Unless you catch the attention of a whale). If you've been posting and not receiving much recognition, don't let small payouts deflate your enthusiasm. Every cent counts and before you know it you'll begin receiving daily rewards for all your content and comments.


source: imgur.com

Comments are your best shot at growing your profile.

Again. Comments are one of the most underrated ways of gaining new followers and rewards. To date I've garnered almost 900 followers from mostly commenting on posts (And making awesome posts like the one you're reading right now :P). This goes hand in hand with my 1st point: BE GENUINE.

  • Go take a look at the "New" section.
  • Pick out a few posts that catch your interest.
  • Read the posts and leave an insightful, witty or interesting comment.
  • Thank the user for their time and effort they put into their post.

Do this 5 times and you'll see your number of followers increase... even if it is just by 1.


source: http://www.fpweb.net

Spam doesn't pay.

This one goes out to all the users spamming posts with "Follow for Follow". Don't even mention the word "follow" or "upvote" unless it was you who did the following or upvoting, and even then, there's no need to state the obvious.

Don't copy paste your comments across multiple users posts... Why? Because if your spamming is spotted by a user with more STEEM POWER they will flag your comment which will lead to a drop in your reputation. And once your reputation is down, it's very hard to get it back up. So don't spam because it'll make your life harder in the long run.

Also, if you post updates more than 4 times per day, your rewards will decrease. (this doesn't apply to comments)

meditation.jpg
source: http://wallup.net

Patience.

Patience is key. Unless you are a beautiful model with great pictures, it's very hard to grow your accounts and rewards at hyper speed. Slow and steady wins the race. Keep it consistent and you'll see your account grow day by day.

And that's it for now :) I'll be sure to write more posts like this as I learn more about Steemit and how the website/community works.

Header image original source: animals.sandiegozoo.org

Did this post help you?
If so, please feel free to leave an upvote & comment.
Interested in more content? Hit me up a follow:

@alainite

Sort:  

What's the quickest way to climb a mountain? Put one foot in front of the other 10,000 times.

hahaha boom!

As a new person to steemit these are very helpfull tips :) thanks

I have learned more from steemit from you in a secrete discord group then this post lol.

hahaha my guy!

Slow and steady. I wanna grow my account but 8 months a year I'm on board vessels with no internet. And I only have limited time in port. Patience, however, is something I'm quite familiar with! Great read. Thx :P

Persistence is key :) Great to hear you're still taking the time to create content on Steemit :) Thank you for reading and commenting!

@vicgame, have you thought of writing your posts while on board the vessels (and take pictures, depending on what you post) and then just type and post them when ever you have access to the internet? If you don't see land for 8 months, take books with to learn about your passion and write your blog posts about it? Just a thought? @darnscotty

That number two observation is 100% real. I'm here for the freedom first, then socializing then money is the last thing on my mind. But most people wants that $1k on first post :)

A post that actually helps

Thanks for reading the post and adding your insight! It's not something you see every day here :) It is appreciated <3

You are welcome, I even plan on writing something similar. But you beat me to it :)

Hahaha i'm sure yours will be great! :) Do eeeet!

Hi @alainite, firstly I am a fellow Cape Townian and saw your username on this post by @louiscpt. I am visiting a couple of the users to see if their accounts are active and what they write about.

The last couple of days I have been struggling with figuring Steemit out. They say it's like Reddit, but I have never really been on Reddit. My brother-in-law recently told me that I have to join Reddit as it's an awesome platform. He is normally the type that likes to interact with people socially on Reddit. It seemed like one day he posted a question about streaming and got a couple of replies very fast. So this is is how I thought Reddit is.

Not soon after that did I join the Steemiverse. I did numerous searches about what type of posts attracts the attention from other Steemians and have stumbled upon quite a lot of mixed signals. After introducing my wife to the platform, did we decide to write about what we like.

One day I decided to visit Reddit and what I saw was a lot of 1 picture posts. You see the same on Steemit and some do attract enough attention to create a better income than what we currently were. Naturally, some of our posts turned more into pictures and layouts rather than actual words and much interaction.

With the help of the @minnowsupport team, could we give our posts a bit of a boost which we appreciate a lot.

But this has led me to the question which I have been asking myself for the last couple of days: " What is Steemit? "

Is Steemit in such a young age that we are still trying to figure out what it is or how it should be? If it should be like Reddit, would you say your post above describes Reddit best and how to use it for Steemit to grow your channel?

Otherwise, maybe a good idea would be to invest about R200 or what ever amount you can, per month into Bitcoin, buy Steem via Bittrex (or similar), send it to your Steemit account and Power Up your Vests, pay a whale and thus boost your account a bit in that way?

@darnscotty

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.39 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 23 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Yeah ive noticed that for about every 4 comments i get a follower. That could be less though depending on how much you comment on posts from existing followers

Thanks for your post..enjoy your photos too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63