You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steemit Newbie Guide: How to Grow Fast and Get Those SBDs

in #steemit7 years ago

Thanks for posting this, I have been seeing better results now that I'm making an effort to connect with people by commenting. One thing I'm a bit confused about though - you mentioned always upvoting posts you comment on, but how can you upvote 100 posts a day? Doesn't your voting power go down to 0?

Sort:  

Hello Adam... it is actually pretty simple.
If you are over 500 SP you can use 1% votes for instances... on the other hand, you're a newb so you probably dont.
I thought about that, and the reason I say to upvote the posts you read is because your power is low anyhow so it doesn't matter much if you're on 80% or 17%, it will still be 0.00

Having said that, upvote the posts you see had effort doing, you can comment without voting on posts that have tons of votes already so the author won't bother to see if your name is there, or by skipping bad posts that seem low effort.
Cheers

Awesome super appreciate that advice! I see what you mean now with the voting power being so low anyway. Steemit's pretty different compared to the "old" social media sites I was using lol I'm a bit of a slow learner with new platforms, so every little thing that clicks in my head feels a big step forward lol

Checking my other posts may help.
Cheers!

That's very true. It's likely not to matter if your SP is low, so perhaps the advice here would be simply to not bother. But later on it would be good to selective upvote posts you really want to contribute to.

But yeah, on the flip side, don't be someone who comments and upvotes the comment itself and not the original post. That's very frowned upon, and I think the reasons are clear.

Honestly, noobs don;t always understand reasons for things. For example, on Facebook liking your own posts helps the algorithms reach more people, so, it's not unreasonable for someone used to Facebook to assume that may be the case here. When I first joined, most of the comments I got were along the lines of "Followed you please follow me too" - so, I assumed that was the way to reach people. Turns out, it wasn't lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60514.84
ETH 2575.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56